Rebellion (The 100 #4) | Book Review

Good day everyone!

I can’t believe this series is over. I have read all four books and I loved it. It has been such a long time since I read a series like that, well like three months. Whose really counting? Now that this series is coming to an end, I need the show to come back and bring me back Bellarke. I can’t believe this is the last time I am going to write this but welcome to my spoiler free review of book four of The 100 series, Rebellion.

The 100 | Day 21 | Homecoming

Rebellion (The 100, #4)

Title: Rebellion

Author: Kass Morgan

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Released: December 6, 2016

Pages: 352 (Paperback)

Centuries after nuclear war destroyed our planet, humanity struggles to rebuild. It’s been a month since the dropships landed and the Colonists joined the Hundred on the ground. The teens, once branded juvenile delinquents, are now leaders among their people.
The Colonists and the Earthborns are celebrating their first holiday together when, to everyone’s horror, they’re attacked by a group of strangers whose unusual battle cries fill the air. The newcomers kill scores of people, seize prisoners, and pillage crucial supplies. When hotheaded Bellamy and his analytical girlfriend Clarke discover that Wells, Octavia and Glass have been captured, they vow to get them back at all costs. But as they go after their new enemies, Bellamy and Clarke find themselves increasingly at odds, unable to agree on a plan to save their friends. 
Meanwhile, Wells, Octavia, and Glass are being slowly brainwashed by their captors, religious fanatics with one goal: to grow their ranks and “heal” the war-ravaged planet… by eliminating everyone else on it.
But centuries of radiation exposure have taken their toll, forcing the cult to take drastic steps to survive. And unless the rescue party arrives soon, the teen captives will face a fate more terrifying than anything they could imagine. In this thrilling fourth installment, the hundred fight to protect the people they love on the dangerous planet they always dreamed of calling home.

Kass Morgan

About the Author: Kass Morgan studied literature at Brown and Oxford, and now resides in Brooklyn, where she lives in constant fear of her Ikea bookcase collapsing and burying her under a mound of science fiction and Victorian novels.

MY REVIEW: 

The Colonist have gone through a lot recently and they finally found peace with combining their civilization with the Earthborns. 100 prisoners were sent down to Earth to test if it was safe after a nuclear war. Little did they know that there were people that never left, the Colony would soon come down, death, love, kidnappings, and parents who might not be dead. Now, they are at peace and an attack breaks out with the attackers stealing nineteen Earthborn and colonist. These people are not giving up on their people after this either. They won’t stop until they find them. Clarke Griffin is back with her parents and is more than ever in love with her boyfriend but is worried about his mental state. Bellamy Blake’s sister Octavia has just been taken away from him again and wants her back but his girlfriend doesn’t trust him 100%. Wells Jaha found out his dad was dead, gained back his best friend and a brother & sister, but has been taken from peace. Glass Sorenson has also been taken from her now saved boyfriend and she knows one thing: she needs to get out of her capture’s eyes. 

Despite my love of this series, I do have to say that I sort of felt like this was like a rewritten version of the first book. Look, some captures are coming in and taking people. They are brainwashing them and there are people looking for them. Look at the first and second book. I mean those books only had Octavia get kidnapped and you really don’t know what happened while she was there but I sort of felt like the same thing happen. About the same thing happens to Bellamy and Clarke (who might have taken the spot of my favorite relationship) so it really didn’t seem that original. 

There were also a few things that sort of felt like it had to be put in the book for some reason. There were some things going on in the book that I was sitting there wondering why it was there. It had never happened earlier in the book so why would it come up now? I think there was a little time in between from writing book three and four so Kass Morgan sort of forgot what was going on in the book. 

Even though I have been bashing the book, I do have to say the way this book was set up and was written, I can’t help but love it. I thought the writing was great and everything that did happen was laid out and thought out great. I have honestly thought the whole book series was thought out well but I don’t know. This one was different. And we can’t forget about the fact that this book didn’t have the flashback moments! I didn’t think I would miss this as much as it turns out I did because I wasn’t the biggest fan of them. I don’t really know what they would be about when I think about it. I have gotten so used to them that I went through half the book before I realized that they weren’t in there. Let’s be honest, about 75% of the book. 

The book did seem to be a little rushed but I really didn’t mind it. The way Kass Morgan had some of the characters and the descriptions of some of the things made up for it. We got to explore a need side of characters and believe it or not, I might have actually enjoyed Glass’ character in this book. I hope you guys to die of shock with that statement. I don’t think this is much of a spoiler but if it is, I’m sorry. We get to see a Jealous Bellamy in the middle of the book and I couldn’t help but love it. Clarke wasn’t as big as a character as the previous books and I was totally fine with it. And Glass, she had to step up and take charge. She became a different person unless Luke was involved and then I didn’t like her. Sorry. 

Since we are talking about characters, I should basically just say the character development wasn’t much of a big point in the book as it has been before but it was there in the book. As I said, we saw Glass grow up a lot, along with Bellamy a little. Clarke and Wells really didn’t really change that much but they have their new places in life. It was the last book in a series so I really wasn’t expecting characters to really grow up that much but Glass just blows me away. I still don’t like her character but I enjoyed her in the book. 

This world Kass Morgan has created is something we all should get the chance to read at least once. It is completely original and not like anything else I have read before. It is unique, different, and fun to read all at the same time. Within this book, there were a few twist that I really didn’t see coming and I really enjoyed it. But I thought my emotions were bad with Homecoming. This book brought some out that I didn’t even know I had. I had the feels through most of the book but if you have ever read the last two pages of this book, you know what I mean. I loved that. It might still be a little predictable as a series but it is still enjoyable. 

Overall, I would have to give this book a 4 out of 5. I just felt like some of the stuff that was happening was the same thing from the first book. But I really love this series and it has to be one of my favorite series from this year. Even though I really enjoyed the series, I wouldn’t mind a novella or another book after the ending. I’m really happy I got the chance to watch the show and read the books. 

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Which book in the series is your favorite? Did you think the series wrapped up nicely or not? What was your favorite ship? Do you want more books in the series or not? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

 

2 thoughts on “Rebellion (The 100 #4) | Book Review

Leave a Reply

