How I Choose My Books’ Tag

I saw this tag over on Emma’s blog and I knew I had to do this tag. Emma created her own tag and it was such a great tag to read so I thought that it would be fun to do. Make sure you check out Emma’s blog because it is amazing! Well… have you done it?

Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a blue cover.
What made you want to pick up this book?

Girl Online (Girl Online, #1)

Thanks Emma for making me get up from the couch while I was eating a fajita to answer this question! 🙂 But, I chose Girl Online by: Zoe Sugg. The only reason that I picked this book up is because my sister dared me to. She told me that I couldn’t:

a. Read a book written by a Youtuber and like it
b. Read a book in less than a day

Well, I did both of those things and I had fun doing it. The book had such a great plot and I want to pick up the other two books in the series. I don know about the whole speculation behind the other author thing but I still enjoyed reading it.

Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did.
Why did you read it in the first place?

Night

Night by: Elie Wiesel definitely did this to me. I typically hate reading books that are historical and biographies but for some reason I really enjoyed this book. I had to read this book for my summer reading this year so I took reading this book very seriously. After finishing this book, I wanted to crawl into a ball and cry. The book was so moving and I loved it. I still have yet to read the other books in the series but I want to. If you want to check out my review, click here.

Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random.
How did you discover this book?

Outlander (Outlander #1)

Outlander by: Diana Gabaldon. Have I every talked about this book up here before? I don’t think I have, but I have read it! I first heard about this book through some BookTuber on YouTube. I can’t remember who though! I decided to pick it up at my library because they had it and I could. I thought the book was okay, it wasn’t as good as everyone was raving it was. I still haven’t even watched the show if we are being totally honest here.

Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you.
What did you think of it?

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)

My 5th grade teacher told me that I should pick up this book and read it right after the trailer for The Hunger Games by: Suzanne Collins came out. I wasn’t a fan of this genre at this time so I was hesitant about read the book. Overall, the book was pretty good and it definitely changed how I read today. I still think I would read other books over this one but this will always have a place in my heart. It’s funny to think that the teacher that recommended the book to me almost to me with her and her daughter to watch the movie but other things came in place of that idea.

Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / book blogs.
Did it live up to the hype?

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)

You should know it is coming. An Ember In The Ashes by: Sabaa Tahir. A lot of people were talking about how amazing this book was and how much they love it. It took me forever to read this book! I had to restart it about three times before I understood a little bit about it. I just didn’t like this book at all.

Find a book on your shelves or ereader with a one-word title.
What drew you to this book?

https://i2.wp.com/static2.hypable.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/Alexandra-Bracken-Passenger.jpg

Passenger by: Alexandra Bracken. The reason that I wanted to read this book is the fact that I love Alexandra Bracken’s series, The Darkest Minds a lot so I wanted to give this book a try. The cover is beautiful and the book sounds amazing. I have still yet to read it but it will definitely be happening soon!

What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

55555

Unlike Emma, I rarely find books through TV or film. I typically know if there is a book before I watch the trailer or the show. But, I think it has only happened to me twice and those books were:

1. Marley and Me by: John Grogan
2. Nerve by: Jeanne Ryan

I hate watching a movie that has a book based upon it and I didn’t read it first. It bothers me so much. It is almost like breaking the law to me – it has to be in the Reader’s Handbook right?

Think of your all-time favorite book(s).
When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

2443454343434343436

City of Bones by: Cassandra Clare – I read this book about 2 or 3 years ago and I loved it. I had been wanting to read it for a while but the library never had it in and I wasn’t going to go and buy the book because at that moment in time, I really didn’t like buying books. I wanted to pick it up because one of my teachers had a sign in her classroom that said, “Shadowhunters look better in Black,” that was signed by Cassandra Clare. My friend, who is an avid reader as well, and I were really confused about the meaning of the poster. We both finally picked up the book and fell in love with it.

Throne of Glass by: Sarah J. Maas – I read this book for the first time about a year or so ago. I reread the book not to long ago because I totally forgot half the stuff that happened in the book when I bought Empire of Storms. I actually don’t remember what made me pick up the book in the first place. I do remember when I bought it – My grandmother gave me $20 to spend and she took me to the Book Store right across the street from IHOP (which side note: that is a very bad idea for me). I went through the row, looked at the cover and said, “I’ll get this one.” So I did and I love them so much!

I could do so many more books but I don’t want to put you to sleep with my stories!

I Tag:

Kayla @ kdrewthebookworm

Tatiana @ littlebookfool

And anyone else that would like to do this tag!

What would your answers be? What book are you currently reading? Is it any good? Have you read any of the books that I just mentioned? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

10 thoughts on “How I Choose My Books’ Tag

Leave a Reply

