A Madea Christmas: Movie Review

Since Christmas is coming, I decided that I would sit down and watch my first official Christmas movie of the season. I was flipping through the channels and I happen to notice A Madea Christmas was on so I turned it on. Overall, I thought the movie was okay. Not great but not terrible. Since I watched it, why not review it? Warning! You may run into spoilers throughout the review. Read at your own risk.

Image result for a madea christmas banner

Title: A Madea Christmas

Director: Tyler Perry

Distributed By: Loinsgate

Released: December 13, 2013

Run Time: 100 Minutes

Madea gets coaxed into helping a friend pay her daughter a surprise visit in the Christmas, but the biggest surprise is what they’ll find when they arrive. As the small, rural town prepares for its annual Christmas Jubilee, new secrets are revealed and old relationships are tested when Madea dishes her own brand of Christmas Spirit to all.

The Trailer:

The Cast:
  • Tyler Perry as Madea
  • Larry the Cable Guy as Buddy Williams
  • Kathy Najimy as Kim Williams
  • Chad Michael Murray as Tanner McCoy
  • Anna Maria Horsford as Eileen Murphy
  • Tika Sumpter as Lacey Williams
  • Eric Lively as Conner Williams
  • JR Lemon as Oliver
  • Alicia Witt as Amber
  • Lisa Whelchel as Nancy Porter
  • Noah Urrea as Bailey McCoy
  • Ashlee Heath as Audry
  • Caroline Kennedy as Lucy
  • Sweet Brown as herself
  • Antoine Dodson as YouTube guy
  • Jonathan Chase as Alfred
  • Vickie Eng as Customer #6
  • Daniel Mann as Austin
My Review:

I began this movie without knowing anything about the other Madea movies. I knew about Madea and I felt like I knew about her enough. Well, I really don’t think I made a good choice with doing that.

I actually really enjoyed Madea’s character. When I hear people talk about how hilarious she is and all, I always wondered how funny she truly was. Madea had me laughing through the whole entire movie. I loved the one scene where Lacey is in the meeting with all the people so Madea watches her class. Her story about the ‘nativity’ is hilarious and I sort of freaked out during the middle of it because they actually made a True Blood reference. Madea starts to talk about Mary J. Blige and Joe Maganiello had a baby. When she was talking about Joe Maganiello, she goes and talks about hoe he is a werewolf. In True Blood, he played Alcide: a very sexy werewolf. Then this one girl named Lucy takes Madea’s purse and somehow Madea wraps Lucy up on this cross in the classroom with  lights.

Like any movie, there has to  be some sort of drama. Trust me, there was a bunch on drama in the movie. Firstly, Connor and Lacey are married and neither Madea and Eileen are supposed to know. Connor’s parents know because Connor and Lacey are currently living in his childhood home. Lacey and Connor finally tell them and Eileen gets really mad because her husband left her for a white girl. Madea reveals to Lacey the truth about everything that deals with her mother. Secondly, Bailey is a student in Lacey’s class. Bailey is one of the smartest and talentest kids there is. Connor and Bailey’s dad, Tanner have some beef. Tanner has always picked on Connor and treated him terribly. Connor finally stands up for himself and punches Tanner in the face. Connor and Tanner finally decide that they should put everything behind themselves and Connor suggest that they work on a new corn project together. Thirdly, Lacey’s ex-husband, Oliver, still wants to get back together. He tries everything he can think of to get Lacey back. Eileen even tells Oliver that she still talks about him, even though that isn’t true since Lacey is married to Connor. Oliver practically goes through the whole entire movie, wanting Lacey back and not knowing that she is married. Finally, the whole sponsor situation. The sponsor has destroyed their land – taking the river away from them. Lacey didn’t know that when Oliver came to give them the $100000 for the showcase. These sponsors don’t want the showcase to include God, Jesus, or the Bible. The town gets mad at Lacey and decides to fire her. 

Like I said earlier, Eileen had a problem with Lacey and Connor being married. After she found out the news, she decided that she would never go back into the house. That night, she finds Tanner’s truck flipped upside down and decides to help him out, even though he was white. Eileen saves Tanner just in enough time to save him from the fire in his truck. I like to think that this is the scene that Eileen sort of came to her senses. Yes, Eileen still didn’t like the fact that her daughter was with a white man and not a black man, but I think she realized that her daughter was happy. All she ever wanted in life was to see her daughter happy and she was able to see just that.

I would have to give this movie a 3.5 out of 5 stars. The characters were very well developed and the cast was perfectly cast. The cast worked together very well and almost worked like a family. Very rare do I ever find a movie with such a great cast. For a movie being called A Madea Christmas, there really wasn’t much Christmas aspects in the movie. Yes, there is the whole tree situation with Connor’s family and Eileen, the Christmas showcase and the Christmas dinner talk but that is really it. The movie should be considered a winter movie and not a Christmas movie, at least to me. After watching this movie, I really don’t know if I want to give any more of the Madea movies a try because I really didn’t like the whole plot. My parents really didn’t like the first few Madea movies and sense I have my dad’s sense of humor, I more than likely won’t like the other movies.

Have you ever seen this movie? Do you like the Madea movies? What are your thoughts about Christmas movies? What is your favorite Christmas movie? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,
unnamed

Leave a Reply

