Famous In Love (Season 1) | TV Show Review

The other day, Pretty Little Liars started back up and that made my mind blow up. At least Toby was in the episode and not a certain character… But after PLL, Freeform released a new series based off of Rebecca Serle’s book series Famous In Love. Since I had read the first book in the series, I decided to give the series a try. Well, thanks to my parents for having DirectTV because I have already gone and watched Season 1 since it is all On Demand right now. If you haven’t made it to the end of the season or read the book, just beware of some of the stuff you could read! Oh and thank you so much for getting me to 200 followers! I never thought that I would make it this far! I thought that I would be the only one that was reading my blog when I first started it. Thank you all so much and I love you all for it so much! 🙂

Title: Famous In Love

Created By: I. Marlene King and Rebecca Serle

Network: Freeform

Released: April 18, 2017

Run Time: 41 – 45 Minutes

A college student’s big break in a Hollywood blockbuster leaves her navigating through an undeniable chemistry, and uncovering the truth about a missing popstar.

The Cast:

Capture

  • Bella Thorne as Paige Townsen
  • Charlie DePew as Jake Salt
  • Georgie Flores as Cassandra “Cassie” Perkins
  • Carter Jenkins as Rainer Devon
  • Niki Koss as Alexis Glenn
  • Keith T. Powers as Jordan Wilder
  • Pepi Sonuga as Tangey Turner
  • Perrey Reeves as Nina Devon
My Review:

I wasn’t too sure about this show when I first heard about it. I even went to write about it in a really bad post when the trailer came out so you can check it out here. But I was pleased with some of the stuff that I did see in the show. It wasn’t one of those shows that I would watch a million times like Pretty Little Liars but it was one that I would watch season 2 of. I might as well just get with this review already.

Paige was once a regular college kid. She lived in California with her two best friends Cassie and Jake. Because they live in California, they hear about all the open calls in the area. Cassie drags Paige to the open call for the movie Locked, which she ends up beating out all the other celebrities considered for the role. Along the journey, Paige has to learn about all the struggles of becoming America’s Sweetheart and all the problems that come along with it.

The cast wasn’t my favorite cast in the world. There were parts where I questioned them. There were was times that I really liked them but others I didn’t. I was only familiar with one of the cast members when the show started but once it got to the third, I realized who another member was. I wasn’t a fan of Bella Throne when the show started and I am still not a fan. I also realized that I knew who Carter Jenkins was because of a movie called Valentine’s Day. Believe it or not, he was the one who was dating Emma Roberts in the movie and had to run out of the house naked. Yep. I felt like if the cast was a little better, I would have enjoyed watching the show a little more than what I did. 

Like most things, I did read the book before I watched the show. I did read it several years ago but I remembered a lot about what happens. In the books, I was Team Rainer. In the show, I am Team Rainer. I know, go with the guy that is hot and has money. I could not stand Jake. I felt like he was a little self-centered and he never knew how to make a decision. I don’t feel like I connected well with him. To be completely honest, I don’t feel like I connected with any of the characters in the show.

I was expecting a lot more than what I got out of this show because of I. Marlene King. If you didn’t know, I. Marlene King is the mastermind behind Pretty Little Liars, which is one of my favorite shows. I was expecting there to be a little better plot and a little more drama placed into the show. I really loved the last episode since it leaves you questioning two things: who killed the man at the end and who will Paige end up with. I thought that the show was going to be a lot better planned than what it truly was. Does that mean I am giving up on I. Marlene King? Nope. Is she losing some brownie points from me? Yep.

One thing I really did enjoy about this show, other than the lighting, was the fact we got to see how stardom begins. Paige goes from being this boring college kid to being America’s Sweetheart. I loved getting to watch her audition and getting to watch how her old friends changed. The development of Paige as an actress was awesome (so was some of the character developments like Rainer) and I loved watching her lose friends and watching her gain friends. I also really liked her relationship with Rainer as well but who doesn’t?

DIVERSITY WAS EVERYWHERE IN THIS SHOW. I mean there is diversity in almost every show but I didn’t see so much diversity stuffed in one episode ever. And I loved it. I still question about Alexis’ sexuality because I know she came out as bisexual but I still question that. Recently I have been watching a lot of shows that really doesn’t include much diversity so this came as a shock. 

Overall, I would have to give this show a 2.5 out of 5. I didn’t hate the show but I didn’t love the show. I really don’t know if I will be continuing the show if there is a second season. I might keep up with it and all but I might not watch it. I might watch a few episodes or watch it while I do homework and all but I’m not a huge fan of it. If you liked Pretty Little Liars and you are wondering if this is anywhere close to it, the answer is no. It is not similar in any shape or form. You can see the little peaks of I. Marlene King when it came to the love triangle and the element of surprise but that’s really it.

Have you watched the show? What episode are you on? Are you Team Rainer or Team Jake? Who is your favorite character? Are you a big fan of the show? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

2 thoughts on “Famous In Love (Season 1) | TV Show Review

Leave a Reply

