Lady Midnight Review (Spoilers)

Cassandra Clare has done it again. She has made me fall in love with a book and it hasn’t been released for a month yet! I’ve been meaning to post this review for a while now but I just haven’t had the time to yet. But let me say one thing: Oh My God!

LM_cover

Title: Lady Midnight

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry

Pages: 720 (Hardcover)

Released: 4.9/5 Stars

Synopsis: The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel. It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses. Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions… Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it? download

About the Author: Judith Rumelt, better known by her pen name Cassandra Clare, is an American author of young adult fiction, best known for her bestselling series The Mortal Instruments. Clare was born Judith Rumelt, to American parents, in Tehran, Iran. Her parents are Elizabeth and Richard Rumelt, who are a business school professor and author, respectively. Her maternal grandfather was film producer Max Rosenberg. Clare is Jewish, and has described her family as “not religious”.

Favorite Part: My favorite part. Hum.. there are so many! I think my favorite was the first scene Magnus Bane was in and you find out about Max (Alec’s and Magnus’ kid). I think I have that as my favorite because I loved Malec and in City of Heavenly Fire, that left us clueless about them still being together, at least me. I also love the part where Emma and Julian kiss in the bedroom. Even though they can’t get together since they are Parabatai, it was still amazing. Emma and Julian was amazing when they were together.

Rating: I have to give this book a 4.9 out of 5 stars. I would have given it a 5 but I hated the fact that I kept having to read about Jonathan Shadowhunter and learning about stuff I already knew. I understand that some people haven’t read the beginning of the series but still. I think this one is my favorite of all times by Cassie because I feel this one did go into more detail and Jem (spoiler from The Infernal Devices) was alive and talking about Tessa (who was there) and William Herondale.

Feelings While Reading: I had trouble putting this book down. I had to wait til that Friday to receive it because Barnes and Noble and I don’t get along with shipping. It always comes late, no matter what. I think that it is a little funny how the while book is centered around Edgar Allan Poe’s Annabel Lee. it is funny because I was complaining the other day on how much I loved to hate on Poe’s work. When I read that it was Malcom who was behind everything, I was a little taken back. Quite  honestly, I though that it was Diane, Emma, Cristina, etc’s teacher/mentor. The only reason was because she kept leaving and every time, they would say something about Hodge. This whole entire book has me in a emotional roller coaster. Especially when Mark came back. I knew I remembered his name from somewhere and I did City of Heavenly Fire. And the leaf that was in the back of COHF makes so much more sense since they explained it in the book., as a letter. At first, I didn’t know how I felt about Mark but I really grew to love him. How is it that almost all males like that are gay? Take Alec and Magnus for example.

The Extra Story: In the back of there was a short story about the cast of The Mortal Instruments: Jace, Clary, Simon, etc. Let me tell you: I loved it!

  1. Sizzy is getting married! I loved Sizzy from book one. Since Simon is now a Shadowhunter, he can experience what Izzy can as well as Clary.
  2. Simon and Clary are parabatai! This was something I did not see coming. I never thought Simon would be a Shadowhunter. I couldn’t have picked better myself, to be honest.
  3. The part that kills me is Jace asking Clary to marry him. He basically asked her at the end of City of Heavenly Fire and we had to wait til this book. That comes and he proposes. She doesn’t answer! I’m sitting here, waiting for the next book to come out, which is not out til APRIL 2017!

The Rest of the Series: This is only book 1 of 3 in the Dark Artifices trilogy. The next book, Lord of Shadow, comes out April 2017 and the third, The Queen of Air and Darkness comes 2018? The date is unknown. You have no idea how bad I need these books.

The Ending: That ending was incredible. I actually read the epilogue first with my friend and we were so lost. But the second time, amazing. I love the fact that Malcom’s plan actually worked, but hated it at the same time. I love the fact that his Annabel woke up because it will add something special, not only to the book but also the cover. I am so ready for Lord of Shadow.

Background Information of Annabel Lee: Annabel Lee is the last complete poem composed by Edgar Allan Poe. The poem’s narrator describes his love for Annabel Lee, which began many years ago in a “kingdom by the sea”. Though they were young, their love for one another burned with such an intensity that angels became envious. It is for that reason that the narrator believes the seraphim caused her death. Even so, their love is strong enough that it extends beyond the grave and the narrator believes their two souls are still entwined. Every night, he dreams of Annabel Lee and sees the brightness of her eyes in the stars. Every night he lies down by her side in her tomb by the sea.

The next book doesn’t come out til April 2017. I don’t think I can make it til then. I need to know what happens. Let me know down in the comments below what your favorite Cassandra Clare books is. And your opinions on Lady Midnight!

Til Our Next Book,

 ❤ Ann

4 thoughts on “Lady Midnight Review (Spoilers)

  1. Hey! I agree with everything you said – I absolutely loved this book! Definitely Cassie’s best so far 😀 I actually posted my review the other day if you feel like checking it out 🙂
    I was just going to recommend you read Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy because it sounds like you haven’t from reading this review? I don’t know, it might help you bridge the 5-year gap between COHF and LM. It will also be good if you’re missing the main crew!
    Great review 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

