Jane the Virgin (Season 1) | Show Review

I want to go ahead ad apologize that for the last few post have been TV Show reviews. I hate this time of year. It’s the time of year that the semester is coming to an end and exams are coming left and right. Because of these exams, I have been studying more than reading and by the time I get home, I want to become lazy and watch TV. Since I got most of the week off, hopefully I will get more reading in and more post and reviews will be coming out!

Anyways, as you know, we finally got Netflix at our home. During our dinners (since we all eat at different times), we typically like to watch TV. My mom and I were looking for a new show to watch and it just so happens that Jane the Virgin comes up and I say that the show is supposed to be really funny. My mom suggest that we start watching that show and now we are addicted. Literally, I think we spent the whole day watching this show. Anyway, beware of these Virgin Spoilers!

jane-the-virgin-54cbfa0f30f27

Title: Jane the Virgin

Created By: Jennie Snyder Urman

Network: CW

Released: October 13, 2014 – May 11, 2015

Run Time: 42 Minutes

A comedy-drama following a chaste young woman who is accidentally impregnated via artificial insemination as she struggles to inform her devoutly religious family and make the right choices concerning the child. Based on the telenovela “Juana la virgen.”

The Cast:

Image result for jane the virgin season 1 cast

  • Gina Rodriguez as Jane Villanueva
  • Andrea Navedo as Xiomara Villanueva
  • Yael Grobglas as Petra Andel
  • Justin Baldoni as Rafael Solano
  • Ivonne Coll as Alba Villanueva
  • Brett Dier as Michael Cordero
  • Jaime Camil as Rogelio De La Vega
  • Anthony Mendez as The Narrator
  • Yara Martinez as Luisa Alver
  • Bridget Regan as Rose
  • Carlo Rota as Emilio Solano
  • Diane Guerrero as Lina
  • Alano Miller as Roman Zazo
  • Azie Tesfai as Detective Nadine Hanson
  • Priscilla Barnes as Magda
  • Michael Rady as Lachlan Moore
  • Brian Dare as Luca
  • Camille Collard as Frankie
My Review:

I went into this show without knowing nothing about this plot. I wasn’t even sure if I enjoyed the show through the first episode. After about the third episode, I really enjoyed it. I started to get into the show and it was hilarious. It was hard to stop watching this show, especially my mom. All my mom wanted to do was watch the show. Overall, this show has to get a 4 out of 5 stars from me.

Was I Team Michael or Team Rafael? To be totally honest, I really don’t care for Rafael. I feel like he is hiding something since he was the one to take everything from his safe. What was he hiding? Then, we have everything that he has done in his pass life with the clubs and the alcohol. I get the feeling that he is going to go spiraling down and get back into that past life. Michael was amazing though. He knew Jane inside and out. He tried to protect her from everything and wanted the best for her. 

Never in a million years would I have guessed that Rose would have been Sin Rostro. I thought that it was interesting that she was dating Luisa but at the same time, married to her dad. Rose had a mysterious side but I feel like everyone has that. I should have picked up the fact that she was even more interesting when they found the bell boy dead on the floor because he literally said Sin Rostro before he officially died. Then she goes and kills her husband, who she was setting up the whole entire thing. Rose had this whole thing planned and she decided to alter her face, since that is one of her specialties. We meet this character names Juicy who is currently dating Luisa, and I somehow feel like she could be Rose because of just the attitude. Also, she was whistling during the match that was done at Rafael’s hotel.

I am in love with Jane’s birth dad Rogelio. He is literally a teenager trapped in a 40 year old’s body. I love the fact that when Alba didn’t know he was Jane’s dad and she goes and makes the comment that he is old enough to be her dad. All of his hashtags were hilarious and about everything that he did I loved. He really did care for Xo and I loved that about him. He got Jane a job on something that she really enjoyed, writing. Rogelio wanted to be a part of Jane’s life and he really tried. He sometimes showed it a little too much but it was amazing.

I really enjoyed that the show including the fact that Jane wanted to be a writer from the very beginning. It took me forever to figure this out for some reason but the reason they have the episode entitled Chapter in because of a book. Literally, it took me half of the season to figure it out. My mind was blown. I loved how much dedication Jane had towards writing, no matter what. She did not let the confusion of Rafael and Michael stop her. She did not let this baby stop her. Maybe she should write a book about the whole situation, along with the fact that the season ended with someone kidnapping her baby, which I need to know where Sin Rostro has him.

The show was beautifully created. A women gets accidentally gets pregnant through the baby daddy’s sister. The women hasn’t even had sex. Who would seriously think of a show like this? Not only do you have the whole thing with someone getting pregnant without having sex, but you have a mystery within it. You have the mystery on who is doing all these stuff to people, killing them, and sending siblings to mental hospitals. These 42 minutes fly like nothing. It is really easy to get trapped in the whole show with the love, suspicion, the joy of family and the love triangles.

One thing I really didn’t enjoy was Petra’s mother. She is a character in the show that has to be part of the plot because she hurts Alba but she really didn’t have a point in the plot. She kept secrets from her own daughter, who wanted to protect her from anything. They ran away from Milos, who I actually quite like. Petra’s mother was deceiving and just like her daughter. She really deserves to be rotting in prison. The only thing I do wish she was there for – talking her daughter out of putting the rest of Rafael’s sperm into her. Who knows if she has common sense and does it or not. She has had some miscarriages so maybe she will get some common sense into her mind. 

I’m really excited to see what season 2 brings. This show keeps getting better and better as we get along. I am still holding onto the hope that Jane ends up with Michael, especially since he seems like he needs her after the whole Nadine situation. Jane and Rafael do have their baby boy now but hopefully that doesn’t get in the way of anything. And, I want to see if my theory is right about Sin Rosto!

Have you watched Jane the Virgin? What were your thoughts on the show? Did you like Rafael or Michael better? Who was your favorite character on the show? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

3 thoughts on “Jane the Virgin (Season 1) | Show Review

  1. Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the review! This show was literally perfection. It’s weird that you don’t have season 2 of Jane the Virgin on Netflix because we do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

