Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) | Book Review

I know, I know. I finally read this book. It has been staring at me from my shelf above my TV for so long and it has happened. It has been done. This book is read and I feel like I accomplished a life goal. I just can’t believe it took me this long to read a Cassandra Clare book since I was planning on reading it the day it came out. Stupid life. Anyway, welcome to my review with spoilers from this book and the first book in the series Lady Midnight so beware. But it feels like everyone has read this book but me. 

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices, #2)

Title: Lord of Shadows

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Released: May 23, 2017

Pages: 704 (Hardback)

Sunny Los Angeles can be a dark place indeed in Cassandra Clare’s Lord of Shadows, the sequel to the #1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Lady Midnight.
Emma Carstairs has finally avenged her parents. She thought she’d be at peace. But she is anything but calm. Torn between her desire for her parabatai Julian and her desire to protect him from the brutal consequences of parabatai relationships, she has begun dating his brother, Mark. But Mark has spent the past five years trapped in Faerie; can he ever truly be a Shadowhunter again?
And the faerie courts are not silent. The Unseelie King is tired of the Cold Peace, and will no longer concede to the Shadowhunters’ demands. Caught between the demands of faerie and the laws of the Clave, Emma, Julian, and Mark must find a way to come together to defend everything they hold dear—before it’s too late.

Cassandra Clare

About the Author: Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts.

My Review: 

Emma Carstairs thought her life was going back to normal after the death of her parents. She had a great make believe boyfriend Mark to try to get her parabatai, Julian, out of her mind. But Mark is still in love with his past lover, and also Wild Hunter Faerie, Kieran. With their love affair going on, they still have to try to save the Shadowhunter world from being destroyed by sea creatures and the remains of everything Malcolm Fade messed up. But Emma, Mark, Julian, and the gang have to get involved with people they never thought they would have to: The Unseelie Court and who knows what they are up to these days. 

The whole premise of the book is pretty hard to explain because there was so much that happened in the book. We get to see Mark’s like three way triangle with Emma and Cristina AND Kieran. Then Annabelle was risen from the death and killed the remains of Malcolm, even though we all thought he was dead in Lady Midnight. We find out why Clary said no to Jace when he proposed, even though when we finished the book we don’t know if she dies or not. But the whole premise of the book was really exciting and I needed to know what happened next. It was heart raising, adventure packed, and lovable. 

Just like any Cassandra Clare novel, this had all the cliff hanging chapter endings that made you want to read what was going on next. There were times I was reading this book before bed and I would say it was the last chapter but something exciting would happen. For example, there was the chapter where Julian was awaken from the Seelie Court Queen. I needed to know why she was coming to Julian. Then we also had the chapter where in the middle, someone goes and tells Cristina, “you would never guess who just portaled in.” But then Cassandra Clare makes me read like two chapters at like 3 in the morning just to find out one of my favorite couples in the world has came back! MALEC!

I loved the characters in this book. I still have a little problem with Emma herself. I know. Shocker. Who could dislike Emma? Me. I thought she was just annoying and selfish. It really came to me when Emma was yelling at Julian right after they went to burn down the church. Here Emma was, basically thinking about herself. Yes, Julian was talking about how he still had feelings for her and all but Emma goes and runs out right after he talks about how much pain it causes him. I really loved Kit because he has such a great backstory and plus, he is a Herondale. Have we met a Herondale we don’t like yet? Then we had the shocking backstory from Diane, which I would have never guessed in a million years. I’m just going to leave it at that because words can’t explain it. Then we had poor Livvy had to, you know. I really loved Livvy. 

Going along with characters, I loved the character development through the book. We saw Julian be Julian. Emma was and still is the only person that could killed a child of Mannon. Ty started to come out of his shell and do things he wouldn’t have done because of Kit. It almost seemed like Kit was good luck to everyone, expect for Livvy. But he wasn’t in the room. I really loved watching Kieran right after his dad, the King, gave him back the memories and him unfolding all the lies that Mark and Cristina have been feeding them. Cassandra Clare just knows how to make me love characters. But I just don’t understand where Jace and Clary were at the end of the book. They were such an important part of the beginning but they weren’t there at the end. Unless Clary actually dies but we really don’t know that. 

Despite the size of the book, and it being Cassandra Clare’s largest book, it does not feel like it. I literally sat on the couch for two days straight and I read about 400 or 500 pages. Like I said, it was adventure and action packed. We had Julian and Emma’s relationship that made me smile and made me want to read more each day. Reading this book did not feel like 699 pages and I can thank that to Cassie’s amazing writing. Cassandra Clare writes from her heart and it shows through the book. She has to be one of my favorite authors because of how amazingly paced the book is. She knows when I need a character to be part of the cast – like Will and Jem from The Infernal Devices. And she brought back Jessamine from The Infernal Devices and I lost it. She has a mind that most authors don’t have. Cassie can pull you into the Shadowhunter world and you will feel like home because of all the detail that she puts into the book. 

Overall, I would have to give the book a good 4 out of 5 stars. I don’t think this is my favorite book by Cassandra Clare but it is up there. It has opened so many thoughts that have been running through my mind that makes me wish I didn’t read the book now. I really wish I didn’t have to wait until freaking 2019 for the next book! But we do get two books from her next year and it makes me really excited! If you thought Lady Midnight was amazing, just wait until you read this one. 

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Who is your favorite Cassandra Clare character? Did you enjoy Lady Midnight or Lord of Shadows better? What was your favorite scene? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

