Imaginary Mary (Season 1) | TV Show Review

I think I have redone my nails three times this week… Oh well. It’s not my fault I had to have boring nails for something one day and I hated the color that I picked the next. I’m writing this with half wet nails so I hope this is going to go well. I’m not here to talk about painting nails all day but to write you another review for your life. I recently watched Imaginary Mary on TV and I thought I would review it for you. Don’t worry, if you haven’t seen it, you don’t need to think about being spoiled. 

Title: Imaginary Mary

Created By: Adam F. Goldberg, David Guarascio, and Patrick Osbourne

Network: ABC

Released: March 29, 2017 – May 30, 2017

Run Time: 22 Minutes

An imaginary friend helps a women transitions into family life when she falls for a single dad.

The Cast:

  • Jenna Elfman as Alice
  • Rachel Dratch as Mary
  • Stephen Schneider as Ben
  • Erica Tremblay as Bunny
  • Matreya Scarrwener as Dora
  • Nicholas Coombe as Andy
My Review:

I thought I was going to be a big fan of this show. I really enjoyed the first few episodes of the season but I just didn’t like it by the end. I finished season one just because I wanted to laugh at how terrible it was. You have no idea how excited I was to see this was one of the shows that did not get renewed for a next season. 

Alice is this women who puts her career before anything else. When this attractive guy names Ben comes to pitch her an idea, she might have found the love of her life. Little did Alice know that she was getting herself into a lot of stress. Ben has three kids – Andy who is 16, Dora who is 14 (ish), and Bunny who is 6 years old. With her life changing, will Alice be able to keep up with all these changes? 

I did not like this cast at all. And if you have been reading my reviews for a while for both TV shows and movies, you know how I almost always love the cast. I didn’t think anyone they picked for the show really fit the role. I thought they could have done a little better. I never really had a problem with Mary, well the voice who played Mary because she kept me laughing all the time. I did have problems with the person that played Alice. I found her SO ANNOYING and so self centered. My next question is how she went through the whole season without being seen talking to herself. That has made no sense to me yet. 

The show had so much potential but it just fell flat. I am a big fan of The Goldbergs so I was really excited to see something else Adam was doing. But it was just terrible. The dialogue was terrible and the way it was directed was awful. I just hated the whole thing. There were some good moments but it was all just bad. Like the whole made no sense and I was able to figure out the whole ending of the episode by the first five minutes. I did like the really short theme song though! 

Like I said before, the show had a lot of potential. If they would have shot it with another network and actually talked about things that actually happened in adult’s life or in children’s, the show would have been so much better. The whole show was sort of elementary and was made for tweens (kids ages 10-13). If it was aimed and shot for older people, they would have been able to get a lot more out of the show and would have been a million times better. It might not have been cancelled and I might still be a fan if that would have happened. Oh well. 

Overall, I would have to give this show a 2 out of 5. It started out very strong but it died real quickly. I just didn’t really enjoy the show as much as I thought I would. I felt the episodes repeating and didn’t really have a proper crew. It had so much potential but it wasn’t good. It was a good thing that Mary was so freakin’ cute. I don’t really know who to recommend this show because I don’t believe anyone should have to suffer through this show. If you did enjoy this show, hands down to you. All respects to you. 

Have you watched this show? What did you think about it? How do you feel about it being cancelled? Who was your favorite character in the show? Did you imagine characters like Mary when you were a kid? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

