3% (Season 1) | TV Show Review

I have had this show on my list on Netflix for like a million years now. I finally got across to starting it the other day and I was quite shocked about it; both good and bad. But this has been my current past time, the Netflix original 3%. Today I bring you another review but this time it’s a TV Show review. Don’t worry, there isn’t going to be any spoilers in this one because I think you all should go and check this show out. 

3% official artwork.jpeg

Title: 3%

Created By: Pedro Aguilera

Network: Netflix Original

Released: November 25, 2016

Run Time: 38 – 49 Minutes

In a future where the elite inhabit an island paradise far from the crowded slums, you get one chance to join the 3% saved from squalor.

The Cast:
  • Bianca Comparato as Michele Santana
  • João Miguel as Ezequiel
  • Michel Gomes as Fernando Carvalho
  • Rodolfo Valente as Rafael Moreira
  • Rafael Lozano as Marco Alvarez
  • Vaneza Oliveira as Joana Coelho
  • Viviane Porto as Aline
  • Celso Frateschi as the Cause Leader
  • Mel Fronckowiak as Julia
  • Sérgio Mamberti as Matheus
  • Zezé Motta as Nair
  • Luciana Paes as Cássia
  • Luana Tanaka as Ágata
My Review:

I went into this show without knowing anything that happens in the show. I knew that it looked and sounded interesting so I took it up. Wow. Can I just say wow? I would totally recommend for you all to go and check this show out one of these days because of how awesome it is.

3% follows the process of a village of teenagers who are trying to get to the Offshore. The offshore is supposed to be this peaceful land where only 3% of a group of contestants get to go and live. These contestants have to go through rounds of battles to see who is the smartest and the strongest out of them. Within them, there is a traitor, from the group known as the Cause. Will they be able to figure out who is in the Cause before anyone gets hurt?

The one thing I had to battle myself about was the fact the show wasn’t shot in English. I originally was thinking it was shot in English but I never realized it until I started watching it. The show was shot in another language but because Netflix is amazing, it will make it your language.

The cast of this show was perfectly picked out. I loved this cast since they were able to add the hint of surprise within their character and they all fit the role of being hungry, etc perfectly. All I can say is that I was sadly sort of attracted to Ezequiel, played by João Miguel. The cast had a great relationship and they all should get an award for their roles. If it wasn’t for the awesome cast, I probably would have quit watching the show from the beginning. It’s like a book – the characters can either make or break it.

Don’t even get me started on the writing of the show. There were a few places where I just didn’t like how it was written and there were a few places where I thought that it would never happen but it is Science Fiction for you. It might have been because it was shot and created in another country but I felt like I wasn’t as connect to it as much but that was just me. The storyline was really easy to follow along and you always wanted to know what was happening next or how the show was going to end. You never felt like you were spending a million years watching an episode.

Location is very important for a show. If you shoot a show, it should look like the world you are describing. This show did just that. They had the inlands, where all the villages are the poor people. Then you have the Process Building which is as beautiful as you think it is. It was so amazing to get to see the vast difference in the living and why so many people wanted to join the Process. One of the best things about the location was their clothing. When you think of the really poor in America, they don’t even match the show. These people had like one outfit that barely didn’t even cover their arms. Most of the people were pregnant or they had ten or twenty kids already. This was one of the most thought out shows with its location I have watched in a while.

Overall, I would have to give this show a 4 out of 5 stars. If you were a fan of The Hunger Games, Westworld, and Divergent, you should totally go and check this show out. There are some graphic scenes through the season and there is some violence within the show. In the last few episodes, there is some nudity but it only last a minute or two.

Have you watched this show? What were your thoughts about it? Did you know that there is a second season coming out at the end of the year (supposedly)? Who was your favorite character from the show? What did you think about the ending? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

