Odd Birds | Book Review

Here I am with reading another book released in the month of May. I preordered this book a while ago and it came about a week ago or so. I needed to step away from the Pretty Little Liars books so I decided to pick up the memoir, written by Ezra Fitz, also known as Ian Harding. I have this strange addition to memoirs as you all know so this was right up my ally. I’m happy that I read it because it was what I needed in my reading heart.

Odd Birds

Title: Odd Birds

Author: Ian Harding

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Release: May 2, 2017

Pages: 320 (Hardback)

A funny and insightful window into the life of a TV star.
Ian Harding is an actor and 7-time Teen Choice Award Winner on Freeform’s (formerly known as ABC Family) most-watched series of all time, Pretty Little Liars. An avid birdwatcher, Ian explores his life in Hollywood through the lens of his favorite pastime in this collection of personal stories. Featuring humorous and adventurous stories about his career, family, and love life, in addition to never-before-published photographs, Odd Birds is a must-read for fans of his hit show, nature enthusiasts, and lovers of celebrity memoir alike.

About the Author: Born in Heidelberg, Germany, to a US military family, Ian Harding discovered acting at a young age. He attended Carnegie Mellon University’s School of Drama and moved to LA shortly after graduating to pursue acting and writing. He is best known for his role as Ezra Fitz on Freeform’s (formerly known as ABC Family) Pretty Little Liars, for which he has won seven Teen Choice awards. Ian is passionate about bird watching and nature, and he tries to spend as much time outdoors as humanly possible.

My Review:

Ian Harding has always been a fan of birds. He likes looking at them, figuring out what they are, and finding them. Ian compared life to birds. Sometimes things happen all the times but then there are things that only happen once in a lifetime. Ian Harding takes you through the journey of his life, from being born in Germany but moving back to the states with his sister. Welcome to Ian Harding’s life, told through the words of birds.

The writing of this book was very different from most of the memoirs that I have read so far. The book really didn’t follow a certain pattern. It had a great layout and flow but it wasn’t like I was reading the start of his life up to now. It went from his childhood to him auditioning for Pretty Little Liars back to when he was a kid. I didn’t think that I would be a big fan of that but I was. Plus, a lot of the stories flowed very well so it didn’t seem so bad.

I don’t know if I would qualify this as a memoir though. There were some things about life but there was a lot about birds. Don’t get me wrong; I totally learned things about Ian’s life that I wouldn’t have learned without this book but there was so much about birds. Birds are interesting but the whole book was about them. I know, the word bird is literally in the title but there were times that I wish that there weren’t as much stuff about birds in there.

Getting to read another person’s perspective of the cast of Pretty Little Liars was exciting. Last time, I read Keegan Allen’s memoir life.love.beauty, where I learned his thoughts on the cast, including Ian Harding. This time, I got to learn Ian Harding’s perspective of the cast. It’s crazy to think that all these TV Shows that have like a million seasons have such a great cast relationship. I swear, Pretty Little Liars have one of the best relationships I read about in memoirs. These people do so much together and they do some of the craziest things.

The thing I wish the book had more of is Ian on a personal level. Ian barely dipped into the juicy part of his life. He talked about shooting the show but he didn’t really go into the deep part. I wanted to know the interesting things that happened on set or some stuff that happened in his life. The worst part about this book was the fact that Ian goes and says that he auditioned for a certain movie but he doesn’t want to tell us the role. I am now very interested in knowing who he auditioned for. I just felt like I wasn’t sitting down and having a conversation with Ian Harding himself. 

Overall, I would give this book a 4 out of 5 books. The book was a great read, a quick one as well. The book has some great stories told in Ian Harding’s perspective and they all had a great meaning behind them. The book will not only teach you about Ian himself but about birds as well. I’m actually going to start paying more attention to the birds that fly around me a little more now.

Have you read this book? Are you a fan of Pretty Little Liars or Ian Harding? Are you a fan of birds? How often do you go outdoors or take a hike? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

One thought on “Odd Birds | Book Review

Leave a Reply

