The 100 (Season 1) | TV Show Review

I have these things running down my cheeks from my eyes that some people call tears. I don’t know how to stop these waterfalls. My dad picks out a lot of the shows that I fall in love with – True BloodGame of Thrones, and now The 100. I have heard of the show but I just didn’t know if I wanted to give it a try. My parents started to watch it and told me that I would really enjoy it so I decided to give it a try. Now, I am addicted to it. Please send help as you read my review of season 1 of The 100 which will be including spoilers because so many things are coming through my brain. 

The 100 - New Promotional Poster2

Title: The 100

Created By: Jason Rothenburg

Network: The CW

Released: March 19, 2014 – June 11, 2014

Run Time: 42 Minutes

Set 97 years after a nuclear war has destroyed civilization, when a spaceship housing humanity’s lone survivors sends 100 juvenile delinquents back to Earth in hopes of possibly re-populating the planet. 

The Cast: 

  • Eliza Taylor as Clarke Griffin
  • Paige Turco as Dr. Abigail “Abby” Griffin
  • Thomas McDonell as Finn Collins
  • Eli Goree as Wells Jaha
  • Bob Morley as Bellamy Blake
  • Marie Avgeropoulos as Octavia Blake
  • Christopher Larkin as Monty Green
  • Devon Bostick as Jasper Jordan
  • Isaiah Washington as Thelonious Jaha
  • Henry Ian Cusick as Marcus Kane
  • Lindsey Morgan as Raven Reyes
  • Ricky Whittle as Lincoln
  • Richard Harmon as John Murphy
My Review:

It has been 97 years since a human has stepped onto Earth because of a nuclear war, well so they think. For the past 97 years, humans have been living on the Ark which is located in space. The Ark is now sending 100 of their criminals down to Earth to see if the Earth is livable before the Ark runs out of air and supplies for the humans to live. Now, these 100 prisoners are free to roam the Earth, and learn about what has happened in the 97 years since their people have been on Earth. 

I have got to say this now but they really know how to make me go crazy! Not only are their some really attractive guys on this show, there are so many cast members I know from other places. Firstly, it is crazy to see that Rodrick from Diary of a Wimpy Kid is in this show (!!!!) and then we have Richard Harmon who I first saw in a Lifetime movie and couldn’t help but love him. But we can’t forget my new boyfriend who plays Finn, Thomas McDonell because he is just way too hot. I think that is enough of the hot guys and the starstruckness I had with the show. There is such a great cast in this show and you can see how much dedication they put into this show, seeing that they wore very little makeup, other than the battle scars and the blood. There were moments that I felt like I was watching real TV instead of a made up show because the cast were that amazing. 

I had to take a Physical Science class at my high school because the principal made us so I knew a few things about space and gravity. There were parts that I was thinking that doesn’t happen in space and everyone should be dead if that really happened. The reality of the show was totally off but it really wasn’t that big through the show. They did do a good job representing what happens when nuclear bombs go off with the defects in the animals and the humans so I have to give them points for that. Plus, their views of space where just way too beautiful not to mention, especially that one window that everyone seems to enjoy looking out of. 

Through the show, they were trying to figure out who the traitor on the Arc was because they had the Chancellor shot. We knew who shot him, but we don’t know who ordered him to shoot. Me being me, I was trying to figure out who was responsible. And I learned yet again, I am terrible at trying to figure out who did what. For a while I thought it was Marcus Kane (why are all evil people named Kane?) but that changed. For a while I thought that the Chancellor ordered himself to be shot. All the ideas were floating around until that one bombing on Unite Day. I didn’t really care for the Chancellor and I really hoped he would die just because he wanted to die like a million times through the season. He’s at least all alone now on the Ark so who knows what could happen to him now. 

I was on the edge of my seat the whole entire time while I watched this show. Maybe that explains these two things: I didn’t read the books before watching the show and why I watched the whole season in lesson than two days. Hold the phone. I didn’t read the books before watching the show? I broke a law, I know and I am sorry. I am on a book buying ban as I have explained before and I was tired of hearing my parents tell me I need to watch the show. The writing of the whole show is remarkable and the directing of the show was incredible. I read somewhere that the show is actually shot in the woods, not in front of a green screen. That might be one of the reasons the show was so real looking. The events through the show flowed perfectly and you really got to see what an event like nuclear weapons could do to a world. 

Even though I enjoyed the connection through the characters, it doesn’t mean I have to like all of them. I didn’t like Abby, Raven, Chancellor, and Marcus just because of some of the events that they were included in. But I loved Murphy (call me crazy, I know), Octavia, Clarke, Finn, and Jasper. I means I like all of the characters but there were some I preferred some over others. I was the biggest support or Clarke and Finn but then Raven had to come into the picture and made me mad. I really wanted Raven to die. I just didn’t like Raven because of some of the stuff she did, and not because she took Finn away. They are over each other right now and we all know that if Clarke and Raven were to be hurt at the same time, he would go to Clarke first. Where can I find someone like Finn?

Overall, I would have to give The 100 season 1 a 4.5 out of 5. I really loved the first season and I fell in love with all the events, even the Groundners and the Reapers. I love the whole idea behind it and I need to know what happens since the Ark has now landed on the ground and I need to know why the heck Clarke and Monty are in a freaking quarantined area. I am totally going to be checking out the second season and the book series as soon as I can get my hands on them! If you are a fan of DivergentThe Hunger GamesGame of Thrones, or anything dystopian or post apocalypse, you should totally give this show a try.

Have you watched The 100? Who was your favorite character? Who was your least favorite? What would you do if you were in their shoes? Have you read the books to the series? How do you compare the two? Which one do you enjoy better? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed 

6 thoughts on “The 100 (Season 1) | TV Show Review

  1. AHHHHH I just finished Season 1 of THE 100 and I definitely was balling my eyes out during that last episode!! I, too, disliked Raven, but I also disliked Murphy just because he was so to say “extra” lol. I love Finn, Octavia, and even Bellamy at some points! The show all together so far is really good and I just started Season 2 xD Great review, Ann! (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad that you enjoyed my review! I just finished season 2 and I keep learning how amazing this show is at making me confused and falling in love. Hope you enjoy season 2 and the rest of them! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

