Author Talk: Lindsay Cummings

It has been almost two months since I did my last Author Talk and I have no clue why I haven’t! I always enjoy writing these so I don’t know what is holding me back. Since I am finally doing another one of these, why not do one on an author that I have recently read their work? I decided that I did not know that much about Lindsay Cummings and I really enjoy reading her books so why not learn about her!

A Little About Lindsay Cummings:

Image result for lindsay cummings

Lindsay Cummings is the #1 NYT Bestselling co-author of ZENITH. She writes Science Fiction and Fantasy novels for HarperCollins. She lives in the woods in North Texas, where she writes full time. She is represented by Peter Knapp at New Leaf Literary. As someone who came to writing through years dealing with Chronic Fatigue, Lindsay is a big advocate for those who deal with health issues, both physical and mental. If you are struggling with either of these things, Lindsay encourages you to keep your chin up, and remember how important you are to this world—even when it may not seem so. If you or someone you know or love is struggling, please reach out. Lindsay does not write Christian Fiction, but she is a big believer in Jesus Christ, and believes He is the reason for all her success!

Her Books:
  • The Fear Trials – Released 2014
  • The Murder Complex – Released 2014
  • The Fires of Calderon – Released 2014
  • The Death Code – Released 2015
  • The Pillars of Ponderay – Released 2015
  • The Traitor of Belltroll – Released 2016
  • Zenith (Along with Sasha Alsberg) – Released 2016
About the Books:
The Murder Complex:

Image result for the murder complex series

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.
Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.
The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?
Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

Balance Keepers:

The Fires of Calderon (The Balance Keepers, #1)

The first book in an epic middle grade fantasy adventure series that takes place in an underground society at the center of the earth. Packed with action, humor, magic, and mystery.
After following a mysterious map into the woods and then under the woods, eleven-year-old Albert Flynn learns he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for fixing problems in three underground Realms at the Core of the earth. His new job is important; if the realms fall out of balance, the world above could be in great danger.
Albert and his Balance Keeper teammates Birdie and Leroy arrive in the Core not a moment too soon. There’s an Imbalance in the Calderon Realm and it’s threatening to bury Albert’s hometown of New York City in a mountain of ash.
The three must train hard completing mental and physical challenges, but above all, they must harness the power of their Tiles—unique superpowers given to each Balance Keeper. So far, Albert’s mastered the art of not mastering his Tile….
With the situation in Calderon growing worse every day, can Albert, Leroy, and Birdie restore balance before New York is destroyed forever? Will Albert master his Tile before it’s too late?
Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, The Unwanteds, and the classic Journey to the Center of the Earth.

Zenith:

Zenith (The Androma Saga #1)

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
There is darkness sweeping across the stars.
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness: a powerful mercenary whose reign of terror stretches across the Mirabel Galaxy. To those aboard her fearsome glass starship the Maurader, she’s just Andi, their captain and protector.
When a routine mission goes awry, the all-girl crew’s resilience is tested as they find themselves in a most unfamiliar place: at the mercy of a sadistic bounty hunter connected to Andi’s past and a harrowing betrayal.
Meanwhile, on the far side of the galaxy, a ruthless ruler waits in the shadows of the planet Xen Ptera, biding her time to exact revenge for the destruction of her people. The final pieces of her deadly plan are about to fall into place, unleashing a plot that will tear Mirabel in two.
Andi and her crew embark on a dangerous, soul-testing journey that could restore order to their ship—or just as easily start a war that will devour worlds. As the Marauder hurtles towards the unknown, and Mirabel hangs in the balance, the only thing certain is that in a galaxy run on lies and illusion, no one can be trusted.
From internet sensation Sasha Alsberg and author Lindsay Cummings comes a new serialized space opera, full of action, fantastical intrigue, and steamy star-crossed romance.
For fans of popular sci-fi books and fantasy books for teens such as Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, Wool by Hugh Howey, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, and A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

My Thoughts:

I actually heard about Lindsay Cummings through Sasha Alsberg a few years ago and I have always been interested in her writing. I am so glad that I gave her a try because these books were stunning. I have only read two of her books but am I totally reading her other books. Her books had such a great plot and the adventures that went into the book was spectacular.

I don’t think that there are that many people have read her books but you totally should. The books are thought out well and you can tell that Lindsay knows what she is doing. I do have to say that there are times in her books that I really didn’t enjoy reading, but that happens in most books I read. The characters in the books are so relatable, even if they go through things that we don’t have to go through in our life. The characters are so lovable and makes you fall in love with them. 

I really want to read her other books, which I am really excited about. I am really excited to get my hands on Zenith, which I am hoping that will be really soon! If you haven’t check Lindsay Cummings out before, I recommend you really do.

One thing I really like about Lindsay is how active she is with her fans. She is always interacting with them on Twitter and Instagram. She likes photos and she is retweeting stuff that her fans are doing. I know, most authors do that but Lindsay is always doing it. While I was reading The Murder Complex, I went and tweeted about my process. I think every time I tweeted something, she would either like, retweet, or reply back to me. I would love to get the chance to meet Lindsay one day and I hope that it will come true. There are so many authors that I really want to meet and Lindsay Cummings is one of them!

Have you read any of Lindsay Cummings books? What do you think about her writing? What is your favorite book by her? Who is your favorite author? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

