The Maddie Diaries | Book Review

I talk about a lot of books up here. Not all of them have been read by me yet but one day they might all be read. I actually bought this book last month, which happens to be the month it came out in. Dance Moms is one of my guilty pleasures and when Maddie Ziegler left the show, I sort of stopped because she was secretly my favorite up there. Since she released a memoir, I didn’t want to read it just because she was Maddie Ziegler but because I wanted to know if it was truly a 14-year-old who wrote the book. I got my answers and I’m gonna bring you some right now. Just beware of some of these dancing spoilers coming across your screen.

The Maddie Diaries: A Memoir

Title: The Maddie Diaries

Author: Maddie Ziegler

Publisher: Gallery Books

Release: March 7, 2017

Pages: 240 (Hardback)

Teen dance prodigy, breakout Dance Moms star, and judge on So You Think You Can Dance: The Next Generation presents her uplifting coming-of-age memoir about following her dreams and working hard to achieve success in both the dance world and in life.
Maddie Ziegler had hoped to become a star—she just didn’t know how soon that day would come. At just eight years old, she was cast on Lifetime’s hit reality show Dance Moms and quickly won the hearts of fans everywhere with her natural talent and determination. Soon, she was catching eyes all over—including those of pop superstar Sia, who handpicked her to star in the incredibly popular music video “Chandelier.” The rest, as they say, was history.
In this inspirational memoir, Maddie explains the hard work she put into her rise to stardom and how she keeps her balance along the way—starring in music videos, going on tour, and becoming an actress in The Book of Henry with Naomi Watts and Jacob Tremblay. She also answers her fans’ burning questions with wise advice she’s learned on her journey. With honesty, charm, and humor, Maddie offers her unique perspective on making her way in the world as a young teenager, reflecting on the lessons she’s learned—and preparing for the exciting road ahead.

Image result for maddie ziegler

About the Author: Madison Nicole “Maddie” Ziegler is an American dancer, actress, and model. She first became known for appearing on Lifetime’s reality show Dance Moms from 2011 until 2016. From 2014 to 2016, she gained wider fame for starring in five music videos by Sia, including “Chandelier” and “Elastic Heart”, which cumulatively have attracted more than 3 billion views on YouTube. Ziegler has guest-starred on scripted shows, danced on various TV shows and at concerts, and has been seen on magazine covers and in feature articles. She has modeled for Capezio, Ralph Lauren, and Target, among other brands. Ziegler was included by Time magazine on its list of the “30 most influential teens” in each of 2015 and 2016.

My Review:

I’ve been on a memoir/autobiography kick recently since I have read so many of them recently. It’s not a bad thing since I’m not only learning about someone that intrigues me but I learn how much I don’t want to become a celebrity in New York or California. WordPress is good enough for me. But since this book was written by a 14-year-old, I wanted to know if she truly wrote the book or if someone else wrote it for her. (I almost said that Maddie Ziegler was 144 when I was typing this. I almost didn’t catch it!) But, overall, it was a fun book to read but I just don’t know if it was a book towards me.

Maddie Ziegler started to become the star of Dance Moms from all her life. She never expected for her life to explode the way it has. After her fame on Dance Moms blew up, so many doors opened for her after Australian singer Sia found out about her. Sia got her to perform in her music videos. Somehow Maddie is still able to be a normal teen. Maddie Ziegler takes up along her journey through her stardom and how she keeps herself in track. She might even throw in a few helpful tips and things you would have never had guessed about her.

Maddie Ziegler is only 14 but she can add successful author to her list. The one thing that I loved and hated about this book was the fact that there were times that I felt like I was reading a book written by a 14-year-old. I loved the fact that she was being her true self through the book but I just hated it at times because she overused parentheses for me and exclamation points. That might have been just me but it sort of annoyed me. She definitely had a style of writing to keep the reader intrigued and wanting to read more. It was really fun to get to read the mind of a 14-year-old celebrity and all the things that she has to battle through about being in the public eye all the time. The book was really easy to read, but there were times that I was really proud of some of her word choices, and it was really easy to follow along because it had a great backbone.

Something strange and unique I do when I read memoirs or autobiographies is actually read the book in the voice of the author. I don’t know how it happens but it happens. I seriously loved hearing Maddie’s voice while I was reading this book. I felt like I was being real with her and I was talking to one of my friends at lunch, and we have some really strange conversations. (Thanks, Faith and Aaliyah!) I felt so personally connected to this book because there were so many things that I could relate to since I am only 16-year-old. Everyone should be able to find to connect to this book, no matter how old you are.

There were some great things that laid within the book when you examine the messages in the story. There were things like you should be happy with who you are and that you should do what all your other friends are doing because they aren’t you. For a 14-year-old, she has some great things to share. Maddie had some really good stories to share about her dancing career and all the times that her sister Mackenzie Ziegler, decided to blame her for not doing her chores or etc.

I love it when a book has a sense of humor and this one had one. I was laughing in so many places because of some of the things that Maddie Ziegler placed within it. I might have been the only one that found it funny but I always laugh at the wrong things. Can you blame for laughing when someone I don’t like falls down the stairs at school? Maddie includes little things like “don’t tell my mom,” or “sorry Mackenzie” and I find it hilarious. It felt good and real to read. That doesn’t always happen when you read a book either.

I do recommend that if you are planning on reading this book, you should make sure you are up to date with your Maddie Ziegler news. Make sure you at least know the basics about her because you might be lost if you do. Also, you should also make sure with yourself that you are ready to jump into a 14-year-old’s mind because it will happen. If you are older, you might not find the book as entertaining as a teenager would. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t try it but just be aware of that.

Overall, I would have to give this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars. I’m glad that I read this book but I could have been fine that I didn’t. I did learn some things, including makeup terms because I don’t wear makeup. I know, shocker. The book was short, light, and overall just fun to read. If you are a Maddie Ziegler fan, you should make sure you check this book out because you will love it.

Have you read this book? What were your thoughts about it? What is your favorite Sia video/performance that includes Maddie Ziegler in it? Were you a fan of Dance Moms or do you not know what it is? What is your favorite style of writing to read? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

One thought on “The Maddie Diaries | Book Review

Leave a Reply

