Shadowhunters: TV Show Review *With Spoilers*

I’ve been meaning to post this but I went on a small vacation this week because we started back at school from Spring Break. When we went back on Monday, I needed to get back into a schedule and I think that I have finally gotten back into one. But, I have been watching much TV, including the season finale of The Shadowhunters.

I was never a fan of the show being said: Based off of the Bestselling Series by Cassandra Clare. The show was never part of the book. Parts of the book were part of the show but they added their own twist on it, like this season finale on April 5.

EMERAUDE TOUBIA, DOMINIC SHERWOOD, KATHERINE MCNAMARA, MATTHEW DADDARIO

Show: Shadowhunters

Director: Ed Decter

Channel: Freeform (other known as ABC Family)

Run Time: 42 minutes

Aired: January 12, 2016 – April 5, 2016

Synopsis: On her birthday, Clary Fray discovers a surprise concerning her life. The teenager is not who she thinks she is — she comes from a long line of human-angel hybrids, called Shadowhunters, who hunt demons. After her mother is kidnapped, Clary is thrust into the world of demon-hunting. Clary relies on mysterious Jace and fellow hunters Isabelle and Alec to help her navigate the dark world. While living in this new world among creatures like vampires and werewolves, Clary’s best friend Simon helps her uncover answers that could help her find her mother. The fantasy show is based on a series of young adult books by Cassandra Clare.

Feelings On The Series: I was really excited when I heard that was going to be a TV Show. I was hoping that it would be on HBO or Starz because they could do a lot more with the action and everything that happens on the show. Freeform are the people that own Disney Channel so I was worried that it would be more like a children’s show. When you think about the cast, almost all of them have done something with Disney, or know people through Disney. I hated the first few episodes of the show. I, of course, finished the series. By the episode 10, I started to see the show as an original series and not based off of the books. I really enjoyed the show from there on, and I don’t know if that is because Jace got hotter or Malec got together. When Alec broke his marriage, during the wedding and kissed Magnus, I died. I died so many times and I loved it so much. I would have loved to see this relationship between Magnus and Alec in the movie. I honestly liked the show’s plot better than the movie, but the cast of the movie was a lot better. I liked the movie cast a lot better though.

The Cast:

For more information about the cast, read here. shadowhunters-cast

  • Jace Herondale – Dominic Sherwood
  • Clary Fray – Katherine McNamara
  • Simon Lewis – Alberto Rosende
  • Isabelle Lightwood – Emeraude Toubia
  • Alec Lightwood – Matthew Daddario
  • Luke Garroway – Isaiah Mustafa
  • Magnus Bane – Harry Shum Jr.
  • Valentine – Alan Van Sprang

The Finale: The finale killed me. I really loved the part when Jace chopped of Hodge’s head. I really never like Lydia (I also thought that she was working for Valentine because she knew exactly what he looked like) so when she got injured, I really didn’t care. I kind of wanted to see her dead. When Jace volunteered to go with Valentine with army at the end of the episode, my heart died. I kept hoping that he would end up showing up at the Institute but he never did. Then, when Jocelyn comes out of her coma/spell and Luke catches her, I was screaming for him to kiss her. There was at least three times that Luke could have kissed her but he never did. I want to have an idea what it will be like in the future episode. I’m pretty sure this has been the hottest that Simon has been in the episodes. Simon has been like this nerd and wears all this nerdy stuff, and when he turned into one, he still was this nerdy kid. This time, something about him made me fall in love with him. I have watched this episode twice now and every watch it I catch something new, like this time was the thing with Alec’s eyes. In the show they are hazel but they aren’t in the book. I actually loved the scene when Camille kisses Magnus. I sort of told myself, wouldn’t that be funny if Alec walks in, and he does. I have no clue why that is one of my favorite scenes in the whole show.

tumblr_o56x7dghqG1rl17i3o1_500

Season 2: The show was told March 30, 2016 that it would be returning for a second season on a live chat they did through Facebook. I honestly am interested in seeing where the show goes from here since they seem to have a little of the second book in the first season. I really hope that they do go to Idris in this one, I don’t know why. I want to see what their idea of Idris is, and they kill Valentine in it. I know that they probably won’t kill Valentine without having Sebastian thrown into the whole thing but I really don’t like Valentine, the character or either actor. They really never lived up to my appearance of a Valentine, who wants to control the world. The one in the movie had this weird hair piece on and the one in the show looks way to nice to have a want for a Shadowhunter army. The one thing I do want to see more of: Sizzy (Simon and Isabelle), Malec (Magnus and Alec) and Clace (Jace and Clary).

How did you feel while watching the TV show? Did you like it? Do you not want to watch it? How did you feel when you compared the books to the show? Are you excited for Season 2? Let me know in the comments so I know how you feel about it. Before you ask, yes I am the kind of person that has every cover in the US for the series……

Happy Reading,

 ❤ Ann

Leave a Reply

