The BFG | Movie Review

Let me paint you a picture. I’m in the kitchen cooking a grilled cheese sandwich. My sister just placed plastic on the hot stove. My mom is getting over a cold and all she is worried about is if The BFG is on Netflix. Since it was up there, we decided to do nothing for two hours and just watch this movie. One of the cutest children movies I have watched in a while. So, here’s a little, quick, non-spoiler review of the movie The BFG.

The BFG poster.jpg

Title: The BFG

Directed By: Steven Spielberg

Distributed By: Walt Disney Studios Motion Picture

Released: July 1, 2016

Run Time: 117 Minutes

An orphan little girl befriends a benevolent giant who takes her to Giant Country, where they attempt to stop the man-eating giants that are invading the human world.

The Trailer:
The Cast:

  • Mark Rylance as the BFG
  • Ruby Barnhill as Sophie
  • Penelope Wilton as Queen Elizabeth II
  • Jemaine Clement as the Fleshlumpeater
  • Rebecca Hall as Mary
  • Rafe Spall as Mr. Tibbs
  • Bill Hader as the Bloodbottle
  • Michael Adamthwaite as the Butcher Boy
  • Daniel Bacon as the Bonecruncher
  • Chris Gibbs as the Gizzardgulper
  • Adam Godley as the Manhugger
  • Paul Moniz de Sa as the Meatdripper
  • Jonathan Holmes as the Childchewer
  • Ólafur Darri Ólafsson as the Maidmasher
  • Marilyn Norry as Mrs. Clonkers
  • Chris Shields as the Queen’s General
  • Matt Frewer as the Queen’s General
  • Geoffrey Wade as the Queen’s General
My Review:

Sophie is an orphan. Both her parents died when she was a baby and now she is stuck living in an orphanage with a women who doesn’t really know how to run the place. One night, Sophie was up late into the night and she was doing some late cleaning before getting into bed. Her cat suddenly jumps out of bed and she is determined to find out what he is looking at. Along comes this giant who takes Sophie from the orphanage. Sophie has no idea what to say or do and neither does the giant. Who would have guessed they would have ended up helping each other in the long run?

This movie was adorable. I would see that a lot of younger kids enjoying this movie and falling in love with the BFG. The whole movie was directed in an amazing sense and it had an essence of love through the whole thing. Seeing that it is based off a book if you have younger kids, I recommend that you read the book with them before they watch the movie and ask them which one they liked more. 

Since the movie has several giants and several real humans, I felt like the editing would be a little weird but it really wasn’t. It was sort of funny watching Sophie wonder around the giant’s world and watching the BFG do the same in the human world. Because of this whole thing, it sort of brings out the theme of there being bigger things out in the world and you should never feel alone in the world. These themes were presented through the whole movie and they were displayed impeccably through it.

Despite what some older people have said, I found the movie to be quite entertaining and it kept me laughing through the whole thing. It might be because of my laid-backness that found some of the content hilarious or just the fact that it has been a while since I watched a Roald Dahl movie. Personally, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory with Johnny Depp in it is still my favorite but that was just me. It might also because I love Johnny Depp’s appearance in the movie:

Overall, this was a cute, sweet, fun movie to watch but it won’t be one that I would be going and watching again. One time is enough for me, that’s unless I have kids and they want to watch it. I think that I would have to give this movie a 3.5 out of 5 stars because I did enjoy it but there were just a few things I didn’t enjoy (but I don’t want to spoil you!) I would say to all of you to go and check out this movie at one point of time. Such a great movie to have young kids watch to teach them such a great message.

Have you watched this movie? What did you think about it? What was your favorite part about the movie? Did you go and reread the book before you watched it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

One thought on “The BFG | Movie Review

Leave a Reply

