7 Excuses I Use When Buying Books

Admit it. We all like to tell ourselves that we have a reason behind buying every book, other than the normal “I JUST NEED IT.” Sometimes you need to convince the people around about this reasoning, but mostly, you need to convince yourself. I watched this video that was done by Jesse, aka jessethereader on Youtube and I thought of some on my own. Some of them are the same as Jesse said in the video but they all relate to me and you somehow.

1. I Need This Book For School:

I have made this an excuse many times. It’s also one of the ways I get books out of my parents sometimes. I know it’s bad but it’s true. Sometimes it is true but most times, nope. For example, Lily Collins’ released a book back in March. I said that I needed a book to read at school. It wasn’t a lie because I needed to read a book for school but it wasn’t this one. When I bought City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare, I bought the book on a Thursday, saying that I needed a new book to read since I read my other ones, even though it wasn’t true.

2. The Book Magically Flew into the Cart/Hands:

This happens way too much. I go to Walmart and Target with my parents for food. I somehow walk out with a book being bought for me. I don’t know how it happens. I must have a magnet in my pocket or my mind or something. I’m not complaining though.Β 

3. I Was Gonna Read It Anyway:

One of the most common excuses that I use. I can be walking through Books-A-Million and I have no plans on buying a book since I have a million to read at home. I see this one book that I have been wanting to read so I buy it. It’s a really bad habit of mine. I may or may not have done that with the Pretty Little Liars book series when I bought all 16 books or so at one time.

4. Everybody Keeps Recommending It To Me:

I’m part of my school’s Book Club so this is always happening to me. A lot of my friends also read. So I am always being told that I should go and check out a certain book. Instead of borrowing the book from that said friend or going to the library, I take a trip to the store or the interwebs and buy it. It’s a good thing that I wasn’t following that path when I was reading An Ember in the Ashes because that book would be long gone from my bookshelf.

5. I Read Another Book By The Author and I Liked That One:

Hello? Are you here? Don’t we all do this? Do I even need to explain this? We all do it. Don’t start lying to yourself again.

6. It Was On Sale or I Had a Coupon:

A person can never refuse a sale. Sometimes you can see a book on sale one day but go back the next and them not have it. You have to buy bargain books as you see it. Plus, you don’t feel so bad for buying three or ten books at one time because it will cost about the same as if you bought one regular price book. I may or may not have bought a Jojo Moyes book for about $5 when I went to the store.

7. It’s Just So Pretty:

I can buy a book knowing nothing about it. Judging a book by its cover is something we have been told a million times but we all do it. I bought Estelle Maksame’s Did I Mention I Love You based on the covers. The story just so happened had a great plot and a great story so it wasn’t a total bust. Sometimes it is but this isn’t in this case.

Yes, I know seven is a really random number but I wanted to do an odd number. Don’t ask me how I got seven but I did. What are some of your excuses when you buy a book? Is there anything that you have to tell yourself when you go to a bookstore? What are you currently reading and how is it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!Β 

Happy Reading,
unnamed

8 thoughts on “7 Excuses I Use When Buying Books

  1. Hahaha! I love this. I’ve given up making excuses and just accepted the fact that I will always buy more books than I need or will ever be able to read. Besides, I totally need them for the blog. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You always nerd more books for the blog! That’s always important. No books = No Blog. On my shelf I think I have like 50 books that aren’t read but I’m still buying books. I’m glad that you liked the post!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

