life.love.beauty | Book Review

A few months ago, I fell in love with Pretty Little Liars. Because of this addiction, I sort of found out about which stars had books and I wanted to get ahold of their books. Even though I have yet to get my hands on Shay Mitchell’s, I did get Keegan Allen’s. This book was so inspiring and it added another book to my memoir collection. Here’s you go! Another book review, just without the spoilers since I really don’t know how to spoil a book like this one.

life.love.beauty

Title: life.love.beauty

Author: Keegan Allen

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Released: February 3, 2015

Pages: 320 (Hardback)

Ingram and Publishers Weekly bestseller!
“This book takes you on a photographic voyage through my life so far.” -Keegan Allen
Keegan Allen is currently known to fans of the ABC Family hit television series, Pretty Little Liars. He has also appeared in numerous independent films and made his New York Stage debut in the acclaimed MCC production of Small Engine Repair.
Keegan was given his first camera at age nine, and began a lifelong study and pursuit of photography. life.love.beauty is a selection of photographs taken since his childhood. It’s a photo journey through the life of an intensely creative soul whose expression finds various forms: in acting, in poems and stories, lyrics and music, but above all in photography. This book’s content resonates in the commonality we all share on our own journeys while unveiling an inside look into a world that very few experience.
Organized into three broad groups-life, love, and beauty-the book ranges over the public and private side of Keegan Allen and his world. A child of Hollywood, whose father was also an actor and his mother a painter, Keegan roams freely through that realm, photographing his fellow actors on set, behind the scenes; and recording the amazed, gleeful, sometimes weeping fans that flock to his television and career related events.
Allen also has an eye for the anonymous and the unexpected: the woman gazing dreamily from the balcony of a run-down hotel; the rifle-toting dog walker who seems to have emerged from the 19th century; the performers and denizens of Venice Beach and also the streets of New York, some of them chasing the dream of fame, others having long-since abandoned it; the little boy amid in the crowd in an enormous airport; portraits of lovers kissing on subways, in parks, and on the streets. Traveling from California to New York to Paris and back, as well as through the American west, he finds beauty in both urban and rural places: from large-scale landscapes to glimpses of light transforming what it touches.
Keegan’s poems, stories, captions and musings, song lyrics, and journal pages complement the photographs on this journey. He provides an account of growing up just off the Sunset Strip, coming into his own as an actor/artist, dealing with public recognition while maintaining a very private life, falling in and out of love, and acknowledging the influence of his family, friends, fans, and loved ones.
life.love.beauty is an unusually intimate and revealing book: a delight for anyone who values photography, and a gift for the many fans who already follow Keegan’s career.
Keegan’s real passion comes through in both his photographs and candid story telling in this unique photo-journal.

About the Author:  Keegan Phillip Allen is an American actor, photographer, and musician. Allen is known for his main role as Toby Cavanaugh on the Freeform series Pretty Little Liars.

My Review:

Keegan Allen might be known for his singing and his acting, but little did you know about his love of photography. Keegan Allen carries a camera everywhere he goes and captures life while it happens. In his novel, he takes you through his life through his camera lens and tells you all types of stuff. Divided into three sections, life.love.beauty will let you know what Keegan really thinks about the industry and little tips along the way.

One of the things that got me really excited about reading this book was the fact that it included pieces of Keegan Allen’s photography. I love taking pictures of the sky when the sun is setting or rising. I love taking pictures of school events or different things I do in town. Photographs remind me of all the good times I have and I sort of like to believe that is one of the reasons my memory is so good. Looking at all the photos, from the very first picture that he has taken to 2014, I loved it. You really got to see how much he has developed (hehe) and see how his life has turned out. 

Within the book, Keegan Allen includes pieces of his personal writing, like poems and thoughts that he had. The way that he paired the writing with the photos was perfectly laid out and had such a great flow. I’m not a big person on poetry. I liked Keegan’s though. It was moving and there was a peck of romance and hope written into it. I liked to think about these poems as songs since he is a songwriter.

I liked the flow of the book and it really didn’t make the book feel like a book. I do wish that there was a little more content in the book (more words, more pictures, etc) but it was okay with how it was. I felt like I was up close and person with Keegan Allen. It was a total different side of him then what I have seen in interviews and on Pretty Little Liars as Toby.

I had a smile on my face the whole time I was reading this book. I loved looking at all his pictures and reading about all the times that he has been in a show or a play. Reading about some of the things he does in his life outside of shooting sounded like so much fun. Photographers will have a blast getting to look through this book and reading about some of Keegan Allen’s tips. It was so real and down to earth that I didn’t want to put it down.

Overall, I would have to give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. The book was so quick and easy to read. I had such a great time reading this book and it reminded me of the fact that if you like it, you should do it. This book was inspirational and had a great message written into the book. If you are a fan of either photography or Keegan Allen himself, this is a book you have to check out. It takes you backstage of the set of Pretty Little Liars and his set of some other directors and I loved that. This was overall a really good book to check out.

Have you read this book? Are you a fan of Keegan Allen? What about Pretty Little Liars? What is your favorite thing that Keegan Allen has done? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

2 thoughts on “life.love.beauty | Book Review

Leave a Reply

