Books My Dad Told Me To Read and I Loved

Happy Father’s Day! As a kid, I really wasn’t close to my dad. I really don’t know why but I could not stand to be around him. Now, I’m 16 and my dad and I are close. We have our own inside jokes like crocodiles and a certain person who ran for President. He also is the one who I can talk anything out of and get him to get my mom to agree to it. He is also the one who I can go to if I want a book. Most of the time I go and pick out the book I want but every so often he gives me a good read. The funny thing is, my dad does not read. Well, he doesn’t read like books. He reads about news and manuals because we are a strange family. Since it is Father’s Day, I thought I would share with you some of the books my dad picked out for me and I ended up loving. 

Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, #1)

Title: Dead Until Dark

Author: Charlaine Harris 

Publisher: Ace Books

Released: May 1, 2001

Pages: 292 (Mass Market Paperback)

Sookie Stackhouse is a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. She’s quiet, keeps to herself, and doesn’t get out much. Not because she’s not pretty. She is. It’s just that, well, Sookie has this sort of “disability.” She can read minds. And that doesn’t make her too dateable. And then along comes Bill. He’s tall, dark, handsome–and Sookie can’t hear a word he’s thinking. He’s exactly the type of guy she’s been waiting for all her life….
But Bill has a disability of his own: He’s a vampire with a bad reputation. He hangs with a seriously creepy crowd, all suspected of–big surprise–murder. And when one of Sookie’s coworkers is killed, she fears she’s next….

Like most people, I went through a Twilight stage. But I was late on this trend since I didn’t read them until about three or four years ago. While I was reading the series, I would watch part of the previous movie while I was in the living room. This one day, my dad was saying that I should give True Blood a chance since I liked vampires/werewolves. I didn’t want to go and say yes automatically because I really wasn’t sure about it since I was a little strange back then. It finally came to the point that I finally gave the books a try and I loved the books! I have read a few of the books two or three times now and I have loved them every time. I’m actually planning on rereading all the books again this summer… but thank you dad for bringing Alexander Skarsgard to my eyes, along with several other really hot guys from the show who you can read about here in my TV Show review for True Blood 

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)

Title: Game of Thrones

Author: George R.R. Martin

Publisher: Bantam Books

Released: August 6, 1996

Pages: 694 (Mass Market Paperback)

Long ago, in a time forgotten, a preternatural event threw the seasons out of balance. In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the north of Winterfell, sinister forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. To the south, the king’s powers are failing—his most trusted adviser dead under mysterious circumstances and his enemies emerging from the shadows of the throne. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the frozen land they were born to. Now Lord Eddard Stark is reluctantly summoned to serve as the king’s new Hand, an appointment that threatens to sunder not only his family but the kingdom itself.
Sweeping from a harsh land of cold to a summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, A Game of Thrones tells a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens. Here an enigmatic band of warriors bear swords of no human metal; a tribe of fierce wildlings carry men off into madness; a cruel young dragon prince barters his sister to win back his throne; a child is lost in the twilight between life and death; and a determined woman undertakes a treacherous journey to protect all she holds dear. Amid plots and counter-plots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, allies and enemies, the fate of the Starks hangs perilously in the balance, as each side endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.
Unparalleled in scope and execution, A Game of Thrones is one of those rare reading experiences that catch you up from the opening pages, won’t let you go until the end, and leave you yearning for more.

Like Dead Until Dark, I was really reluctant about giving this book a try for some reason. I was an 8th grader and my dad wanted me to read about violence. Okay… great. He already had me read the True Blood series so what could be so bad about these books. I have no idea why I remember this but we were driving through a weird part of town with my sister and I asked to go to Target. (If you ever go to Target, make sure you go on a Tuesday to get some good deals on books!) My sister was looking for a certain magazine that a Youtuber was on and I went along since my sister has a weird relationship with my dad. Well, I wanted to get a book and my dad kept asking if I had started the series because we all know you have to read the books first. The size of the book scared me but I got it. As we got to the car, it started the rain so I didn’t know if it was a good or a bad thing, and I still don’t. I had some trouble getting into the book at first but after a while, you fall in love with the story. That might be one of the keys to why I got so high on my science end of year test.

Pet Sematary

Title: Pet Sematary

Author: Stephen King

Publisher: Doubleday

Released: October 1, 1983

Pages: 374 (Hardback)

When Louis Creed & his family move from Chicago into a beautiful old house in rural Maine, it all seems too good to be true: physician father, beautiful wife, charming little daughter, adorable infant son–and now an idyllic home. As a family, they’ve got it all…right down to the friendly cat.
The road in front of their home frequently claims the lives of neighborhood pets. Near their house, local children have created a cemetery for the dogs & cats killed by the steady stream of transports on the busy highway. Deeper in the woods lies another graveyard, an ancient Indian burial ground whose sinister properties Louis discovers when the family cat is killed.

My dad thought I read some very fake scary books at some point of time. I had read a Stephen King novel a few months before I got this book but I wasn’t a big fan of that one. My dad kept telling me about the whole idea of this book and I really wasn’t sure what I thought about it. I thought my dad was a little insane too. But he had given me some good book suggestions before this one so why not I thought. This book is one of the best Stephen King books I have read. The whole aspect of this book is awesome and now my dad and I actually want to go to an ancient Indian Burial Ground after the whole cat thing, even though we aren’t cat people.  

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

Title: The Lightning Thief

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books

Released: June 28, 2005

Pages: 377 (Paperback)

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

You read that right. My dad told me to read these books but in a very strange way. I was not good at Greek Mythology at all during middle. I was lucky to keep Zeus apart from like Hades. We were at Books-A-Million when my sisters came with us. My dad needed to get my sister a book to read since she hates reading, well both of my sisters do. I was already getting The Evolution of Mara Dyer so my dad was asking me about books my sister would like. I said Percy Jackson and he ended up getting the book for me, whoops, her. We both knew that I was going to be reading it and he kept asking me questions before I read it about all the Gods and all for some reason. 

*Disclaimer: Yes, some of these events happened years ago and they are real stories. I have a really strange memory where I can tell you the stupidest things from like years ago. If something important happened on a day, I will be the one to tell you about what we ate or what the weather is. I know it is very weird. 

Thank you to my dad for getting me hooked on shows about all kinds of things 16 years old should not be watching. Thank you for also sitting through all the Divergent and The Hunger Games movies and being able to remember more about them than my mom and she read the books. Also, thank you for getting me hooked on interesting TV Shows including The 100, Game of Thrones, True Blood, and so many more. Thank you for putting up with me for so long even when I bit your hand in the store once. May we have many more book recommendations together. 

How are you spending Father’s Day? Have you read any of these books? What did you think about them? Are you close to your dad? What is your favorite thing about your dad? Has he recommended you anything you loved? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

