Smurfs: The Lost Village | Movie Review

“La la la-la la la, Sing a happy song. La la la-la la la, Smurf the whole day long.” I got to see the new Smurf movie the other day and I am really happy that I saw it. One of my many boyfriends *cough Joe Manganiello* was in the movie so I was really happy to watch this movie. But anyway, here’s another review coming your way! This time, there is some spoilers combined in the review because I have a lot to say about this movie.

Title: Smurfs: The Lost Village

Directed By: Kelly Asbury

Distributed By: Columbia Pictures

Released: April 7, 2017

Run Time: 90 Minutes

In this fully animated, all-new take on the Smurfs, a mysterious map sets Smurfette and her friends Brainy, Clumsy and Hefty on an exciting race through the Forbidden Forest leading to the discovery of the biggest secret in Smurf history.

Trailer:

The Cast:

  • Demi Lovato as Smurfette
  • Mandy Patinkin as Papa Smurf
  • Joe Manganiello as Hefty Smurf
  • Jack McBrayer as Clumsy Smurf
  • Danny Pudi as Brainy Smurf
  • Rainn Wilson as Gargamel
  • Julia Roberts as Smurf Willow
  • Michelle Rodriguez as Smurf Storm
  • Ellie Kemper as Smurf Blossom
  • Ariel Winter as Smurf Lily
  • Bret Marnell as Snappy Bug
  • Melissa Sturm as Smurf Jade
  • Meghan Trainor as Smurf Melody
  • Jake Johnson as Grouchy Smurf
  • Gordon Ramsay as Baker Smurf
  • Tituss Burgess as Vanity Smurf
  • Gabriel Iglesias as Jokey Smurf
  • Jeff Dunham as Farmer Smurf
  • Kelly Asbury as Nosey Smurf
  • Frank Welker as Azrael
  • Dee Bradley Baker as Monty
My Review:

I am a sucker for a Smurf movie. Smurfs are one of my favorite animated movies there is. I remember when I first got my braces, the color of them was blue. I go and post something about me being a Smurf because my teeth were blue. This movie was different. I actually cried through the movie. Yep, I cried. But either way, I do have to give this movie a 2.5 out of 5 stars. Here’s why…

Smurfs: The Lost Village follows the story of the Smurfs after they find out that there might be another village of girls. Smurfette and all the others really don’t know much about her and they might be wondering about her. All they know is that Gargamel made her from a lump of clay and that she is not a real smurf. After heading off into the woods with Hefty, Clumsy, and Brainy, Smurfette leads the Smurf’s best friend Gargamel to the new colony of Smurfs after he kidnaps Smurfette. Will the Smurfs get to the colony before Gargamel or will this be the end of them?

Firstly, like I said earlier I cried in this movie and it may or may not be because of one of my boyfriend Joe Manganiello. During the end of the movie, Smurfette becomes a piece of clay again after she defeats Gargamel. Hefty, played by Joe Manganiello, shows his love of Smurfette through the whole movie, which was really cute. By the end, Smurfette was basically dead and Hefty sort of loses it. This is the point of time that I began to start crying. Hefty loved Smurfette so much and would do anything for her that it really showed in the scene. I was honestly thinking that Smurfette would be awaken with a kiss from Hefty but that never happened.

If you are planning on taking a young kid to watch this movie, please be aware of some of the mature content of this movie. The Smurfs’ community could be seen as a very strict community that has all the members being watched. There are a few scenes where there are some adult comments made like when Papa Smurf and Smurf Willow were in the cage and the comment goes something like this: “We need to rock the cage,” says Papa Smurf and Smurf Willow makes the comment, “We aren’t at that level yet,” or something along with these lines. Some of the Smurfs are self-centered. As long as your kid knows what is right and what is wrong, the movie won’t affect them that much.

There were several moments that I wanted to burst out laughing because of how stupid the movie was. The cat being smarter than Gargamel, the bird that Gargamel owns and everything stupid he does, plus just Gargamel in general. The Smurfs are cute and their plans are awesome but they can be pretty predictable or stupid at times. While I was watching the movie and it gets to Gargamel kidnapping of Smurfette, I already knew that Smurfette would have to save the Smurf community.

I feel like the cast tried a little too hard on their roles. I felt like Demi Lovato really didn’t live up to the previous Smurfette, which was played by Katy Perry. Both of them are people I am not big fans of but I honestly preferred Katy over Demi. There were times that I did believe their roles and there were times that I felt like I just wanted to hate the character. Don’t get me wrong – the cast knew their role well but it was hard for me to be convinced. The characters were developed nicely and they had really good potential but they didn’t live up to the role. They at least looked the same as before, but just everyone being animated.

The first two movies were shot in real life, along with some animations to put the Smurfs in it. This movie though was all animated, which I enjoy sometimes, but I wish it was like the other ones. I enjoyed the whole movie and all but after watching the other ones, I think I would have liked it more. I understand that there have been some things that have changed since the other movies, like the cast and the crew but it would have been nice to have some more things the same. The storyline felt like it has been done before and that it was just like the other movies in the sense.

Overall, if you have watched the other movies in the series, I feel like you could honestly skip this movie. If you are a down hard Smurf fan, like me, you might be little disappointed with what all happens in the movie. That is why that I have to give this movie a 2.5 out of 5 stars. It was cute and all but it wasn’t as interesting as the other movies. Just beware of some of the content of the movie if you are bringing young kids to the movie. Very disappointed in this movie. 

Have you watched this movie? What did you think about it? Do you like the Smurfs? Who is your favorite Smurf? What is your favorite animated movie? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

2 thoughts on “Smurfs: The Lost Village | Movie Review

  1. Absolutely loved the movie 🙂 They took the original cartoons and rebooted the whole thing in a very cool fashion. And Hefty has always been my favorite, so it was so damn cool to see the team back together again. The ending was very very emotional. Hope to see more Smurfs after this one. Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

