Pete’s Dragon | Movie Review

I watch a lot of movies. I think that I have brought that up before but if you didn’t know or couldn’t tell, I do. Sometimes I watch movies that I have seen before to see if I missed something but sometimes I watch movies that my mom or sisters want to watch. My mom has been wanting to watch the new version of Pete’s Dragon for a while now so when she saw that Netflix finally had it up there, she had to watch it. Well, we watched it, I’m about to review and all you have to do is watch out for those firebreathing spoilers that might come.

Petes dragon 2016 film poster.jpg

Title: Pete’s Dragon

Director: David Lowery

Distributed By: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Released: August 12, 2016

Run Time: 102 Minutes

For years, old wood carver Mr. Meacham has delighted local children with his tales of the fierce dragon that resides deep in the woods of the Pacific Northwest. To his daughter, Grace, who works as a forest ranger, these stories are little more than tall tales… until she meets Pete. Pete is a mysterious 10-year-old with no family and no home who claims to live in the woods with a giant, green dragon named Elliot. And from Pete’s descriptions, Elliot seems remarkably similar to the dragon from Mr. Meacham’s stories. With the help of Natalie, an 11-year-old girl whose father Jack owns the local lumber mill, Grace sets out to determine where Pete came from, where he belongs, and the truth about this dragon.

Trailer:
The Cast:
  • Bryce Dallas Howard as Grace Meacham
  • Oakes Fegley as Pete
    • Levi Alexander as 5-year-old Pete
  • Wes Bentley as Jack
  • Karl Urban as Gavin
  • Oona Laurence as Natalie
  • Robert Redford as Mr. Meacham
  • Isiah Whitlock Jr. as Sheriff Gene Dentler
  • Marcus Henderson as Woodrow
  • Aaron Jackson as Abner
  • Phil Grieve as Bobby
  • Jim McLarty as Ranger Wentworth
  • Ian Harcourt as Deputy West
  • Steve Barr as Deputy Smalls
  • John Kassir as the voice of Elliot the Dragon
My Review:

I haven’t seen the original movie that came out in 1977 but my mom has. There was several moments that I had to ask my mom if any of this happened in the original and I think the she said the only thing that was the same was Elliot and Pete being best friends and all.

Even though he wasn’t real and all, Elliot had to be my favorite character. All of his love and protection was the greatest and I would love to have all of him in one man. I loved the one part of the movie where Gavin goes and touches Pete’s book, Elliot gets lost, so he goes and basically scares him to death. Elliot went all around trying to find Pete when Grace took him home and I died. My sister, who was watching it with us, basically was crying through the whole movie because she loved Elliot so much. I also really love the part where Elliot flies past the window of Grace’s house where he was able to see Pete was with some amazing people.

My favorite scene had to be the one where Elliot flies over the hospital and he looks inside the room that Pete was once in. There is a little girl sitting in the room and she tells here mom, who is reading a magazine, “There’s a monster outside my window.” Her mom goes on to say, “mmh,” and I loved it so much. I was laughing for years because of that scene.

The movie follows this boy named Pete who lost his parents on a trip through the woods. He grabs his book and bag and makes his way into the woods. Before he is attacked by a animal, a dinosaur appears in front of him and saves Pete from the animal. 6 years later, Pete is still living in the woods with his pet dinosaur, Elliot. These two are joined at the hip. Until, Grace and her team are planning on chopping down some of the trees in the area. When Grace’s boyfriend’s daughter sees Pete and follows him into the woods, and Grace finds out about Pete. Little does Elliot know that Pete has been taken and he needs to find him to feel complete.

The movie was cute to watch but it is not something that I would watch again or watch for fun. If I was younger, I would want to watch it all the time and fall in love with the movie but I just didn’t. This movie teaches children and other viewers that there is always someone there for you and that you are loved, in all different shapes and styles. This movie does have a cute element and this whole that Disney movies typically have but it wasn’t one of my favorites. It did make me want to go and find the 1977 version of the movie because I want to know what happens in that one. All I know that it includes a lot of singing!

Overall, I would have to recommend anyone who has ever wanted to watch this movie to give this movie a try. As my mom was telling us, it was nothing like the original but she did enjoy this one. I would have to give this movie a 4 out of 5 just because it was directed amazingly and it was adapted in a way that most people would imagine it would be. I really love the fact that the movie feels like it was taking place in 1977 and 1983 with all the cars and the rooms. The only thing that didn’t look like 1983 was the hospital room that Pete was staying in and the bus that he jumps on after the whole accident. The movie was cute, like I said, and there was moments that I wanted to know what happens next – like the scene where Elliot starts breathing fire at Gavin and all the others when they are trying to trap them. The movie was a little predictable but that might have been me because I find a lot of stuff predictable. If you have watched the 1977 and want to watch this one, just beware of the fact that it is not the same.

Have you watched this movie? What were your thoughts about it? Did you enjoy the 1977 version or 2016 one better? Who was your favorite character and why? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

3 thoughts on “Pete’s Dragon | Movie Review

  1. I’ve seen both movies. I think I saw the original when it was re-released for its 20th anniversary in 1997. Then, my husband and I watched the 2016 remake a while ago through Amazon Prime. I really liked the remake. The original one scared me as a kid!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

