The Santa Clause: Spoiler Free Movie Review

The Christmas Movies have been rolling non-stop at our house, along with some Glee on the side for my sister. I just learned the other day that I am like the only person on Earth that has never seen the movie, The Santa Clause. Because of this, my sisters and I sat down and watched the movie. With all the talk my sister did about this movie, I thought it would be better than what it was.

Image result for the santa clause

Title: The Santa Clause

Director: John Pasquin

Distributed By: Buena Vista Pictures

Released: November 11, 1994

Run Time: 97 Minutes

Divorcee Scott Calvin is disgusted to learn that his ex and her husband have tried – and failed – to break it easy to their 6-year-old son Charlie that Santa isn’t real. On Christmas Eve, Scott reads The Night Before Christmas… then receives an unexpected visitor on his roof. When he’s startled by Scott’s calling out and falls, the Santa impersonator disappears, leaving only an 8-reindeer sleigh and a suit with instructions to put it on if he’s involved in an accident. Scott does, and is transported around the town dropping gifts through chimneys until he’s taken to the North Pole and informed by a group who claim they’re elves that he is now Santa. Charlie is proud of his dad’s new job, though Scott’s convinced it’s a dream. Until his hair turns white, his beard refuses to stay shaved, he gains weight inexplicably, even for his sudden love of junk food… Now he’s accepted it, there’s just one problem: how to keep it secret from his disbelieving family?
Trailer:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t067u2Jnks0

The Cast:
  • Tim Allen as Scott Calvin
  • Eric Lloyd as Charlie Calvin
  • Judge Reinhold as Dr. Neal Miller
  • Wendy Crewson as Laura Miller
  • David Krumholtz as Bernard the Elf
  • Paige Tamada as Judy the Elf
  • Peter Boyle as Mr. Whittle
  • Larry Brandenburg as Detective Nunzio
  • Jayne Eastwood as Judy the Waitress
  • Kenny Vadas as the E.L.F.S. Leader
  • Chris Benson as Fireman O’Hara
My Review:

My sister told me this was one of her favorite Christmas movies in the world. She typically isn’t wrong about this kind of stuff but this is one of the cases that she was wrong. The movie wasn’t bad and all but I have just seen better movies.

The movie was actually pretty slow in the beginning and throughout the whole entire movie. I was actually pretty close to giving up on the movie but something was telling me to tough it out. I was really confused if there was some big time jump from one Christmas to another.

I really enjoyed the plot of the movie and the idea of the movie. The fact that Scott became Santa Claus after the previous Santa fell off his roof and he put it on was amazing. I would have loved to see more of Scott dealing with the problem, rather than in one hour or so. I felt like the movie was directed more towards kids that are 10 and under, which I really didn’t like. Maybe if the movie was towards teenager I would have enjoyed it a little more but it wasn’t.

The cast of the movie really wasn’t my favorite. I really enjoy Tim Allen. He has to be one of my favorite actors in the whole world. The rest of the cast was okay. I felt like the cast wasn’t fitting for the plot and everything. Especially Wendy Crewson, who played Scott’s ex-wife and Charlie’s mom, was terrible. She really didn’t fit the role of his mom – maybe because she looked a lot older than what I imagined her.

Overall, I would have to give this movie a 3.5 out of 5. I enjoyed parts of it, like one of the closing scenes, but I really didn’t care about the movie that much. I really don’t have that much desire to watch the other movies in the series right away but if they were on, I might watch them.

If you enjoyed Home Alone or Elf, this is your type of movie. You’ll find yourself some of the most hilarious lines you have ever heard and learn what Christmas means to different people. Find out what it would be like if you were to become Santa Clause. Dive into a world you never knew existed.

Don’t think that I don’t like the movie because it was shot in 1994 and that I am used to movies in today’s society. I watch a lot of movies that was shot in the earlier days and I seem to enjoy those movies more than the ones these days.

The Sequel:

Image result for the seanta clause 2

Title: The Santa Clause 2

Director: Michael Lembeck

Distributed By: Buena Vista Pictures

Released: November 1, 2002

Run Time: 104 Minutes

Scott Calvin has been Santa Claus for the past eight years, and his loyal elves consider him the best Santa ever. But Santa’s got problems–he’s even mysteriously losing weight–and things quickly go south when he finds out that his son, Charlie, has landed on this year’s “naughty” list. Desperate to help his son, Scott heads back home, leaving a substitute Claus to watch over things at the Pole. But when the substitute institutes some strange redefinitions of naughty and nice–putting Christmas at risk–it’s up to Scott to return with a new bag of magic to try to save Christmas.

Have you seen this movie? What did you think about it? What is your favorite Christmas movie? How did you see Santa to you when you were going up? Were you one of the kids that had to get a picture with Santa every year? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

5 thoughts on “The Santa Clause: Spoiler Free Movie Review

  1. It’s a shame that you didn’t enjoy it! The Santa Clause is one of my favorites – it’s a staple, along with Home Alone, Jingle All The Way, Die Hard, The Addams Family etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Home Alone way too much! It has to be one of my favorite movies of all time. My sisters and mom think that it is a little weird that I didn’t like The Santa Clause. I don’t know, I just didn’t like the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Me too, it’s wonderful anytime of the year! Haha, it’s no problem with that, we’re all not gonna love the same things – life would be boring if that were true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

