Continuum (Season 1) | TV Show Review

I recently finished The 100 series, well seasons 1 through 4 the other week. One of my favorite characters? Murphy who is played by the amazing Richard Harmon. When I found this show on my recommended section on my Netflix account, I thought why not. Police Officers and time travel. What could go wrong? You should continue to read this spoiler free show review for season 1 of Continuum to get your answer! 

Related image

Title: Continuum

Created By: Simon Berry

Network: Showcase

Released: May 27, 2012 – August 5, 2012

Run Time: 44 Minutes

Detective Kiera Cameron is a cop from the year 2077 who was raised to rely on technology more than anything else, even herself. Now she and a group of deadly criminals called Liber8 are trapped in present-day Vancouver. Cameron needs to stop Liber8 before it can take down the corporations which will one day rule the world — thus altering the course of the future and changing the 2077 that Cameron calls home. She enlists the help of a teenage tech genius named Alec Sadler to help figure out a way to get her back to her own time, and she manages to work with the Vancouver Police Department with Detective Carlos Fonnegra to keep an eye on Liber8. With different ideals and backgrounds, Cameron and Fonnegra clash, but they trust each other, and Cameron is slowly learning to trust herself as well.

THE CAST:

Related image

  • Rachel Nichols as Kiera Cameron
  • Victor Webster as Carlos Fonnegra
  • Erik Knudsen as Alec Sadler
    • William B. Davis portrays the Elderly Alec Sadler
  • Stephen Lobo as Matthew Kellog
  • Roger Cross as Travis Verta
  • Lexa Doig as Sonya Valentine
  • Tony Amendola as Edouard Kagame
  • Omari Newton as Lucas Ingram
  • Luvia Petersen as Jasmine Garza
  • Jennifer Spence as Betty Robertson
  • Brian Markinson as Jack Dillon
  • Richard Harmon as Julian Randol
    • Gerry Nairn portrays the Elderly Theseus
  • Terry Chen as Curtis Chen
  • Ian Tracey as Jason Sadler
  • Nicholas Lea as Agent Gardiner
  • Mike Dopud as Stefan Jaworski
  • Tahmoh Penikett as Jim Martin
  • John Reardon as Greg Cameron
  • Sean Michael Kyer as Sam Cameron
  • Michael Rogers as Roland Randol
  • Janet Kidder as Ann Sadler
  • Caitlin Cromwell as Elena
MY REVIEW: 

CPS Agent Kiera Cameron lives in 2077. She’s married to Greg Cameron who has work at Sadtech and they have a son named Sam. But when Liber8 is placed in execution room, they create a time machine that sends them back to 2012. Kiera has to become part of 2012 and try to stop Liber8 with the help of Alec Sadler, the man behind Sadtech and CPS creator. Trying to save 2012 from Liber8 and trying to get home, Kiera might have to do more than what she thought. 

I went into this show basically knowing nothing. I knew that it dealt with time travel but that was really it. And I freaking love the show now. Alec is adorable in his own way and I still love me Richard Harmon’s bad boy character Julian. Here’s the weird thing. I hate time travel but yet I love this show. If I was you, I would stop reading this right now and watch this show because it is amazing. 

The show was shot and distributed by a company in Canada and this actually marked the first show I have watched, and remembered, that was from Canada. The best part of this was I think they produced the show a lot better than most American shows. I mean there were a few things that I saw wrong with the camera angle or some jumpiness of the shot but I could really overlook that because most first seasons have that happen within it. I thought the editing team did such a great job because they had to bring in technology that wasn’t around in 2012 and have it in the show. Kiera’s suit must have taken forever to edit because there were so many details with technology. I just thought they did a overall great job. 

Then we approach the writing of the whole show and it was so intriguing. I mean a time traveler going back to 2012? Who wouldn’t want to go and watch that?! Like Quantico, the show jump back and forth from 2077 to 2012 but it is really easy to tell when they do it because it almost happens at the same time every episode. There were so many little details that were in the show that I noticed and I really loved it. With the ending of the season for any show, you sort of expect to be given an idea on what was going to happen next season. I’m not going to say what but this show did just that and I really want to start watching the next season now. 

For some really weird reason, I was able to connect with almost every single one of the characters. If you have watched this show, you think I might be crazy by now but I’m not. But these characters are so well developed and they have such a great actor playing all of them that you feel like you know all of them. You feel like you could go and have a conversation with all of them. I would really love to get to have a conversation with Alec just because I am a technology freak. You explore the undeniable question that we all wonder at least one point in our life, what would time travel really be like? And through it all, you have to wonder how life will be different when Kiera returns to 2077.

Overall, I would have to give season 1 a 5 out of 5. If you are sitting here thinking I am exaggeration about it being different from most time travel, I am not. You should give it a try. You get to explore an amazingly set up world that you don’t know if you should trust this person or not. You get to see things and open your mind to so many more things than any other TV Show does. Also, you get to try and solve these butt kicking police cases that will leave you stunned with the ending result. I’m excited to see what comes in season 2. 

Have you watched Continuum? Who was your favorite character? Who was your least favorite? What would you do if you were able to time travel and do what Kiera is able to? Have you seen season 2? Was it better or worst than season 1? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

4 thoughts on “Continuum (Season 1) | TV Show Review

Leave a Reply

