My Sister’s Keeper | Movie Review

I have seen this movie before but I have never watched the whole thing from beginning to end. I have happened to do this several times before but I typically end up going back and watching it. For example – Pretty Little Liars. I started to watch the show season 6 and I just finished watching it from Season 1. Look at me. Here I am going way off of topic but I’m here with another movie review for My Sister’s Keeper. Just watch out for these spoilers that might jump out at you!

My sisters keeper poster.jpg

Title: My Sister’s Keeper

Directed By: Nick Cassavetes

Distributed By: New Line Cinema

Released: June 26, 2009

Run Time: 109 Minutes

After their daughter is stricken with leukemia, a couple conceives a younger sister who can provide a donor match, but the family is torn apart when, after years of medical procedures, the healthy younger sibling sues her parents for the right to decide how her body is used.

The Book That Inspired the Movie:

My Sister's Keeper

Title: My Sister’s Keeper

Author: Jodi Picoult

Publisher: Atria

Release Date: April 6, 2004

Pages: 432 (Paperback)

New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult is widely acclaimed for her keen insights into the hearts and minds of real people. Now she tells the emotionally riveting story of a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness.
Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate — a life and a role that she has never challenged…until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister — and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.
My Sister’s Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child’s life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you? Once again, in My Sister’s Keeper, Jodi Picoult tackles a controversial real-life subject with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity.

Trailer:

The Cast:

Image result for my sister keeper cast

  • Abigail Breslin as Anna Fitzgerald
  • Cameron Diaz as Sara Fitzgerald
  • Sofia Vassilieva as Kate Fitzgerald
  • Jason Patric as Brian Fitzgerald
  • Chris Kinkade as Dr. Nguyen
  • David Thornton as Dr. Chance
  • Evan Ellingson as Jesse Fitzgerald
  • Alec Baldwin as Campbell Alexander
  • E.G. Daily as Nurse Susan
  • Lin Shaye as Nurse Adele
  • Joan Cusack as Judge De Salvo
  • Heather Wahlquist as Aunt Kelly
  • Thomas Dekker as Taylor Ambrose
  • Emily Deschanel as Dr. Farquad
  • Jeffrey Markle as Dr. Wayne
My Review:

I literally love this movie. I swear this movie is better than The Fault in our Stars and I am in love with this movie. The cast is great, the directing was spectacular, and the whole plot was spectacular. Even though I am saying all of this now, I would still have to give this movie a 4 out of 5 stars. 

One thing I do not enjoy about this movie is the switching of perspectives during the movie. I enjoyed getting to know what other people are thinking through the whole movie but I didn’t like it. I wish it was told in third person or something but I really wish it was different than it was shot. I did like the way it was shot – the different perspective – because it had such a beautiful viewpoint. I loved being able to look into the eyes of the person telling the story.

My favorite character had to be Taylor. Taylor was such an amazing guy and he had such a big heart. One of my favorite scenes had to be when Taylor was dropping off Kate and they kissed for the first time. The fact that Kate’s mom and dad was watching the whole entire thing was hilarious. Taylor was so adorable and watching them together was one of my favorite things in the whole entire world. Watching Taylor take care of Kate when she was getting her chemo and she was throwing up was the sweetest thing in the world. But when Taylor hurt Kate after they did some stuff at Prom, I wanted to rip him in half and throw him against the wall.

All the different flashbacks in the movie was something that I enjoyed a lot and I typically hate flashbacks. I loved getting to see how it all started with Kate and why Anna wants to actually sue her parents. Anna suing her parents was just great. Anna wanted her rights to be heard and not be used as chopped liver to her mom. The more I saw these flashbacks in the movie, the more I hated the mom. I’m not a big fan of Cameron Diaz in the first place but her mom was terrible. Everything that Anna had to go through made me want to strangle her.The flashbacks showed that Anna has always had one person on her side and that was her dad. I loved her dad in the first place and they all had such a great relationship with him.

I felt like they could not have found a better cast to be in this movie. They could not have found a better crew for the movie. I already love a lot of the cast in the movie in the first place – Alec Baldwin, Joan Cusack, and Abigail Breslin – but adding in all the other people made the movie even better. The relationship that they had in real life showed through the whole movie. When Kate died, I balled like a baby even though I knew that it was going to happened eventually. The relationship that the characters had through the whole thing brought the emotions out 100 times more than any other movie that I have recently watched. 

I believe that everyone should go and give this movie a chance. No matter what type of movie you are into, you should watch it. The movie will speak to you and it will definitely make you think about some of the stuff that has happened in your life. Fans off all genres will enjoy this movie, no matter what your age is.

Have you watched this movie? What were your thoughts on the movie? Have you read the book? Did you enjoy the movie or the book better? Who was your favorite character from the book and the movie? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

 

One thought on “My Sister’s Keeper | Movie Review

Leave a Reply

