The Christmas Tag!

Merry Christmas!

The day has arrived and it is finally Christmas. The day we all have been waiting for all year. What you should be doing is hanging out with your family but I get it. Sometimes you need a break from them. I thought that it would be fun to do this tag today because, duh, it’s Christmas! I also saw this tag on Aoife over at Pretty Purple Polka Dots so make sure you check out her blog!

What is your earliest Christmas memory?

It would have to be 2004, so I would be about 4. I have no clue why I remember this but I remember unwrapping one of my aunt’s presents (who was living out of state) and looking to my mom in awe because not only did I get the chance to unwrap the brown wrapping, but the actual wrapping paper as well. Yep, that happened.

What one toy/gift can you remember throughout all your Christmases?

Um, it would have to be a Little People baby doll I got when I was about 3. How am I remembering all this stuff from such an early age!? But it had yellow hair and I think it had overalls on. I’m pretty sure it looked like, but I could be totally wrong.

What do you/your family usually do to celebrate Christmas?

We typically wake up about 7 am to go out to the living room to opening the gift my parents and cousins sent us. After we open the gifts and the living room is a mess, I clean up the living room and my mom makes Cinnamon Rolls with this Cream Cheese Spread which is delicious. At about noon, we head over to my Grandmother’s house for more gift unwrapping, watching the Christmas parade (which is a must!) and eating Christmas dinner.

How many days before Christmas does your decorating start? 

Quite honestly, we don’t have a certain date. It changed every single year. This year, we decorated on November 25th. I’m tired of seeing Christmas decorations.

What is on your favorite Christmas menu?

Now I am really hungry! But, it would have to be a honey ham with this amazing glaze on it, mashed potatoes that my Grandmother can only make, corn, baked mac and cheese, and stuffing. We would have this drink that we call Christmas Punch which is a mixture of some juice, frozen sherbet and Ginger Ale. It’s amazing.

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

I briefly remember in, I think, 2008 had a White Christmas. My Grandmother’s sisters were supposed to fly in but their flights got cancelled on Christmas Eve because of snow. I think this is the same Christmas that it actually snowed on Christmas. Most of the snow we get though is brown and not really pretty.

What traditions will you continue on with your family (or future family)?

There are actually a couple that I want to continue with my future family and actually do one that my mom wanted to do with us but she never continued.

  1. Get an ornament for each of my kids every year to represent something in their life that year. For example, if they started to play the flute during 6th grade, I would get them a flute ornament the Christmas of their 6th grade year.
  2. Christmas Punch – I love making it with my Grandmother and sisters so I would love to have my kids do it with my mom.
  3. Making Sandwiches with my family – I explained this one before, but if you don’t know, here you go! Every year, my family makes these sandwiches that have been in the family for over 50 years. There is a certain type of brand of bread and cream cheese, etc.
Can you name Santa’s reindeer’s names? (Without Googling??)

I can try. Let’s see how well we go with this:

Dasher, Dancer, Pancer, Vixon, Comet, Cupid, Donnor, Blitzen, and Rudolph

No lie, but that just took me five minutes because I was over here singing the intro of Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer.

It’s 5am on Christmas morning. Where can you be found?

I should be in bed but I highly doubt that. My sisters wake up really early that day and decides to go into the living room and watch Christmas movies with the Christmas lights on. It would be totally with me if I had their bedroom because where my room is, you cans see all the lights and hear the TV broad as daylight.

Did you ever sneak a peak at your Christmas presents when you were younger or now? 

Actually, I don’t have to. My mom typically takes me shopping with her when she buys my sister’s gift so I know most of what she is getting me. A few years ago though, I used to miss school on purpose right before Christmas so I can sit in my parent’s room and unwrap all the gifts to see what they are. I would wrap them all up again and put them back exactly as they were.

What would you love to get this year for Christmas?

I really didn’t ask for that much for Christmas but I would love to see The Hamilton Soundtrack, a new set of bed sheets, and a few dresses.

What does Christmas mean to you?

Christmas is about being surrounded with the people you love, having fun and caring about each other. It isn’t about the gifts. It is about forgetting about your problems and relaxing.

What is your favorite Christmas film?

I love the Home Alone movies. These movies make me feel like Christmas is here and I love watching them. It is hilarious and makes me think and kinds of things.

