You Get Me | Movie Review

Bella Thorne has to be one of my least favorite actresses out there and this movie proved it. When I first saw this movie on Netflix, I didn’t even know she was in the movie. I stuck through the movie, despite Bella Thorne, which brings us to this point of time. My review is presented and it won’t be including spoilers. And I’m telling you know, you won’t be missing anything if you skip this movie. 

Image result for you get me

Title: You Get Me

Director: Brent Bonacroso

Released: June 23, 2017

Run Time: 89 Minutes

Distributed By: Netflix

A one-night stand with Holly turns into a nightmare for Tyler, a high school student.

 
TRAILER: 
THE CAST:

Image result for you get me cast

  • Bella Thorne as Holly Viola
  • Halston Sage as Alison Hewitt
  • Taylor John Smith as Tyler Hanson
  • Nash Grier as Gil
  • Anna Akana as Lydia
  • Garcelle Beauvais as Principal
  • Kathryn Morris as Mrs. Hewitt
  • Kimberly Williams-Paisley as Mrs. Hanson
  • Rhys Wakefield as Chase
  • Brigid Brannagh as Corinne
MY REVIEW: 

Tyler had his life perfectly. Well, as perfect as he could get it for a high school student. His mom was rarely home, he had to care for his sister, dad ran off when he was younger, and he had the best girlfriend in the world, Alison. When Alison and Tyler get into a fight at a house party, Tyler thought they were over so he slept with new girl Holly. But when Tyler and Alison get back together, Holly still wants Tyler. Holly will do anything in her power to get Tyler back in her hands. And she will do anything. 

The cast was just terrible. It was like the cast hated each other and they didn’t fully understand their roles in the movie. It might have been because of the terrible directing and the writing but I just didn’t buy anything they were doing. It might also be because the characters were not even developed in the slightest way but they could have been better. Plus, the whole cast aren’t very good actors in the first place. I just didn’t like them. 

Like I mentioned before, the directing of the movie was just terrible. There were so many things that did not make sense and it all has to deal with the directing. There were the times that some of the scenes didn’t flow or there were some big mistakes made. Some characters would be wearing something one minute but then not in just the next. The scenes didn’t go well and the whole lighting issue is a different story. 

The premise of the movie seemed like a really good idea. That is one of the reasons that I wanted to watch the movie. The movie didn’t even live up to half of my expectations and we can thank the writers for that one. The movie was written so terribly. Everything seemed rushed and pushed. Nothing seemed natural. Take a look at Holly’s home, which you see in the first twenty minutes of the movie. NOT REAL. The phrases were cheesy and the ending is way too predictable. If you have ever watch a Lifetime movie, imagine it even worse. That’s how I would describe the movie. 

I don’t even now how to begin with the whole time movement thing here. I don’t understand how many days this movie was supposed to go through. For me, it honestly felt like a few days but when you followed Holly’s timeline, it is a few months. Nothing quite made sense the whole movie but that was one thing that made me really confused. If you decided to watch this movie, could you please try to explain the timeline here. I understand how the movie went and what all happened but I want to know like weeks or months. I was just confused. 

Following the movie was shockingly easy to follow though. I don’t even know how to put some of these thoughts into words here. It was easy to figure out what was happening or what was happening next. There were times that I had to pause the movie to talk myself back into finishing the movie because I wanted to see how the movie wrapped up. There were also times I needed to laugh just because the acting was very terrible or because there was something so stupid going on in the movie. It was just so easy to get through the movie without questions. 

Since this movie was so bad, I would have to give it a 1 out of 5. If you are interested in this movie, just don’t watch it. There is no use for this movie. Just don’t watch the movie in general. Nothing is good through it, and none of it really makes sense. Thank goodness it was just a Netflix movie and not something I paid money for, like a DVD or a movie ticket. After watching this movie, I don’t know how likely I am to watch another Netflix original movie. 

Have you seen this movie? Are you a Bella Thorne fan? Have you heard of any of the cast before you watched this movie? Do you think Netflix Originals live up to other movie? What is your favorite Netflix Original show or movie? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

2 thoughts on “You Get Me | Movie Review

Leave a Reply

