Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy: Book Review

Cassandra Clare has released another book and of course I had to read it. This time, it was about one of the characters I really didn’t care for though. But somehow, Simon Lewis changed my mind. If you haven’t read the Mortal Instruments, the Infernal Devices, and Lady Midnight, beware of spoilers!

Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

Title: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

Authors: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Release: November 15, 2016

Pages: 672 (Hardback)

The New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling collection of short stories chronicling the adventures of Simon Lewis as he trains to become a Shadowhunter is now available in print for the first time with ten brand-new comic illustrations!
Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. The events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. Whomever this new Simon might be.
But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. At least Simon’s trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.
Join Simon on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. Written by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman, these moving and hilarious short stories are perfect for the fan who just can’t get enough of the Shadowhunters.

About the Authors:

Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare was born overseas and spent her early years traveling around the world with her family and several trunks of fantasy books. Cassandra worked for several years as an entertainment journalist for the Hollywood Reporter before turning her attention to fiction. She is the author of City of Bones, the first book in the Mortal Instruments trilogy and a New York Times bestseller. Cassandra lives with her fiance and their two cats in Massachusetts.

Sarah Rees Brennan

Sarah Rees Brennan is Irish and currently lives in Dublin. For a short stint, she lived in New York and became involved with a wide circle of writers who encouraged and supported her, including Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. She has developed a wide audience through her popular blog, mistful.livejournal.com, where she writes movie parodies, book reviews and some stories.

Image result for maureen johnson

Maureen Johnson knew from an early age she wanted to be a writer. She went to high school at an all-girls’ Catholic school and graduated from University of Delaware with a degree in writing. She now lives and writes in New York City.Many of the adventures Maureen’s characters face in her books are based on real-life stories. Maureen has traveled all over Europe, and is a Secret Sister to vlog brothers Hank and John Green.

Robin Wasserman

Robin Wasserman is the author of the novel GIRLS ON FIRE. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Tin House, The Los Angeles Review of Books, and several short story anthologies. A recent MacDowell Colony fellow, she is also the New York Times bestselling author of more than ten novels for young adults and teaches in the low-residency MFA program at Southern New Hampshire University.

My Review:

I really hoped that I would enjoy this book more than I did. I have loved every single book that Cassandra Clare had written and I loved The Bane Chronicles. It has to be one of my favorite books of all times. This book, it really never really lived up to what I thought it would.

I really don’t have a favorite short story in the book. They all had their good parts and bad parts to it. But one that was pretty close to being great has to go to Born to Endless Night, which includes Magnus and Alec receiving their child, Max. I have loved Max for a while, since Lady Midnight. I loved the fact that he was a warlock, like Magnus, and he is BLUE! The fact that Magnus and Alec named Max after Alec’s dead brother Max (let’s take a moment and cry for a second) kills me. Max was one of my favorite characters in City of Ashes before the whole accident. I can’t help but feel bad for Alec in the whole entire story because Alec felt like his brother Max never liked him at all. Max was into Izzy and Jace. He never wanted to do anything with Alec. My heart melted for Alec! But one other reason this has to be my favorite short story because, duh, Malec!

I read this book as soon as I finished The Throne of Glass Series by: Sarah J. Maas and I loved the books. The books were amazing and light and was one of the books that got me out of my reading slumps. I was sitting in the middle of class and I go and read the line:

“Me, with my memory wiped and by some kind of demon king”

– Page 143

Basically, I was there, in my desk in math, freaking out. I was so excited that somehow these books were being combined and then I turned the page.

There we have the characters from The Infernal Devices. Yes. Tessa Gray, William Herondale, Jem Carstairs, and all of their kids and all. I died. I wasn’t alive. I really didn’t have anyone to talk to about this because no one has read the books or hasn’t finished the series. Here I am, having a panic attack about the whole thing but I’m fine now. I thought that they would only show up in the one story but NOPE. They were all over the book. We learn more about Tobias Herondale, who has to be one of my favorite characters. I would love to get the chance to know more about him. Tobias was just so brave and amazing. He was loyal and this whole entire story about him, I wanted to go and give him a hug! Then we have Tessa and Will’s kids during the one war with the ghost killers and all. They have to put me in my mode and make me want to cry because they are bringing all these memories with the original Lightwoods. It also helps clarify some of the questions I have had for a while. Just amazing!

Jace and Clary. Magnus and Alec. Izzy and Simon. Emma and Julian. LOVE IS IN THE AIR! What other couple in the whole series is better than them? No one. Basically, they were made for each other. I hated the times that Izzy had to show up and surprise him because I always saw Simon doing that. But I guess since he was at the Academy, he really couldn’t do anything. I am still trying to figure out why Simon saw Jace when he drank the water and he was saying that Simon needs to remember when they met. Yes, Simon doesn’t have all of his memories yet but why?

George had to be my new character that was written into the plot. George was Simon’s “Shadowhunter Born” friend, who was adopted by Shadowhunters as a kid. Sadly, there will be no more George because they had to go and kill him. Of course they did. George reminded me a lot like Michael Wayland because of everything. George was weird and different. He was always trying to be liked by everyone and participating so people actually knew who he was. Instead of staying above grounds, he followed Simon to the slimy downstairs. George is one of the characters I wish that were real and one of my closet friends.

I hated the fact that we had to read so much about this disgusting food! Okay, I get it. The food was disgusting but you don’t need to tell me a million times. The only time that the food actually sounded good was when Simon was away from the Academy. Everything sounded good but there was so much talk about food! The only thing that sounded edible through the whole Academy was the pizza thing they had the night before the ceremony.

I also didn’t like the fact that all the speakers were people that Simon has met before but might not have remembered. I understand that Jace, Izzy, Robert, Helen, Magnus, etc are some of the best out there but why not have some more people from Lady Midnight, or make some new characters up? That might just be me as well. It also almost seemed like Jace and Simon were going to end up together. It sounded like Simon was hitting on Jace a few times. Is that supposed to be a sign in some sort of way Cassandra Clare? Is Simon going to become a LGBTQ (and any other letter I forgot because there always seems to be more) character? Even though Jon is ‘with’ someone, will Simon and Jon end up together because of how they acted together? It would have been George and Simon in my eyes but nope. Cassandra Clare and all her friends had to go and break that dream of mine.

Overall, I would have to give this book a 4 out of 5 stars. I enjoyed the way the book flowed and the writing of the whole book. I feel like I would rather have either Cassandra and the authors from The Bane Chronicles write this book or just Cassandra herself. We could have gone without a few pages since there was a lot of useless stuff writing in the book.

Have you read this book? Have you read anything by any of these authors? Do you plan to? What was your favorite story from the book? Who is your favorite Cassandra Clare character? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

2 thoughts on “Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy: Book Review

Leave a Reply