What tops your tree?

A pink angel that lights up that was passed on from my grandmother. We really need to get a new one since it is falling apart and all but it has been with us for so long.

As a kid what was the one (crazy, wild, extravagant) gift you always asked for but never received?

When cell phones started to get popular and more and more people had them, I begged my parents for one all the time. I put it on my list four or five times and I never got one. It wasn’t until my 9th grade year that I got one. It is better than having to wait until last month (my parents wanted to get us phones for our 16 birthday but that isn’t happening any more!).

Where do you usually spend your holiday?

Like I said earlier, in the morning at our house. In the afternoon at my Grandmother’s house.

What is your favorite Christmas song?

Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s Christmas Eve/Saravejo 12/24. I love this song so much!

Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

In the years passed, yes we have. Typically, my sisters and I ask our parents to pick one gift out that we can open on Christmas Eve. Usually it is a smaller gift, that they really didn’t care we knew about. This year though, we opened one gift that we got from one sister, or the gift we got our own self (like I did). Yes, I buy myself a Christmas gift. Don’t judge me.

Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

Fake. We used to have a real tree until about 5 years ago, when we moved. We used to put the tree in my room because it was the playroom. I started to sleep in there and it moved out to the living room. When we did that, we started to use a fake tree. We actually just bought a new tree this year.

What is your all-time favorite holiday food/sweet treat?

I love me stuffing. Give me a big bowl of stuffing and I would love you forever.

Be honest: do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

I love to give gifts. I love going out and buying presents that I personally go and pick out for the person. I love wrapping up the gifts and then giving them the gifts. The looks on their faces are the best thing in the whole world.

What is the best Christmas gift you’ve ever received?

I received a $200 gift card to Barnes and Nobles. You guys have no idea how much I wanted to go to Barnes and Noble after that. I love going to Barnes and Nobles after Christmas!

What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

Disney World. I would love to be able to go there and see the castle all lit up. I watch when Disney lights up the castles around the world and it is so beautiful. I would love to b able to go there and watch them light them up in person.

Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

I am a pro-present wrapper. I love to wrap gifts. I have been wrapping gifts since I was about 8 or 9. I wrap all the gifts for my Grandmother, mom, dad, aunt, etc. I actually wrap both of my sisters gifts they get us all for Christmas because their wrapping is sad. They sit there in my room, telling me how they want it and what they want on it and I do it.

Do you make New Years resolutions? Do you stick to them?

No and no. I tried to before but they never end up working out. I make goals for the week and that seems to work, for the most time. Making goals for the whole year makes me freaked out and I typically forget them.

Favorite Christmas scent?

Peppermint. I love the smell of peppermint. Peppermint just reminds me that Christmas is here and I need to get a cup of hot chocolate. Yep, it really makes me want a cup of hot chocolate.

What holiday traditions are you looking forward to most this year?

Making the sandwiches, making the Christmas punch, watching my family unwrap their gifts, being the family photographer, and playing with my aunt’s dog. I am so excited for today!

I hope you all have a great Christmas! Go and spend sometime with your family, call your loved ones, tell them you love them.

What was your favorite thing you got for Christmas? What is your favorite thing you did on Christmas? What are some of your family’s Christmas traditions? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Merry Christmas,
unnamed

2 thoughts on “The Christmas Tag!

  1. Hey Ann!
    First of all, I love this tag. Would you mind if I used the tag too?
    My favorite gift was definitely The Bell Jar my mom got me. I wanted one for ages, because I could use it for my photography stuff. My favorite thing I did this Christmas is giving my grandma a lot of presents. She is always there for me when I need her and she definitely deserves a lot of gifts. We don’t really have a lot of Christmas traditions. The only thing we do every year is eat a lot of Chinese food on the 25th with the family!
    Loves,
    Anne

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Consider yourself tagged! It’s the season of joy and kindness. Plus, who doesn’t love a good tag!
    I love giving gifts to the ones I love. They help me and support me in everything I want to do in my life so giving them gifts is how I repay them – even it is the stupidest thing, like a hat.
    Chinese Food has to be one of my favorite foods in the whole world! I don’t know why but it is my favorite. Eating is considered a tradition, right? Because if it is, our tradition would have to be EAT EVERYTHING YOU CAN THINK OF!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

