Joy: Spoiler Free Movie Review

Hello Everyone! I hope you all are having a lovely day!

Well, the other day my sister and I finally watched the movie Joy, after wanting to watch it since it came out. HBO had it on demand so went finally watched it. I thought it was going to be a great movie because it had Jennifer Lawrence but I really don’t know what I think about it. Welcome to our spoiler free movie review and I hope you enjoy.

Joyfilmposter.jpg

Title: Joy

Director: David O. Russell

Released: December 25, 2015

Distributed By: 20th Century FOX

Run Time: 124 Minutes

This is the wild story of a family across four generations centered on the girl who becomes the woman who founds a business dynasty and becomes a matriarch in her own right. Betrayal, treachery, the loss of innocence and the scars of love, pave the road in this intense emotional and human comedy about becoming a true boss of family and enterprise facing a world of unforgiving commerce. Allies become adversaries and adversaries become allies, both inside and outside the family, as Joy’s inner life and fierce imagination carry her through the storm she faces.

The Cast:

Image result for Joy Movie 2015 Cast

  • Jennifer Lawrence as Joy Mangano
  • Isabella Crovetti-Cramp as young Joy Mangano
  • Robert De Niro as Rudy Mangano
  • Bradley Cooper as Neil Walker
  • Édgar Ramírez as Tony Miranne
  • Diane Ladd as Mimi
  • Dascha Polanco as Jackie
  • Emily Nunez as young Jackie
  • Elisabeth Röhm as Peggy
  • Madison Wolfe as young Peggy
  • Virginia Madsen as Terri Mangano
  • Isabella Rossellini as Trudy
  • Melissa Rivers as Joan Rivers
  • Donna Mills as Priscilla
  • Susan Lucci as Danica
  • Maurice Benard as Jared
  • Laura Wright as Clarinda
  • Alexander Cook as Bartholomew
  • Jimmy Jean-Louis as Toussaint
  • Drena De Niro as Cindy
Who is Joy Mangano?

Image result for joy mangano

Joy Mangano is an American inventor, businesswoman, and entrepreneur known for inventions such as the self-wringing Miracle Mop. She is the president of Ingenious Designs, LLC, and appears regularly on the US television shopping channel HSN.
The Trailer:
My Review:

Like I have said before, I thought this movie was going to be better than what I thought it was. I really enjoy all of Jennifer Lawrence’s movies but something about this one was different. So many things made me question events and I was a little confused through the whole movie.

Don’t get me wrong on this: the cast and the directing was amazing. The cast played their roles perfectly and they seemed like they got along very well, which I don’t often see in movies anymore. The movie was shot in a way that it didn’t make you feel like you are watching a movie based upon a real person.

In almost every movie, there is a little humor in it. I don’t think I laughed in the movie once. I think I smiled once or twice in the movie because either my sister said something about the scene or I liked the scene. But the movie does add an emotional side that some movies don’t even think of. I’m not going to tell you how it happens or what happens but it did leave me questioning the whole movie.

The movie has such a great lesson and message for all ages. The first one that can apply to everyone has to be no matter what, don’t give up on your dream. Joy had a dream and she never gave up on it, even when things got in her way. Some people, most are younger kids, forget that we all have dreams and we need to try to get to that dream. The dream doesn’t have to be big but we all have one. Start while you are young and work a little towards the dream every day. One day, you will be there, at your dream, happy.

Secondly, you learn that sometimes it is not okay to take no for an answer. Joy had her dad, mom, grandmother, two kids, and ex husband living in her home because she never wanted to tell them to leave. When her first product event went totally bad, she didn’t accept the answer that she received. She knew she had to fix it and she did. There was a few more cases of this situation in the movie, which made the movie a little better.

Overall, I would have to give this movie a 3.6 out of 5. The movie wasn’t completely terrible but it wasn’t amazing. It’s probably not going to be a movie that I rewatch all the time but if I’m having friends over or a friend wants to watch it, I’ll probably watch it again.

Have you seen this movie? What is your favorite Jennifer Lawrence movie? Who is your favorite actor/actress? What is your favorite movie at the moment? Of all time? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

4 thoughts on “Joy: Spoiler Free Movie Review

  1. Yeah, I love Lawrence but didn’t hear much about this movie which I always consider a bad sign. I want to see her in that new sci-fi flick she’s in…but I have to admit, she and Cooper have excellent on-screen chemistry, don’t they?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They really did have an excellent on-screen chemistry. I think she really works best in the sci-fi films, at least in my opinion. I really want to go and see her new movie she is in as well. It looks so interesting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

