The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) | Book Review

I have over 100 books that I own that I have not read before and that’s a problem. My parents think I read all of the books on my shelves before I go and buy other ones. Well, surprise mom and dad. I don’t!

Anyway, The Murder Complex was one of those books that have been sitting on the shelf forever. I finally picked it up, after debating about reading that one or another book and I’m actually happy I picked it up when I did. Compared to most of the books that I read, this one was actually pretty good. So, let’s get on with the SPOILERS within the review!

The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)

Title: The Murder Complex

Author: Lindsay Cummings

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Released: June 10, 2014

Pages: 398 (Hardback)

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.
Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.
The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?
Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

Image result for lindsay cummings

About the Author: Lindsay Cummings is the #1 NYT Bestselling co-author of ZENITH. She writes Science Fiction and Fantasy novels for HarperCollins. She lives in the woods in North Texas, where she writes full time. She is represented by Peter Knapp at New Leaf Literary. As someone who came to writing through years dealing with Chronic Fatigue, Lindsay is a big advocate for those who deal with health issues, both physical and mental. If you are struggling with either of these things, Lindsay encourages you to keep your chin up, and remember how important you are to this world—even when it may not seem so. If you or someone you know or love is struggling, please reach out. Lindsay does not write Christian Fiction, but she is a big believer in Jesus Christ, and believes He is the reason for all her success!

My Review:

I went into this book without any prior knowledge on what is going on in this book. I heard about this book through Sasha Alsberg on Youtube and I was curious about what was going on. I had some money with me when I went to Books-A-Million a few months ago, and I bought the book. I finally picked it up and I read the book and it was a lot better than what I thought it would be. Overall, I would have to give this book a 4.75 out of 5.

I love the fact that it was being told by two different people – Meadow and Zephyr. Two people that had nothing in common at first. Meadow has been trained to survive and Zephyr is designed to kill. The thing is, Zephry doesn’t remember going around and killing them. He sometimes have these dreams that he sees these people but he thinks they are just dreams.

From the very first page, I knew that these two people would somehow get together. The thing was, how are they going to get together. From the very first time they met (when Meadow offered to give her blood to save Zephyr), I knew that they were somehow going to get together. Meadow and Zephyr keeps going the same direction and kept believing in the same thing. They also want to know what the Murder Complex is after Zephyr almost killed her in front of her house.

I love the relationships throughout the book but Meadow and Peri had to be my favorite. Peri doesn’t really know her birth mother so Meadow is the closest thing to a mother she has. Peri was so young and for a girl her age, she was pretty smart. Meadow was willing to risk her life for her siblings – even her older brother, even if he was very controlling. Peri and Meadow have this bond that no one else could compare to. Also, the relationship between Meadow and Zephyr was outstanding. The fact that these two wanted nothing to do with each other at the beginning of the book and by the end they were making out and they were in love was amazing. Lindsay Cummings had a way to pull me into the relationship, show me how the relationship developed and everything in between, was amazing.

One thing I really didn’t care for was the fact that Meadow’s mother didn’t play a bigger part in the book. Yes, her mother was the person who started the Murder Complex but you really don’t find that out till the middle of the book when Meadow and Zephyr are running for their life. Yes, the two of them find Meadow’s mom in the Murder Complex and she reveals that Meadow is the Protector of the whole system but she really isn’t much more mentioned then that.

This will sound weird to say but my favorite scene from the whole entire book was towards the end when Meadow was willing to die to stop the system. Meadow found out that as long as she lives, the system will be working. As soon as she is dead, it is destroyed. She goes and tells Zephyr to go ahead and shoot her because she was ready to die for this. Something about the emotion during the scene was outstanding and it might have made me cry some. I did not want to put the book down after that.

This book had about every element that a good book needs to have. It had love, hatred, adventure, family, complications, and torture. This book was different from all the other books that I have read before and I’m excited to read the next book in the series.

Action packed, thrilling, and such a page turner, fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Legend will enjoy the ride of reading this book.

The Sequel:

The Death Code (The Murder Complex, #2)

Title: The Death Code

Author: Lindsay Cummings

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Released: May 26, 2015

Pages: 496 (Hardback)

With short, fast-paced, alternating point-of-view chapters, The Death Code starts several weeks after The Murder Complex ended. Zephyr keeps the secret about Meadow close—that if she dies, The Murder Complex will be destroyed, too. Meadow, desperate to find her brother, father, and little sister, is determined to fearlessly fight to the end, even if it means sacrificing herself and her friends, new and old. The Death Code introduces a memorable cast of secondary characters and delivers a vivid and scary thrill ride read.
Have you read this book before? What did you think about it? Do you want to read this book? What are you currently reading and how do you think about it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
 
 Happy Reading,
unnamed
One thought on “The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) | Book Review

Leave a Reply

