Yes Please | Book Review

Sometimes I go and buy books just because of the cover. Sometimes I go and buy books because of the person who wrote it. Sometimes though, I go and buy a book based off of the humor I know I will get out of a book. In this case, I bought Amy Poehler’s Yes Please because of the laughs I expected to get out of it. Let me tell you, this book did bring me some laughs – and it also taught me some very important life lessons. Beware of the spoilers if you haven’t read the book and you want to!

Yes Please

Title: Yes Please

Author: Amy Poehler

Publisher: Dey St.

Released: October 28, 2014

Pages: 329 (Hardback)

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

Image result for amy peohler

About the Author: Amy Meredith Poehler is an American actress, comedian, voice artist, producer and writer. Raised in Burlington, Massachusetts, she graduated from Boston College in 1993 and moved to Chicago, Illinois, to study improv at The Second City and ImprovOlympic. In 1996, she moved to New York City after becoming part of the improvisational comedy troupe Upright Citizens Brigade, which later developed into an eponymous television show that aired on Comedy Central for three seasons. Poehler was also one of the founding members of the Upright Citizens Brigade Theatre in 1999.
Poehler was a cast member on the NBC television show Saturday Night Live from 2001 to 2008. In 2004, she became the co-anchor of the Weekend Update sketch along with her friend and colleague Tina Fey. Poehler’s work on SNL earned her two Primetime Emmy Award nominations for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series. She is known for voicing Bessie Higgenbottom in the 2008–2011 Nickelodeon series, The Mighty B! and Eleanor Miller in the Alvin and the Chipmunks CGI films. Since 2009, she has starred as Leslie Knope in the sitcom Parks and Recreation, and received the 2014 Golden Globe Award for Best Actress in a Television Musical or Comedy Series. She is also an eight-time Emmy Award nominee.
Poehler is currently starring in the new Swedish-American sitcom Welcome to Sweden along with her brother Greg Poehler.

My Review:

Amy Poehler can’t write a book. She doesn’t know how to. This is not a book. This is more than a book. Amy Poehler takes you through her whole life – her drug addictions, college days, childhood, the birth of her kids, and how her phone didn’t want this book to be released (neither did her laptop but anyway). This book was something that I was so happy that I took the time to get my hands on and read it.

I am not a big fan of autobiographies/memoirs. At least, I thought I was. Now as a 16 year old girl, I am starting to find myself and I think that I really do. Of course there will be that one book in that genre that I just don’t like but for the most part, I really enjoy it. I feel like it might have been my really strong liking of Amy Poehler in the first place but I really like this.

I loved getting to read about how Amy grew up and how she was able to get to were she was. She was raised in a “low-middle class family” and she had her good friends. Her one friend who lived down the road, her house was the total opposite of Amy’s. Amy and this friend would do everything together, even handcuffing themselves to each other. Amy talks about how there was fights at her high school almost every day and there was drugs everywhere. I don’t know if I was the only one that I really enjoyed reading those parts but I loved the connection I was able to make with Amy. I mean there is literally one fight maybe once a week at my school – unless it was the other day and we had like three in one day.

Amy was literally reading the words to me while I was reading this book. I felt like she was sitting right next to me, reading the book word by word to me. Amy made this book so personal, but not at the same time. Amy was able to write about anything – she could add what she wanted and she could leave out what she wanted – and that is what I loved. I also really like the fact that she was able to talk about her ex husband Will Arnett like they are best friends. Most of the time, when a person rights about their ex husband, it typically is all a roast and I can’t help but think “Thank God they are over.” Amy had some of the nicest things to say to Will in the book, including a big thanks and some love for the two kids they had together.

Drugs. Drugs. Drugs. Kid’s don’t do drugs. I swear Amy Poehler included some drugs I had never even heard of in her book. Seriously. Drugs were a big thing back when she was a kid, even her own dad smoked some marijuana in his car. Amy talked about how after some shows, and sometimes even before a show, she would go and get a little high and I loved the realness of it. Amy talks about this one case where she was on some drug (I don’t remember which one) and she ran into someone else that was on the same thing. Amy goes on and says that she was talking nonsense about the weirdest things and I loved the story. I would have never had guessed that Amy would do drugs. Never. But now I know. I also know the two types of drugs that she would never touch because of the things she saw because of them.

The photos that were picked out for the book were awesome. Getting to see a fetus Amy Poehler, and seeing what she was doing before she started SNL was great. I actually wish that I could see more of them. The pictures flowed with each of the sections.

Reading this book was like being able to pick around Amy Poehler’s mind and it felt amazing. The book had sort of a structure but it was laid out a little weird at times. I actually really enjoyed that because I feel like that was how her brain is like. It went from talking from the introduction of the book to her college days, having kids, then SNL where in reality, that really isn’t the order of her life. Whenever I think back to certain events, they never really come to me in order and that is something I love. The book had so many helpful hints – some better than others. Amy’s mind probably thinking about sex about once a day and in the book, it showed it. There was a chapter that was dedicated to it, for tips for both women and men. That was actually one of my favorite chapters to be honest.

One thing I really didn’t like was the ending. I felt a little bored while I was reading the last 50 pages or so. It felt like I was reading the same thing over again and I really didn’t enjoy it as much. I love how Amy talked about how her phone was trying to kill her but I wasn’t enjoying it as much as I was reading about the times that she SNL and all her other shows. The book does have me interested in reading a few other people’s books like Tina Fey’s so next time I go to the store and it is on sale, I am getting my hands on it!

Overall, I thought the book was great. I would have to give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. The book was so inspirational and taught me some very good things. It wasn’t too political, even though there were moments that included Bill Clinton, Hillary Clinton, Sarah Palin, etc but they were important moments in her life. The book is written for mature adults since it deals with the topic of sex, drugs, and a same amount of violence but it was a great read. Everyone will be able to pull something out of the book that speaks to them and find a way to make the book personal to them. It actually makes me want to go and watch an Amy Poehler movie…

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? Do you enjoy watching things with Amy Poehler in it? What are your thoughts about Amy Poehler? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

One thought on “Yes Please | Book Review

Leave a Reply

