Last Man Standing (Season 1) | TV Show Review

Every day, my family and I watch the same things, at the same time as well. It starts off with a little show called Reba, then recently came Last Man Standing, and then my dad comes and changes it to whatever is on FOX News. Since I’ve been watching a lot of Last Man Standing, I thought that I would start from the very beginning and I am really happy that I did. Don’t worry about spoilers because you have at least another review coming to you for this show since I started Season 2 already… 

Title: Last Man Standing

Created By: Jack Burditt

Network: ABC

Released: October 11, 2011 – May 8, 2012

Run Time: 21 Minutes

A man is forced to take on more responsibility with his daughters when his wife returns to work.

The Cast: 

  • Tim Allen as Michael “Mike” Baxter
  • Nancy Travis as Vanessa Baxter
  • Alexandra Krosney as Kristen Baxter
  • Molly Ephraim as Amanda “Mandy” Baxter
  • Kaitlyn Dever as Eve Baxter
  • Christoph Sanders as Kyle Anderson
  • Héctor Elizondo as Edward “Ed” Alzate
  • Evan and Luke Kruntchev as Boyd Baxter
  • Nick Jonas as Ryan Vogelson
My Review: 

I was never a big fan of Tim Allen. I thought he was a good actor but I thought he really never fit the role he was playing. Until this show came around. I loved Tim Allen in this show, and all the other cast in the show. I laughed like crazy while I was watching this show. I think I have a new respect for Tim Allen because of it. 

Last Man Standing follows the life of Mike Baxter, co owner of Outdoor Man. His wife typically stayed at home and watched their three daughters and grandson. When Mike’s wife gets a promotion at work, Mike decides to step up his game and stop going on all these trips for Outdoor Man. Will Mike be able to handle his three daughters, work, grandson, and keeping the house clean? 

I’m really into politics. I don’t think I have ever told you all that. And I will never tell you who I wanted to be President when it comes to Trump or Clinton. This show really takes politics and things happening in the world and turns it into some joke. Some things I disagree with some of the jokes but I find most of the jokes I laughed my butt off. 

I could relate my life to this show. That was the really scary part of the whole thing. My dad literally reminds me like Mike in so many ways. Mike and my dad like to make some jokes about politics and we have a lot of talk about politics. My dad tells me about the times of when he was in the military and some of the things that are crazy in the world. I like to say that I am a lot like Eve, just minus the sports. Unless you want to count reading or eating a sport. My whole family likes to say that I am my dad’s favorite. We have conversations about different weapons and politics. Every time he has to go somewhere, I have to come along because I am adult supervision. My mom is like Vanessa, because my mom knows when to pick her fights with my dad, unless she wants to sit there for years and years listening to him talk. My middle sister is just like Mandy because she knows how to get her way and she is always talking about how pretty she is. My youngest sister isn’t really like any of them but I guess that means Kristen. 

One thing I don’t understand about the set up of the episodes was the fact that there was a Christmas episode then a Halloween episode and then another Christmas episode. Would someone explain that one to me? The other episodes did flow really well and it made sense but that certain order just never made any sense. 

The story line of the show is very intriguing and it made me want to sit here and watch every episode in the season in one season. I loved the characters, the jokes, the stories, and the love. No two episodes were alike and the episodes were very easy to follow along. You don’t feel like you have to go and watch an episode over again because you missed something. The directors and editing was meticulously done. There were a few episodes in the beginning of the series that the camera was a little wobbly but they seem to get that fix by the middle of the season.

Overall, I would give Season 1 of Last Man Standing a 4.5 out of 5. I have already started season 2 so that review should be coming up soon! Anyway, if you aren’t into politics or you can’t get a sense of humor of people, you should probably not watch this show. The cast is great, the writing is great, and the whole idea is spectacular. I laughed, I cried, I had all the feels through the whole season. 

Have you watched Last Man Standing? How do you feel about the cancellation? Who is your favorite character from the show? Could you relate to anything in this show? Let me know your thoughts in the comments! 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

5 thoughts on “Last Man Standing (Season 1) | TV Show Review

Leave a Reply

