5 Books I Read and Didn’t Like

We all have these books that we think are going to be good but we ended up not liking. Sometimes the books you didn’t like, everyone else in the world loves. Everyone has their own life opinions and that is why it is amazing to be a person! So, I decided that I would make a list of the books that I didn’t like, but I finished reading.

I have read so many books and I really like. Every so often, I get a book that I really didn’t like. Sometimes the book has really good ratings on Goodreads too. For some reason, I don’t like leaving books once I read them. Since I have read so many books, and I talk about books, I decided to tell you those special books. Some of the books had to get read for certain reasons but for the most part, I picked them. Before I continue, and start a rant, let’s get on with this list!

1. An Ember In The Ashes by: Sabaa Tahir Image result for an ember in the ashes

I hated reading this book. I have my book review right here, so if you want to check it out, do. I had to restart reading both of these books about three times before I partly understood what was going on. For the books I need to know for school, or one I am reviewing, I have a notebook that I summarize the chapters with. For this book, I had to summarize the book. I just got really confused at time but I had to see what the big fuss was about.

Don’t get me wrong – Sabaa Tahir is an amazing author. She knows what she is doing and she has a talent. I just couldn’t understand some of the events and I confused characters up a lot in the reading of the book. The only reason why I picked the book up in the first place was to see what everyone liked it so much. I really don’t see what the big point of the book was.

2. Great Expectations by: Charles Dickens Image result for great expectations

I had to read this the summer of 9th grade for Required Summer Reading. I think I might have said this before but if you didn’t know this: I HATED THIS BOOK. The book has a great message behind all the boring and confusing parts. In this book, there is a whole paragraph about cutting bread. Yes, cutting bread. There was so much in this book that I feel like it didn’t need to be in it.

One of the reasons I didn’t enjoy the book as much is because of how confusing and the word choices Charles Dickens had in the book. It took me a good month and a half to read the entire book, which is not normal for me. I know I am not the only one here that did not enjoy this book.

3. Before I Fall by: Lauren Oliver Image result for before i fall

I have only liked one of Lauren Oliver’s novels before and it was Vanishing Girls. I have read the Delirium series before and I really didn’t enjoy the whole entire series. I liked bits and pieces. Before I Fall was a book that I didn’t like at all. The book was repetitive way too much.

I read the book while I was in my If I Stay phase. There was a period of time after I read the book where that was all I read for a good two or three months. I read so many books so I have a feeling that might be one of the reasons I really didn’t enjoy the book that much.

4. Illuminae by: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff Image result for amie kaufman book tour

Like An Ember In The Ashes, I read the book because I heard about how good the book was. I decided to pick up the book and I really didn’t like the book. I was lost the whole time. The book had so many things going on at one time and it was written in a weird way. Part of it was crossed off and some was written in different ways. I had to reread part of the book so many times because I forgot what happened and I didn’t understand what was going on.

The one thing I wish that the book had was more order and structure. The book to me was thrown together in about a year. It was like the wind picked up the pages, blew them everywhere and the pages were not numbered at all. I did really like the cover though.

5. Anne and Henry by: Dawn Ius 22453734

If you would like to know more about the book or more why I didn’t, click here. Basically, one reason why I didn’t like the book was the fact that it was almost like Fifty Shades of Grey. The book was supposed to be a retelling about King Henry and Queen Anne. In history, King Henry married Queen Anne. Once he got tired of her, he chopped her head off. In the book, it is sort of like that, but more age appropriate.

The book was more disgusting than anything. The book had topics that I didn’t feel that should be written in Young Adult books. I had no problem understanding the whole thing but understanding why this is a book in the real world, confuses me.

What are some books that you read that you didn’t like at all? What books do you hate that other people like? Let me know your thoughts and opinions in the comments!

Happy Reading,

❤ Ann

Leave a Reply

