Autobiographies VS. Biographies VS. Memoirs

The other day, I was sitting in the car with my mom and for some reason, we were talking about autobiographies. I then started to wonder what the difference was between a memoir and an autobiography was. So, I’m taking all the information that learned and sharing it with you.

Biography:

5555

Basically, a biography is an account of a person’s life written by another person. Most of the books that you pick up and read up about a person in school is a biography. Personally, I would rather read an autobiography because I would rather hear about a person’s life through them. Biographies seem to always have a few mistakes about the person and I don’t understand why the do that.

Popular Biographies:

  • Steve Jobs by: Walter Issacson
  • Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by: Laura Hillenbrand
  • John Adams by: David McGullough
  • Catherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman by: Robert K Massie
  • Alexander Hamilton by: Ron Chernow
Autobiography:

5646

An autobiography is the opposite of a biography. An autobiography is a book written about a person by that person. Like I said, I would rather read an autobiography because it is the closest thing to true. I feel like more people read autobiographies because they are actually better and more exciting to read than biographies. Autobiographies go into so much more detail than biographies and you can relate to them so much more since it reads like fiction.

Popular Autobiographies:

  • The Diary of a Young Girl by: Anne Frank
  • Night by: Elie Wiesel
  • Bossypants by: Tina Fey
  • Eat, Pray, Love by: Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Seriously…I’m Kidding by: Ellen DeGeneres
Memoirs:

456

A memoir is basically a past event and you write about it. You can find someone who knows a lot about something and write about what you learn. Or, you write about someone you love and care about a lot.

Popular Memoirs:

  • Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by: Jenny Lawson
  • Dreams From My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance by: Barack Obama
  • On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by: Stephen King
Thoughts:

Quite honestly, I really can’t tell a difference in a memoir and an autobiography. In both types of writing, you are sharing moments of your life and revealing things that others don’t know. You are educating the reader, like a biography, just told in the persons perspective. Autobiographies are easier for me to understand, they are so close to my heart, and they are funny in a sense.

The Books I Own:
  • Night by: Elie Wiesel
  • Staying Strong by: Demi Lovato
  • Taylor Swift: Seeing Red by: Mary Boone
  • Taylor Swift by: Andrew Vaughan
  • Taylor Swift by: Sarah Parvis
  • Taylor Swift: Her Song  by: Riley Brooks
  • Taylor Swift: Secrets of a Songwriter by: Amy Gail Hassen

I think I might have a few more but they might be on another bookshelf in my room. But, I might have a small problem when it comes to buying Taylor Swift books. Whoops!

What is your favorite genre of book? Did you know the difference between biographies, autobiographies, and memoirs? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Happy Reading,

ann

2 thoughts on “Autobiographies VS. Biographies VS. Memoirs

  1. I always thought of autobios as the person talking about their entire life up until a point, like their current age. And, as the definition says, I think of memoirs as a recount of an event/experience in a person’s life. Sometimes I prefer bios because I think peeps more likely to make stuff up in autobios.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

