Pretty Little Liars (Season 6) | Show Review

You know you have fallen in love with people when you watch over 15 hours worth of Netflix of the same show. It wasn’t my fault. It wasn’t my fault that I had nothing better to do with my life. I did finish Season 6 of Pretty Little Liars and I literally told myself, “That is not the ending. This season can not be done.” But sadly, it was and now I am here. I really want to find Season 7A but I just can’t find it! I really need it. This “A”/”A.D.”/Charlotte’s Ghost is coming out and spoiling the whole entire season for you!

Season 1 // Season 2 // Season 3 // Season 4 // Season 5

Image result for Pretty Little Liars Season 6 Casket Poster

Title: Pretty Little Liars

Created By: I. Marlene King

Network: Freeform

Aired: June 2, 2015 – March 15, 2016

Run Time: 42 Minutes

Four friends band together against an anonymous foe who threatens to reveal their darkest secrets, while unraveling the mystery of the murder of their best friend.

The Cast:

Image result for pll season 6 cast

  • Troian Bellisario as Spencer Hastings
  • Ashley Benson as Hanna Marin
  • Tyler Blackburn as Caleb Rivers
  • Lucy Hale as Aria Montgomery
  • Ian Harding as Ezra Fitz
  • Laura Leighton as Ashley Marin
  • Shay Mitchell as Emily Fields
  • Janel Parrish as Mona Vanderwaal
  • Sasha Pieterse as Alison DiLaurentis
  • Holly Marie Combs as Ella Montgomery
  • Chad Lowe as Byron Montgomery
  • Dre Davis as Sara Harvey
  • Travis Winfrey as Lorenzo Calderon
  • Keegan Allen as Toby Cavanaugh
  • Lesley Fera as Veronica Hastings
  • Nia Peeples as Pam Fields
  • Huw Collins as Dr. Elliott Rollins
  • Titus Makin, Jr. as Clark Wilkins
  • Drew Van Acker as Jason DiLaurentis
  • David Coussins as Jordan Hobart
  • Roberto Aguire as Liam Greene
  • Roma Maffia as Lieutenant Linda Tanner
  • Kara Royster as Yvonne Phillips
  • Vanessa Ray as CeCe Drake/Charlotte DiLaurentis
  • Torrey DeVitto as Melissa Hastings
  • Brendan Robinson as Lucas Gottesman
  • Nolan North as Peter Hastings
  • Annabeth Gish as Dr. Anne Sullivan
  • Cody Allen Christian as Mike Montgomery
My Review:

I am not a big fan of time jumps. I never have and probably never will. I really don’t know why I don’t but I feel like it has something to do with having so many things change and you don’t have a reason presented to you automatically. Maybe if there wasn’t a time jump, maybe I would have enjoyed the season more and maybe my favorite TV OTP would still be together.

This happens to be the season that I started to enjoy the show. I knew about the show during the season but I was a little terrified of it. I had no idea why someone would want to create a show like this. I don’t remember why I had to watch a certain episode but after the one episode, I would sort of pay attention to it. I was sure that I would not remember anything that happened. I seemed to remember more than what I thought during the 5 Years Jump.

Spencer and Toby had to break up during the show. It killed me. From the very beginning, I have loved these two together. If there is a better couple in the show than these two, I don’t know. We went from Spencer being kidnapped and Toby never giving up on finding her to Toby going and proposing to another women. I hated watching the whole thing with Spencer reading about the ring buying in the packet and then going to The Radley and watching Toby debate about proposing to Yvonne. I think I actually started to cry because Toby and Spencer were made for each other. They understand each other. They know about the whole “A” situation and it would be a little weird to bring in other people to the situation. I don’t even like Yvonne. What would make Yvonne so much better than Spencer? Toby just so happened to know both of the candidates for State Senate (which I am really happy that Veronica Hastings won because I don’t know about Yvonne’s mom yet) and I feel like Yvonne only got with him to know Spencer better. Spencer and Toby were together for basically the whole show and now it is over? I almost get the feeling that Yvonne might be the person behind some of the stuff is happening because she does have a motive and she seems like the person that would do something like that.

I love the scene where Jason almost gets the chance to meet Charles. Jason thought for the longest time that he made up that person because he was always told that. It’s normal for kids to have imaginary friends when they feel alone so it wouldn’t surprise me if Jason had a few. I just never thought that he would be told that he wasn’t real. Should I even be referring to Charles a a guy? Anyway, the Liars found out about the chips in the back of their heads and they remove them so they went after Jason and Charles. Spencer told Toby about it at first and Toby was the one that was going after them. But, Toby grabs this candy out of Spencer’s bag that Sabrina placed in there and it made him go a little crazy, well, high. Sabrina uses weed in her candy to help her relax and Toby had no idea that there was weed in it. He eats the whole bag and the way he still wants to protect Spencer after the whole thing was remarkable. Jason got so close to finding out whole Charles but the Liars had to ruin it. 

