Everything Everything | Movie Trailer Thoughts

The other day, the Everything Everything movie trailer came out and I totally had a bunch of thoughts happened while I watched it. I was meaning to write this post the other day but I got too caught up in watching Pretty Little Liars with my sister and all this schoolwork. I’m ready to get back into a schedule and start writing like normal. But, here are my thoughts on the the movie trailer for Everything Everything.

The Trailer:
My Thoughts:

I knew that they were planning on making a movie off of this book but I didn’t realize that it was going to to be this soon. I didn’t even know that the trailer was going to be coming out the day that it did until my stats went through the roof for my book review for the book.

I already don’t like the fact that Maddy is a little messed up. In the book her mom is supposed to be Japanese and her dad is the one that is black but in the movie, it is a little different. I know most people won’t notice this but I couldn’t help but notice this. Also, I really don’t like how Olly is displayed in the movie. I really like Nick Robinson as an actor – always have and probably always will – but I really don’t see him in that role. I don’t like the way he is dresses and his hair. Oh god. I mean I understand them trying to get him to fit the role but I probably wouldn’t have picked Nick Robinson for the role.

The trailer does make it seem like the movie is going to be this years’ version of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. It seems like every year that there is some movie that is like that and this seems to be that movie. The trailer shows all the good elements that a movie needs, and it really helps a viewer get pulled in. I also feel like a lot more people are gong to go and read this book right now because of it. Which, I will say, if you haven’t read this book, you really need to.

The only thing that I know that I really love so far about the whole thing is the way the movie is directed. The movie trailer might have just been beautifully edited to make a good trailer, which I have seen happen before, but I really hope this is going to be good. The movie does have a great visual representation on the book, which is sort of how I saw it in my head. The house is great and I love the big window that is in Maddy’s room in the trailer. The outside of the window is gorgeous and it makes me want a window like that in my bedroom.

The current release date for the movie is May 19, 2017 in the US and was directed by Stella Meghie. The movie stars Amandla Stenberg as Maddy Whittier, Nick Robinson as Olly Bright, Ana de la Reguera as Carla, Anika Noni Rose as Maddy’s mother, and Taylor Hickson as Kara Bright. It will be distributed by Warner Bros. Production and was written by J. Mills Gooodloe (who directed one of my favorite movies The Best of Me). 

Will you be going out and watching this movie when it hits theaters? Will you be going to find you a copy of this book? What are your thoughts on this movie trailer? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

One thought on “Everything Everything | Movie Trailer Thoughts

Leave a comment