The 100 (Season 4) | TV Show Review

I am now caught up on this show and I don’t know how I feel about it. I have spent so much time watching this show recently that I am going to have withdrawals. Clarke, Monty, Bellamy, Octavia, etc. Now this nuclear radiation is kicking them in the butt and of course Clarke is here to help. Welcome to this new review of season 4 where I’m leaving out all the spoilers because you should go and watch the show.

Season 1 | Season 2 | Season 3

season 4.jpg

Title: The 100

Created By: Jason Rothenburg

Network: The CW

Released: January 21, 2016 – May 19, 2016

Run Time: 42 Minutes

Set 97 years after a nuclear war has destroyed civilization, when a spaceship housing humanity’s lone survivors sends 100 juvenile delinquents back to Earth in hopes of possibly re-populating the planet. 

The Cast:

  • Eliza Taylor as Clarke Griffin
  • Paige Turco as Dr. Abigail “Abby” Griffin
  • Bob Morley as Bellamy Blake
  • Marie Avgeropoulos as Octavia Blake
  • Christopher Larkin as Monty Green
  • Devon Bostick as Jasper Jordan
  • Isaiah Washington as Thelonious Jaha
  • Henry Ian Cusick as Marcus Kane
  • Lindsey Morgan as Raven Reyes
  • Richard Harmon as John Murphy
  • Zach McGowan as Roan 
My Review: 

They went into space when the nuclear war started. The Ark sent 100 of their prisoners to Earth to see if it was livable. Now that everyone is on the ground, things are a lot different than what they thought. Grounders. A.L.I.E. Mount Weather. And now radiation. It is up to Clarke and everyone else from the Ark to save the world. But what about the people who don’t want to be saved? And will they be able to do it in less than 6 months? 

So much happened in this season that it is still hard for me to wrap my head around. I just have to give Bob Morley a standing ovation for this whole season, and especially the ending of the season. If there was one person who could make me cry, it would be Bellamy. There were so many things that were happening with so many characters that I just wanted to make sure that he was alive. If he ends up with a future like Finn or Lincoln, I will die and probably give up on this show because he is one of the people that make this show. 

Like I have said in the previous season reviews, the editing of this show was perfection. Within this season, it deals with the topic of radiation and it had acid rain and fire. Since they were shooting this outdoors, they really couldn’t put a bunch of trees on fire and they can’t control the weather. I loved how they edited the whole thing. Everything still seems like it could be going on right outside of our window. And it really makes me think about what I would do if radiation would come to our window. That is one of the reasons it took me so long to get through the show. I get these really bad panic attacks when I think about what could happen to me when I die or how I will die. After watching the first episode, we see a girl get killed from the radiation. I couldn’t watch the show for a few days because it was all I thought about. But that’s when Jasper’s character becomes helpful. I know, Jasper? Yep. Once you watch the show you will understand where I am coming from. 

There was not one minute that I was bored with what I was watching. I was so into this season since most of my favorites were in it and there was so much going on! With the radiation coming and Roan now in charge of Polis, I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen. Plus, there were so many new characters through the season that I needed to know more of. I also just learned some of the characters names, even though they have been in the show since season 1. I am talking to you Jackson! I still need for after watching the season finale. 

With all the new characters coming into the show, I loved the character development with all of them. So many characters had to grow up and so many of them had to make life changing choices. They say that war brings out the best of people and for the most part, things on the ground got better when you really think about it. I fell in love with characters I hadn’t in the past and I started to realize how crazy some of these characters really were. I am still talking to Raven and Jaha. I don’t think I will ever be able to like these characters. They might look a little stable but they are still very mental and insane. Abby is also getting to that level to but not quite yet. 

I LOVE THE WRITERS OF THIS SHOW. I think that they have to be my favorite writers of all time. After you look past the deaths of the show, it is a pretty awesome, but strange show. There are so many things going on and like I said, you need to know what is going on next. Most of the deaths during this season were tragic but they were written so well that it was bittersweet, even if I didn’t like the character. They knew how to play with my emotions with the events that lead up to something or to stretch something out so far that I would yell at the TV. I want to watch more shows that these writers worked on because they are amazing. I also want to watch more shows that some of these actors were on because they are amazing. 

Overall, I would have to give this season a good 5 out of 5. There were very few moments that I didn’t like what was going on and times where I wanted to give up on the show. I wouldn’t call this my favorite season, since my favorite is still season 1 but this was still slightly better than it. I really wish that season 5 was already out because I need answers. I need to know so many things but I can’t get my answers yet since the next season doesn’t sadly start until 2018. It needs to start sooner. If you are a fan of The Hunger Games or Divergent, you need to check this show out. This show is just amazing and I am a big supporter of it now. #Bellarke 

Have you watched The 100? Who was your favorite character? Who was your least favorite? What would you do if you were in their shoes? Which season did you enjoy better? Are you excited for season 5? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

One thought on “The 100 (Season 4) | TV Show Review

Leave a Reply