Charles DiLaurentis is Charlotte DiLaurentis who is really CeCe Drake. This was one of the things that I remember from previous watching was the whole thing with Charles being Charlotte. I never made the connection between Charlotte and CeCe. Charlotte had a good reasoning behind it, after she reveals the whole story during the one episode. It explains why “A” was trying to turn Toby in a different direction with the display. It explains the snake in the dressing room when Hanna was changing at the store. Did Charlotte even work there? She was the one that said that Hanna was free to go and steal anything there. A lot of the behavior that Charlotte displayed as CeCe is starting to make so much sense. Now Charlotte is dead and who knows who did it.

Sara Harvey was one of the characters that I was actually enjoying but she ended up almost killing everyone. Sara was one good actress as well. She went around pretending that she has been trapped down there for years but in reality, she has been helping Charlotte with this dollhouse plan. Sara went and got the tattoo of a bird being released from the cage while Emily got the courageous one. I should have known that Sara was part of the plan because she goes and tells her that she loves her no matter what happens to her the night of prom. I should have taken that comment into more consideration,  especially when you are watching a show like this. Sara was getting so close to Emily, along with me, and now she is evil. After the 5 year jump, here she is, with apparently no use of her hands, but she was the one that was driving a car during one of the episodes. Sara just happened to show up in town during the time of Charlotte’s death. She was following Emily around the town after the funeral and all so that sends me into so many thoughts.

I still don’t like Alison. She was the one that went and saved the Liars, Mona, and Sara from the dollhouse during the first episode but I still don’t like her. I feel so bad for her after she thinks she is going crazy but in reality, she isn’t. Mary Drake (who happens to look exactly like Mrs. DiLaurentis) and Alison’s husband Elliott were making her go crazy. Now Alison is in a mental hospital and I remember everything that happens to her in that place. It almost feels like Elliott is actually Wren. Like the Wren that was with Spencer and Melissa. Both of them are doctors. Both of them are connected to Alison. We already know that Wren has mask because he used them to be Wilden, to make Alison go crazy. What if he had a make to make him look like Wren? Elliott even broke out his accent when he was talking with Mary Drake. I know I am probably not even close but you have no idea what all goes through my mind when I write this kind of stuff.

Aria and Ezra. Ezra and Aria. No matter what they do, they can never be apart. Even after their little break up before Aria went off to college, Ezra still protected her at prom. Ezra was introduced to Nicole which changed the relationship between them a lot but they still end up together. Aria goes and gets a job at a Publishing Company, which happens to have Ezra signed to it. After the first book, it is Aria’s job to go and get the second book. Ezra had changed to much after the whole Nicole situation because he loved her. He wanted the world for Nicole and now she is gone. Ezra turns to alcohol and he becomes very violent, even with Aria. But even though Ezra is still not over with Nicole, and Aria had Liam, they still have to go and have sex after the book news. Why? They can never get their hands off of each other. And the more that I watch these two together, I don’t know how I like them. These two are like a drug for each other and they are draining each other from actually living a life.

Caleb was basically me this season. It all started with the comment about Kim Kardashian and Kanye West – about how no one needs to know about these two together. Literally me. Who really actually likes these two together? Maybe it is me because I really don’t like either of them in the first place. Then we have the comment that he made about the name of the new “A”, Amoji. That cracked me up. Finally, he goes and makes the comment about Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children which made me die of happiness. I thought that I loved Caleb enough in the past but now, I love him even more. But I still like him better with Hanna, after watching the past few seasons. I always thought that I liked Spencer and Caleb together but that was before I met Toby and the rest of the cast. The kiss that Hanna and Caleb shared at the cabin was amazing, but you could see that coming. I really won’t be surprised it Spencer and Caleb don’t make it that long because Spencer is seeing the relationship between Hanna and Caleb growing stronger. Plus, I really want to see the original couples back together, even though that can’t happen since Maya is dead. RIP 😦

Overall, this season has to get a 3.5 out of 5 stars. I really enjoyed the first part of the season but after the jump, I really wasn’t enjoying it as much. It might be because I knew some of the stuff that was going on but the way it was shot and written was different. It was almost like they changed the writing staff during the break. The plot was good and the characters were amazing but I just didn’t like all the changes. I really don’t like the fact that whenever the characters read a text, it shows it up on the screen, and shows their name. Don’t you think I know who is sending it? I am happy that Toby is still part of the plot, even though he really doesn’t have as big as a role in the show. I also don’t like how some of the episodes have as many flashbacks as they do actual life. I really do like the flashbacks but they aren’t the same for me. I still enjoy them since they help me know what is going on with certain characters, like the Yvonne leak and the reasoning why Spencer felt the way she did. What happened between Caleb and Hanna. The whole thing was heartbreaking.

I have a theory on who A.D. might be but I am probably really wrong. It has to be a person who wants to get back at Charlotte and someone who really doesn’t like the Liars. I have in my mind Jason but they claim that he is away but who knows where he is. Jason has been so confused in his life – with finding out the truth about Charles, Alison being alive, his mom being buried alive, etc. I think I read somewhere that A.D. is supposed to be blonde as well and Jason is blonde. I really don’t know if this could be right but that’s just my theory.

What are your thoughts on Pretty Little Liars? Who is you favorite relationship on the show? What show are you currently addicted to? What makes you like it so much? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

