Westworld: Season 1 Spoiler Free Review

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I am addicted to HBO’s newest show, Westworld. I had been trying to find a new show to watch on Sunday’s because there was nothing sticking out to me. Since my dad was in the same situation as I was, we tried everything. Some people he worked with talked about how Westworld might be better than Game of Thrones so we had to give it a try. Since I started it, I can’t stop. I love this show way too much! Unlike most reviews, spoilers have been removed because all of my emotions are not stable yet.

Image result for westworld tv show

Title: Westworld

Created By: Jonathan Nolan and Lisa Joy

Network: HBO

Run Time: 57 – 91 Minutes

Aired: October 2, 2016 – November 4, 2016

Westworld isn’t your typical amusement park. Intended for rich vacationers, the futuristic park — which is looked after by robotic “hosts” — allows its visitors to live out their fantasies through artificial consciousness. No matter how illicit the fantasy may be, there are no consequences for the park’s guests, allowing for any wish to be indulged. “Westworld” — which is based on the 1973 Michael Crichton movie of the same name — features an all-star cast that includes Oscar winner Anthony Hopkins and Golden Globe winner Ed Harris.
The Cast:
Related image
  • Evan Rachel Wood as Dolores Abernathy
  • Thandie Newton as Maeve Millay
  • Jeffrey Wright as Bernard Lowe
  • James Marsden as Teddy Flood
  • Ingrid Bolsø Berdal as Armistice
  • Luke Hemsworth as Ashley Stubbs
  • Sidse Babett Knudsen as Theresa Cullen
  • Simon Quarterman as Lee Sizemore
  • Rodrigo Santoro as Hector Escaton
  • Angela Sarafyan as Clementine Pennyfeather
    • Lili Simmons as the original Clementine
  • Shannon Woodward as Elsie Hughes
  • Ed Harris as the Man in Black
  • Jimmi Simpson as William
  • Anthony Hopkins as Robert Ford
  • Ben Barnes as Logan
  • Clifton Collins Jr. as Lawrence
  • Tessa Thompson as Charlotte Hale
The Original Movie:

Related image

Title: Westworld

Director: Michael Crichton

Released: November 21, 1973

Distributed By: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer

Run Time: 88 Minutes

Welcome to Westworld, where nothing can go wrong…go wrong…go wrong….Writer/director Michael Crichton has concocted a futuristic Disneyland for adults, a remote resort island where, for a hefty fee, one can indulge in one’s wildest fantasies. Businessmen James Brolin and Richard Benjamin are just crazy about the old west, thus they head to the section of Westworld populated by robot desperadoes, robot lawmen, robot dance-hall gals, and the like. Benjamin’s first inkling that something is amiss occurs when, during a mock showdown with robot gunslinger Yul Brynner, Brolin is shot and killed for real. It seems that the nerve center of Westworld has developed several serious technical glitches: the human staff is dead, and the robots are running amok. Suddenly promoted to the film’s hero, Benjamin (who seems as surprised and shocked as the audience) must first avoid, then face down the relentless Brynner. Much of Westworld was lensed on the expansive grounds of the old Harold Lloyd estate in Beverly Hills, so it’s no surprise that there’s something Lloydlike about Dick Benjamin’s instinct for self-preservation.
– Hal Erickson, All Movie Guide
My Review:

Congratulations to Westworlds. Thank you for making me literally insane, especially in the last few episodes. Never in a million years would I think that I would be left speechless after watching a TV Series. I thought my current favorite HBO show was True Blood but that might have changed after watching this show.

The first two or three episodes I watched of this show, I was really confused because I was trying to connect things already and I thought that it was the weirdest show in the world. I wasn’t sure that I would like the show or not. My dad was a few episodes in front of me and he kept telling me I need to get caught up.

Westworld is this world that Robert Ford has thought of that will allow him to alter characters stories. Through a process that makes these characters, who are known as host, indestructible, Ford creates their stories and how they will live their life. Regular people can come in and alter characters stories, like a character named Will. Teddy has been with Dolores for a while, until Will came around. You also follow Maeve, a Host, who has started to question everything in her life. Maeve tries to get into the headquarters to get the answers that she wants. Throughout the season, you try to get Dolores to the middle of the maze. Dolores has to go through difficult situations and meet some very dangerous people. Dolores wants to get in the middle of the maze and she wouldn’t like anything get in her way. 

Comparing this show to any other HBO show, Westworld has nothing different to it. You still have the killing, the sex, the love, and the nudity. Putting the show next to Game of Thrones, it might be a little more expressive with the whole thing but you have seen it all before.

You can tell how much the cast knows each other and how close they are. With this cast, the show brings out emotions that I’ve never felt about. The show is edited amazingly and has such a great sequence that I really enjoy. The show will pull you in and make you want to sit there and watch the whole entire season in one sitting.

 For fans of androids/robot humans, the future, and worlds that you can manipulate, this is a show for you. Game of Thrones fans should definitely give the show a try before they say anything about the show.  Even if you don’t like the first few episodes, give it to episode 5. You will want to know so many things after that!

What Happened on Twitter?

12052016

capture

westworld

For the final two episodes of the season, I decided that I would tweet during the whole thing. I don’t have that many followers in the first place so when I had millions of likes and retweets coming in, I had no idea that I would have a tweets like by Evan Rachel Wood and Westworld, and a tweet retweeted by Evan Rachel Wood. I literally lost it.

Have you watched Westworld? Do you enjoy it? What were your thoughts about the season finale? Can you wait until 2018 for Season 2? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

