Day 21 (The 100 #2) | Book Review

Back before I went on vacation, I read the first book, The 100, and I loved it. So I brought the second book along, planning on me loving After You and finishing it in like two days. That never happened though. I finally got to read the second book in this series and I am so excited to bring you this review. And I will always leave this series’ reviews spoiler free because I believe you all should go and give these books a try. 

Day 21 (The 100, #2)

Title: Day 21

Author: Kass Morgan

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Released: February 24, 2015

Pages: 311 (Paperback)

It’s been 21 days since the hundred landed on Earth. They’re the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries… or so they thought. Book 2 in The 100 series, now a popular show on the CW network.
Facing an unknown enemy, Wells attempts to keep the group together. Clarke strikes out for Mount Weather, in search of other colonists, while Bellamy is determined to rescue his sister, no matter the cost. And back on the ship, Glass faces an unthinkable choice between the love of her life and life itself.
In this pulse-pounding sequel to The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can–together.

Kass Morgan

About the Author: Kass Morgan studied literature at Brown and Oxford, and now resides in Brooklyn, where she lives in constant fear of her Ikea bookcase collapsing and burying her under a mound of science fiction and Victorian novels.

MY REVIEW: 

It has been 21 days since the Colony sent down 100 of their prisoners down to Earth to test if it is livable since it is running out of oxygen. After a few people have died, these prisoners have found out more about themselves and the land they now live on. There are people who never left Earth during the nuclear war. And there is a reason to believe that these people took Octavia. Bellamy Blake wants to find his sister and protect the one person he loves as much as Octavia. Clarke Griffin wants to know more about these people who never left Earth and this mysterious place called Mount Weather. Wells Jaha thought coming to Earth to get the girl of his dreams back was going to be easier but when people see him as the new Chancellor, it is the last thing he wants to be known by. And Glass Sorenson decided not to go with the 100 prisoners but is now facing death up in the Colony with the guy she loves. Will they be able to find Octavia before the Earthborns get to her?  

I ate this book up. I thought I loved the first book a lot but reading this book was so much more adventurous and keep me wanting more for a lot more. The characters, the events, Bellarke. What else could happen? Bellarke gets married and have kids? That might be a little better but we still have two other books in the series.  

Kass Morgan has created this world that I can’t help but be fascinated. It is like I am part of this world and I really don’t want to leave it. Through this book, there is really nothing that I have ever read before. The events just are so unique and since the book and the show really have nothing in common, I have no idea what is going to be happening later in the book. It was like I wanted everything that was happening in the book to occur to me, even though some things are pretty dangerous. Kass Morgan is just so fascinating author that I really want to finish this review so I can dive into the next book in the series. 

The third person writing style is still not my favorite in the world but I am getting used to it. I wish the book was told in Bellamy and Clarke’s perspective instead of having them two along with Glass and Wells but I understand why Kass Morgan did it. Without Glass, we wouldn’t know what was going on up in the Colony. (I almost put Arc because of the TV Show because of force of habit.) I still am not the biggest Wells and Glass fan but without them, the book wouldn’t be the same. I just really want a big book about Clarke and Bellamy. Just them. I would be really okay and fine with that. 

Honestly, I felt like Kass Morgan’s writing got better and it was far more exciting when I compare it to the previous book in the series. Glass is still not my favorite character in the whole entire world but I am starting to warm up to the idea that she isn’t going anywhere. There is something that happens at the end of the book that I can’t help but grow so much respect for her. 

Characters can either be well developed or very underdeveloped. I have also seen in sequels character that fall flat and actually progress backwards instead of the other way around. The characters are growing so much and you can see it through the whole book. You think that you might know a certain character but then you see a different side of them. I just really enjoy all the characters and the little bit of romance that is added into the book. If you have seen the show before, the romance level is about the same. You have some relationships but they don’t overpopulate the book. You see hints of it and read a few pages of it but it isn’t excessive. 

I did find the pacing of this book a lot better than what I found the previous book. The book takes place in a matter of a few days and with Wells, Clarke, Glass, and Bellamy’s perspective, it didn’t seem that bad. The book didn’t seem that stretched out and I don’t think the events that happened had way too many details that didn’t need to be there. There were times that I just wanted to skip a character’s perspective but that was either because I didn’t like them or there was something that happened between either Clarke and Bellamy, or Wells and Clarke, or Wells and Bellamy, that I would want to skip through the other person’s chapter to get to what I want to read. I am might impatient if you didn’t know. 

Overall, I would have to give this book a big 5 out of 5. This has to be one of my favorite reads of the year, and maybe of all time. The book isn’t perfect but it is real close to it. I am so excited to dive into the next book because there are so many things I want to be explained about and I want to see a few things happen before the series end. Kass Morgan has brought me onto this journey that I don’t think I will be leaving anytime soon. 

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Did you enjoy book one or two better? Do you still have the same feelings towards the show and the book? Who do you ship and why? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

7 thoughts on “Day 21 (The 100 #2) | Book Review

Leave a Reply

