Pretty Little Liars (Season 1) | Show Review

This is gonna sound really weird but I have watched Season 7A of Pretty Little Liars but I have yet to watch any of the other seasons. I know how weird it sounds. I used to think that this show made no sense and had true meaning behind it. I was also pretty creep out because of the whole doll situation on the books and all. Anyway, that’s besides the point. I watched some episode in Season 6 because of a movie trailer or something and I had no clue when it would be on so I watched the whole thing. I don’t know what happened exactly in the episode but I was intrigued to find out more. I watched most of Season 7A but I was still lost. We got Netflix at our house the other day (FINALLY!) and I was trying to find something to watch. I saw Pretty Little Liars pop up and I thought I would give it a go. I have the first eight books in the series sitting on my bookshelf, which I am planning on reading soon so I thought why not. If I don’t like it, I can stop. I CAN’T STOP! I CAN NEVER TURN BACK NOW. IT ALL IS STARTING TO MAKE SENSE! Enough with the cap lock and me going on and on, but let’s get started on Season 1’s review! By the way, A called and is warning you about the spoilers because they don’t want to hurt you.

Image result for pretty little liars season 1

Title: Pretty Little Liars

Created By: I. Marlene King

Network: ABC Family

Aired: June 8, 2010 – March 21, 2011

Run Time: 43 Minutes

Four friends band together against an anonymous foe who threatens to reveal their darkest secrets, while unraveling the mystery of the murder of their best friend.
The Book That Started It All:

Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars, #1)

Title: Pretty Little Liars

Author: Sara Shepard

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Released: October 1, 2006

Pages: 286 (Hardback)

Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? A strong launch for a suspenseful series.
The Cast:

Image result for pretty little liars season 1 cast

Troian Bellisario as Spencer Hastings
Ashley Benson as Hanna Marin
Holly Marie Combs as Ella Montgomery
Lucy Hale as Aria Montgomery
Ian Harding as Ezra Fitz
Bianca Lawson as Maya St. Germain1
Laura Leighton as Ashley Marin
Chad Lowe as Byron Montgomery
Shay Mitchell as Emily Fields
Nia Peeples as Pam Fields
Sasha Pieterse as Alison DiLaurentis
Keegan Allen as Toby Cavanaugh
Tammin Sursok as Jenna Marshall
Janel Parrish as Mona Vanderwaal
Ryan Merriman as Ian Thomas
Tyler Blackburn as Caleb Rivers
Brendan Robinson as Lucas Gottesman
Brant Daugherty as Noel Kahn
Parker Bagley as Jason DiLaurentis

My Review:

It is pretty weird to sit, well, lay in my bed, and see all these people when they were in the first season. Seriously. Like Caleb and Toby look SO much better in season 7 than one. Like, what is that mop of Caleb (Tyler Blackburn) on his head? Please explain that to me. But, why does Hanna, Spencer, Aria and Emily look exactly the same? But those are my observation and it was something that stood out to me the most.

The relationship between Ezra and Aria was beautiful. Just beautiful. I don’t know if it is just me or not but I get butterflies when these two are together. There is that age difference but how can that get in the way of true love? I love that one part in the season where Aria is Ezra’s stage manager and they were at the rehearse and she goes and calls him Ezra instead of Mr. Fitz. I’m laying in my bed, laughing because you could go and tell a few people notice but not a lot. Aria can always blame it on her dad because he did go and have a beer or two that episode. But it was almost like Ezra and Aria are made for each other. And I love the fact that the show doesn’t leave out the juicy parts of the relationship. The two have to hide their relationship since he is her teacher. They have the jealousy between past relationships or when Aria got close to Noel when her and Ezra were on a break. This might be one of my favorite on screen relationships of all time.

I felt like I could relate to each one of the girls through the show. My parents expect me to try to be the best in everything do. I should never go the easy route. Hands down, that has to go with Spencer. My friends always come to me when they have a problem because they know I will be there and see the bright side in the problem. I also think that you have to be proven guilty before you are even thought of to be a criminal. That to me in Emily. Aria is the glue to the family, the one that is always trying to fix the problems. Whenever there is a situation with my sisters, I’m the one that fix it. I have to keep my mom straight. Any time my dad goes to the store, I’m adult supervision. Without me, they would be lost. Hanna though, Hanna seems to get what she wants when she wants it. With my parents, I have to ask once and they typically buy it for me. My sisters on the other hand, nope.

Alison drives me nuts. I can’t stand Alison. I understand that she made the girls into what they are today but Alison was rude and annoying. She always had something to say, always acted like an instigator, and was always doing these things in private. Never telling anyone else what she is doing. Alison took credit whenever she could for stuff she never really did. Alison always had to be in the center of attention as well. Alison is just way too messed up for me and I hope that for whatever notion, she changes when she returns or whatever she is doing.

Even though these are not real people, I almost feel bad for Toby. Toby doesn’t seem like he would hurt Alison, seeing that he is the one that is helping the girls find out who did. Toby had to deal with all this Jenna stuff – taking credit for the fire that blinded her, and having a relationship with her as well (which is totally disgusting). For a while I thought that he was going to get together with Emily but, that never happened since Emily came out and said that she was gay. Then he actually gets together with Spencer and I could watch them all day. The way he wants to protect her. The way that he watches her. The way that they slept together the one night when trying to get into room 214 at the motel. Hands down, my favorite Spencer and Toby moment. Toby is one of the sweetest guys on the whole entire show and I just want to give him a big hug.

There were some of the most amazing action scenes in this season that really raises the bar for some better ones in the coming seasons. We have the part where Hanna gets hit by A in a car. Alison’s whole murder/plan/secret/escape/whatever. Caleb and Hanna’s whole outdoor sex scene. Paige trying to drown Emily during swim practice. Hanna slapping Jenna (which she actually deserved). The whole Ian and Spencer scene in the season finale. Spencer and Melissa getting hit by a car.

I get this weird feeling about this baby with Melissa and Ian. I don’t know. Something doesn’t feel right. If they got married in one of the beginning episodes, she really should only be about, no more than 15 weeks along but she is acting like to she is 30 weeks or something. I get this feeling like she isn’t really pregnant or this accident was planned to make up an excuse of why she isn’t pregnant anymore. OR, she got pregnant with someone else’s baby but is claiming it is Ian. I don’t know. Melissa and kids? Don’t see it. Ian with kids? Don’t even get me started on him.

I knew Ian was trouble when he came into the plot for the first time. He had some sort of vibe to him I really didn’t like. He was secretive and was always around when Spencer was in trouble. Yah, Spencer and Ian did have their moment to shine but they are over. Why not leave her alone. But, Ian admits to Spencer he had something to do with Alison, and there is the video. Ian tries to kill Spencer right after she gets into the accident. The whole thing was petty terrifying, even though I knew that she was going to leave. Now, the show has me thinking who “A” really could be. I thought it was Ian at first but I’m actually aiming towards Mona since I really don’t like her either. She is always in other people’s business and trying to get people to like her. Mona is way too preppy for me as well. She really is annoying as well. Something is telling me that Mona and Alison where actually friends and set the whole entire thing up. But, you never know on this show! What if it is Melissa? She was the one that told Spencer to come pick her up at the church when she did. But how did she manage to save Spencer and kill/take Ian?

I’m excited to see what season 2 brings and I really do hope that this hair issue that I spoke about earlier gets fixed in the first few episodes. I’m getting really tired of waiting for it to change.

Have you watched Pretty Little Liars? What are your thoughts on it? Have you read the books? How different are the books to the show? Who is your favorite actor or actress? Current favorite TV Show? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

