Last Man Standing (Season 5) | TV Show Review

I have really enjoyed Last Man Standing for most of the seasons, until season 4 and 5. I don’t know what has happened with it. It almost seems like the crew has changed because it seems different. It might be me but I feel like I am watching the same thing happen over and over again. As I say that, let’s jump into this spoiler free show review of season 5 of Last Man Standing

Season 1 | Season 2 | Season 3 | Season 4

Title: Last Man Standing

Created By: Jack Burditt

Network: ABC

Released: September 25, 2015 – April 22, 2016

Run Time: 21 Minutes

A man is forced to take on more responsibility with his daughters when his wife returns to work.

THE CAST: 

  • Tim Allen as Michael “Mike” Baxter
  • Nancy Travis as Vanessa Baxter
  • Amanda Fuller as Kristen Baxter
  • Molly Ephraim as Amanda “Mandy” Baxter
  • Kaitlyn Dever as Eve Baxter
  • Christoph Sanders as Kyle Anderson
  • Héctor Elizondo as Edward “Ed” Alzate
  • Flynn Morrison as Boyd Baxter
  • Jordan Masterson as Ryan Vogelson
MY REVIEW: 

Mike Baxter thinks that his life is totally normal, well as normal as he can get his life to be. His oldest daughter just married a man that he doesn’t like. Mike’s middle daughter doesn’t exactly follow his plan for her. Mike’s youngest and favorite daughter is changing with the snap of his fingers. With all these changes, Mike has to try and stay up to date with all the madness. 

The writing of this season seemed to be the worst one out of every other season. I used to not be able to do anything else when I watch the show because I was so invested in it. Something happened and I really didn’t care if I was watching or not because it wasn’t ‘fun’ to watch anymore. I hardly found anything humorous through the season and I felt like I had seen everything once before. It really wasn’t that interesting for me to be watching the season. It also seemed like the characters are done gaining anything else to their personalities. I mean the show has been going on for 5 seasons but they should still be gaining something out of it. I did see Mandy grow up some along with Kyle but that was really it. It seems like the crew was new to their job or they were really tired while writing. 

The directing was the one thing that seemed the same through the whole series. For the most part it seems to be like every episode and it was very interesting to see how different people direct so the fact they are close together, I like it. I don’t feel like there were many bad moments with the camera and the website was really needing a new face lift so that was a really good change. The lighting was fine and the cast was positioned in perfect places according to their actions.

Which that leads me to my next issue – the cast. I don’t think the cast are that into the show anymore either. We hardly see Kristen but when we do, she doesn’t seem that happy to be their. Tim Allen still is on his toes cracking jokes and being the man that was in the first episode but everyone seemed tired. They don’t seem as interested into it as before. The cast used to be lively and fun but now it is basically like their ‘job’ now. 

Overall, I would have to give this season a 2 out of 5. I don’t think it is anything like the previous few seasons. I don’t think there is a high chance of me checking out the next season because this one was such a let down. I would recommend watching the first three seasons but giving up on the show after that. You won’t be seeing or hearing what you have heard before. I just don’t think their hearts were into this season as much as the others. 

Have you watched Last Man Standing? Who is part of your favorite relationship through the season? Favorite moment? Who is your favorite character from the show? Could you relate to anything in this show? Did you think the same thing that I was thinking? Is season 6 any better? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

