Best of 2016 – YA Standalones, Series, Authors, and More

Calm down everyone! I know that it is the second day on January but who really cares! I was planning on having a January Anticipated Book Release post but there really wasn’t that many books that excited me to write a post about. But I was tagged by the amazing Eve @ Eve Messenger to participate in the Best of 2016 – YA Standalones, Series, Authors, and More so why not do it now! Make sure you go and check out Eve because she is amazing! You will never get bored over there!

Favorite New Author

Catherine Clark. I actually read two of her books back to back and they were amazing. Her writing is so light and easy to read. I would highly recommend this book to any Sarah Dessen or Morgan Matson fan.

Favorite Series

This has to go to Sarah J. Maas A Court of Thorns and Roses. I read the first book in the series a while ago and I really didn’t know what I thought about it. I read it just to say I read it. But the second time through, I loved it. This has to be my favorite series ever!

Books So Fun They Felt Like Reading Parties

Everything Everything by: Nicola Yoon

Empire of Storms by: Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury by: Sarah J. Maas

Lady Midnight by: Cassandra Clare

Best World-Building

Every Last Word by: Tamera Ireland Stone

The Murder Complex by: Lindsay Cummings

Throne of Glass by: Sarah J. Maas

Favorite Indie Series

I don’t think I read any Indie series. If I did, I don’t know it!

Best Female Protagonist

Louisa Clark from Me Before You by: Jojo Moyes

Best Male Protagonist

Simon Lewis from Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy by: Cassandra Clare

Favorite Plot Twist

The Kite Runner by: Khaled Hosseini

Best Cover

The Sun Is Also a Star

The Sun Is Also A Star by: Nicola Yoon has one of my favorite covers of all time!

Most Devastating Read

Night by: Elie Wiesel

Favorite Audiobook

Didn’t listen to any audiobooks this year!

Best Small Press Standalone

Picture Perfect by: Catherine Clark

The #1 Book No One Else Seems to Like But Me

Lady Renegades by: Rachel Hawkins

I know that this was a quick, short tag but I really enjoyed doing this tag! And since 2016 has said its goodbyes, anyone who really wants to do can feel free to do it.

What are you excited to do in 2017? Do you think 2017 will be better than 2016? What book release are you looking forward to this month? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

9 thoughts on “Best of 2016 – YA Standalones, Series, Authors, and More

  1. Everybody loves Lady Midnight so much–please tell me what makes this book so great. I am curious! Even though I was a little disappointed in The Kite Runner, I have to say that plot twist was incredible. Omigosh, yes, I second (third?) the opinion that Night is the most devastating read ever. I read it long ago, and it still haunts me.

    I’m about 10 pages from being done with ACOTAR and am not 100% sure yet what my opinion is, but I love Feyre’s resourcefulness and am blushing at how spicy some of the love scenes get, whoah.

    Like

    1. I think the reason I really liked Lady Midnight is the fact that yes, it does repeat some of the same stuff but it actually included something I was learning at the time so I can relate it to a good time. Also, I just really, really, really like Cassandra Clare’s writing. I never expected that plot twist in The Kite Runner in a million years. I almost cried but at the same time no I didn’t. That makes sense, right? 🙂 I did cry in Night because it absolutely broke my heart with everything Elie had to go through. Have you read the other books that he has written? I have the other ones sitting on my shelf, waiting for me to read them.
      Those loves scenes are something, aren’t they. Trust me, when you start ACOMAF, they might get a little more passionate! Hope you enjoy the ending of ACOTAR! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I couldn’t believe the ending of ACOTAR! I got to like Feyre so much that I was kind of resistant to seeing her change like that, but I’m willing to see what happens in the next book. Wait. . . MORE passionate?!

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Oh yes. And it will come in the first 30 pages of ACOMAF. It’s very passionate. Trust me, there’s some interesting things that happened in the next book that will make you throw it against the wall and but then the next page want to cry.

          Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

