Author Talk: Tahereh Mafi

Happy Saturday guys! Yet again, I want to highlight one of my other favorite author’s of all time. I love Tahereh Mafi’s work a lot and since her new book comes out on the 30th of August, I thought why not celebrate her.

A Little About Tahereh Mafi:

Image result for tahereh mafi

Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Shatter Me series. She was born in a small city somewhere in Connecticut and currently resides in Santa Monica, California with her husband, fellow author Ransom Riggs. She can usually be found over-caffeinated and stuck in a book. Shatter Me is her first series, with television rights optioned by ABC Signature Studios; Furthermore, her newest project, will be out on August 30th, 2016.

Her Books:
  • Shatter Me – Released 2011
  • Unravel Me – Released 2013
  • Ignite Me – Released 2014
  • Unite Me – Released 2014
    • Destroy Me – Released 2012
    • Fracture Me – Released 2013
  • Furthermore – Released 2016
About Her Books:
The Juliette Chronicles

Image result for the juliette chronicles

I have a curse
I have a gift
I am a monster
I’m more than human
My touch is lethal
My touch is power
I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Furthermore

Furthermore

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit–and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself–and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

Hitting the Big Screen?

Shatter Me has been opted for a TV Show! 20th Century Fox originally took the rights for the book before it came out in 2011 to make it into a film. As of summer 2015, ABC Signature Studios opted the books for a TV series. During the shooting of the show, Tahereh Mafi will be Consulting Producer, which most authors don’t get the chance to be. None of these are official as of today but I would love to see Shatter Me on the screen. The plot is way too good not to have it on the screen.

But, you can get the chance to watch Tahereh Mafi on Late Night with Seth Meyers on September 1, 2016 at 12:37 am – 1:38 am. I’m going to make sure I record since I will have to get up the next day for school but this should be very interesting!

Tahereh Mafi and Ransom Riggs:

Image result for tahereh mafi and ransom riggs cute moments

Fun fact of the day – Tahereh is married to the author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs. If you ever watch them together, they are adorable. When I first found this out, I was actually shocked because I would have never guessed they would be together. I love these two together. They are so funny when they are together and almost any picture of them together. One of my wishes is the chance to meet these two because I love them both but it probably won’t happen. You never know though!

My Opinion:

I love Shatter Me a lot. I actually have a blog post from a little while ago and you can check it out here but it really isn’t the best. Shatter Me has one of the best plots in the world. The characters are well developed in a way I can’t help but love them. The only thing I will say is, I never liked who Juliette ended up with. I wanted the other one. I wish that there was more books in the series, or maybe even a spin off series for Warner or Adam since they were amazing characters, for the most part.

I have done a few more post like these for a few other authors! If you would like to check them out, feel free to do so!

What is your favorite book by Tahereh Mafi? Have you read a book by Tahereh Mafi? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Image result for tahereh mafi and ransom riggs cute moments

Happy Reading,

❤ Ann

Leave a Reply

