The Christmas Wedding: Book Review

Since Christmas just passed, I was in the mood to read a Christmas themed book because, why not? I have had this book on my shelf for about ten million years because I have never had time to read this book but I finally picked it up and I read it. I’m not really a big fan of James Patterson’s but I quite enjoyed reading this book of his. Just beware of spoilers because they have arrived!

60702336cb300538b90f7716c1e371c0

Title: The Christmas Wedding

Authors: James Patterson and Richard DiLallo

Publisher: Little, Brown and Company

Released: October 17, 2011

Pages: 266 (Hardback)

The tree is decorated, the cookies are baked, and the packages are wrapped, but the biggest celebration this Christmas is Gaby Summerhill’s wedding. Since her husband died three years ago, Gaby’s four children have drifted apart, each consumed by the turbulence of their own lives. They haven’t celebrated Christmas together since their father’s death, but when Gaby announces that she’s getting married–and that the groom will remain a secret until the wedding day–she may finally be able to bring them home for the holidays.

But the wedding isn’t Gaby’s only surprise–she has one more gift for her children, and it could change all their lives forever. With deeply affecting characters and the emotional twists of a James Patterson thriller, The Christmas Wedding is a fresh look at family and the magic of the season.

About the Authors:

Image result for james patterson

James Patterson is an American author. He is largely known for his novels about fictional psychologist Alex Cross, the protagonist of the Alex Cross series. Patterson also wrote the Michael Bennett, Women’s Murder Club, Maximum Ride, Daniel X, NYPD Red, and Witch and Wizard series, as well as many stand-alone thrillers, non-fiction and romance novels. His books have sold more than 300 million copies and he holds the Guinness World Record for being the first person to sell 1 million e-books. In 2016, Patterson topped Forbes’s list of highest-paid authors for the third consecutive year, earning $95 million. His total earnings over a decade are estimated at approximately $700 million.

Richard DiLallo is the co-author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Alex Cross’s Trial. He has had articles published in Glamour, Brides, and America. He is former executive vice president and executive creative director of DDB Worldwide.

My Review:

Like I said earlier, I am not a big fan of James Patterson. I feel like he writes way too many books – which leads me to my theory that he truly doesn’t write his own books but that is only my own thoughts. But, I really didn’t go into the book with that high of expectations because of these thoughts but I enjoyed it more than what I thought I would. The book still wasn’t my favorite but I at least have to give it a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

When I started the book, I actually thought that I have read the book before but as I got through the book, I just didn’t remember anything. The book seemed really slow to me. To me, it really didn’t have the excitement that I thought a book that took place during Christmas should have. Christmas is the time for fun and laughter but it really wasn’t the whole point of the book.

I loved the idea of the book. The fact that this mom is throwing a wedding and marrying one of 4 guys and she is the only one who knows who is something I really enjoyed. I enjoyed getting to meet all of these guys. By the middle of the book, I knew exactly who she was going to pick because she talked about him ALL THE TIME.

I also really liked the fact that this wedding was going to be the thing that brings the family back together. Gaby and her four kids haven’t had a Christmas together since her husband passed away. These kids aren’t just like normal book kids. Most kids in books have these really interesting lives and in this book, they had normal people problems. I really enjoyed the fact that they took the time to add things like that to the book.

I grew bored during the scenes that were entitled, “Gaby’s Videos.” I liked the fact that she was doing something interesting like videos to the family but a phone call would have been more interesting to read. The videos had no excitement. I liked one of the stories that were in the stories, which happens to be the one where Gaby takes Marty to her class at school and she has him talk about books. When a man talks about books, what could be better? Other than that, I really didn’t care for them.

I also really didn’t care for how the book switched from third person point of view to first person (Gaby’s) in half the book. I quite enjoyed reading Gaby’s perspective because it allowed me to see what she truly thought about the whole situation. I loved knowing about everything that she was worrying about right before the wedding. I loved the fact that she was brave enough to go out, running after two of her grandchildren when she saw them going into the woods.

If I was Gaby, I would have chased after them kids also. The one, Gus, has been in trouble for drugs many times before. He has been kicked out of his public school and was directed to another secondary school. He was at risk of being kicked out of the other one. Gus was taking his 8 year old cousin out into the woods to go and smoke a joint. Why. Just why.

ALMOST EVERYONE IN THIS BOOK WAS SELF CENTERED. That was so important and stood out to me the most that it needs to be in all caps. Gaby didn’t want anything to ruin her day. Is something didn’t go her way, she would say something about it. All these characters never wanted to do anything for other people. There was the one case where Emily was at the Christmas party and she was not worried about anything. She just knew that she was going to be a partner. Guess what? She was never named Partner in her company.

This book did fill my want for a Christmas book. I wanted something different and this was just it. The book was a really quick and light read, which I really enjoyed. The book deals with problems that people have to really go through in their daily lives including abusive and drug/drinking addicts, death in the family, medical issues, and family that lives way too far away from each other. The book was a little predictive but that might just be me as well.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts on James Patterson? Do you like reading books like that? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

One thought on “The Christmas Wedding: Book Review

Leave a Reply

