A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) | Book Review

Guess who finished their Reading Challenge on Goodreads?! Me! I had previously read this book a few years ago and I really didn’t remember that much about it. So when my mom got me the other two books in the series, I knew I wanted to reread it. I just didn’t realize that it was going to be the book that allows me to finish my reading challenge. Anyway, welcome to my spoiler review of A Thousand Pieces of You

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)

Title: A Thousand Pieces of You

Author: Claudia Gray

Publisher: Harper Teen

Released: November 4, 2014

Pages: 368 (Hardback)

Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father’s killer through multiple dimensions.
Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.
Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.
A Thousand Pieces of You explores an amazingly intricate multi-universe where fate is unavoidable, the truth elusive, and love the greatest mystery of all.

Claudia Gray

About the Author: Claudia Gray is not my real name. I didn’t choose a pseudonym because my real name is unpleasant (it isn’t), because I’d always dreamed of calling myself this (I haven’t) or even because I’m hiding from the remnants of that international diamond-smuggling cartel I smashed in 2003 (Interpol has taken care of them). In short, I took a pseudonym for no real reason whatsoever. Sometimes this is actually the best reason to do things.
I live in New Orleans. So far, in life, I’ve been a disc jockey, a lawyer, a journalist and an extremely bad waitress, just to name a few. I especially like to spend time traveling, hiking, reading and listening to music. More than anything else, I enjoy writing. 

MY REVIEW: 

Marguerite Caine’s parents were some of the most well-known physicists in the world. Until the death of her father, which was caused by someone Marguerite thought she knew. Paul was basically part of the family when he took off after the death of Henry Caine. Now Marguerite is after him, with the help of her parent’s assistance, Theo. The only problem is jumping through dimensions and hoping that they could get to Paul before he gets to them. 

As I said earlier, I have read this book before this time. I remember liking it but not loving it. For some reason, I really loved this book. It was just so fun to read and it took me on so many adventures. There were two things that I remembered as soon as I got into this book. The first one being that Theo had something to do with the whole death of Marguerite’s dad. And secondly, somehow Marguerite and Paul got together. But for some weird reason, I always thought that Paul was in his 30’s but he isn’t. I know. I don’t know what lead me to think that. 

Claudia Gray created this world that was so thoughtful and so much fun to read. And it wasn’t like anything else that I have read before. How many times do you read a book about all these different dimensions that might exist? We had to the whole thing with trying to find Paul, then the truth about Theo, the death of Marguerite’s dad, and so much more. So many twists were in this book and I really thought that Claudia Gray did a great job with that. There were so many aspects that were written into this book that I really enjoyed reading. I thought her word choice was great and the flow of the book was perfect. I did wish that we got to spend a little more time in some of these dimensions but if they would have expanded it, the book would be a million pages long. 

Even though I have never done this before, the cover of this book deserves its own section. This cover was and will always be beautiful. This has to be one of my favorite covers out there. The cover and the book has nothing in common with each other but the cover is really what made me want to read this book. But the colors on the cover just make the whole book stand out. I would literally buy this cover as a wallpaper and I hate wallpaper. 

The characters were one of my favorite parts through the book. We had so much growth in every single one of the characters as we read the book. You learn so much about each of the characters and you fall in love with each of them. I think you really see Marguerite grow a lot in the book. You see her at her weakest and you see her at her strongest. You literally watch her figure out who she loves and why. Through everything that Marguerite goes through, you would hope that she grows and she doesn’t fail. You also get to see Theo and Paul grow through the novel as well but it isn’t as big as Marguerite. And no matter what might happen in the future and everything that happened in this book, I will always like Theo and Marguerite together. Yes, we know why Theo does certain things through the book but I will always ship those two together. 

To wrap this whole review up, I couldn’t help but really appreciate the whole setting adventure. Since we got the whole dimension thing going on through the book, you would think there would be a bunch of different settings and you see that. You go from California to London to St. Petersburg to a few more places. I wish that Claudia Gray would have added a little more detail into the setting but I thought she developed the whole world/dimension greatly. She thought each of the details out perfectly and I’m really excited to see where the next book will take me. 

Overall, I would have to give this book a 5 out of 5. I really enjoyed reading this book and everything that went into the book. I can’t wait to go and start the second book in this series. If you are into the theory of different dimensions and all, this is a book you should go and pick up. 

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? What books have you reread just to remember what happened in them? Who was your favorite character and why? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

