Let’s Study These Poetry Books

Poetry is one type of literature I can’t get pass. No matter how much I work with it or read it, my hate for it never disappears. But what is poetry you ask?

Poetry is a form of literature that uses aesthetic and rhythmic qualities of language—such as phonaesthetics, sound symbolism, and metre—to evoke meanings in addition to, or in place of, the prosaic ostensible meaning

Poetry has been around for years, dating back from the Sumerian Epic of Gilgamesh. The Epic of Gilgamesh is the oldest surviving epic poem from the Mesopotamia. Not all of this epic poem is recovered, but around 2/3 of it is.

Poetry is commonly known for being written in the form of songs. Songs are one of the hardest things to write, like poetry. I’ve honestly tried to write a song before but I just can’t. It is really difficult.

Some of the most famous works of poetry are:

  • I, Too, Sing America by Langston Hughes
  • Phenomenal Woman by Maya Angelou
  • Where The Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein
  • If You Forget Me by Pablo Neruda
  • I Carry Your Heart with Me by E. E. Cummings
  • The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost
  • A Dream Within A Dream by Edgar Allan Poe
  • There is Another Sky by Emily Dickinson
  • A Girl by Ezra Pound
  • Messy Room by Shel Silverstein
  • Fast Rode the Knight by Stephen Crane

I have read several pieces of Edgar Allan Poe and they were very grim. I enjoy spooky things but his poems were a little too grim. I read three of his for school and a lot of my friends started to have a passion for him but I grew a hatred of his works.

Why don’t I like poetry? The reason I don’t like poetry is because of how hard it is to understand. Poetry is confusing and never makes sense to me. I read Bewoulf and I still can’t tell you anything about it for dear life. Poetry is almost like classics for me: I hate them. I wish I could love poetry, because I don’t hate all classic authors, but I can’t.

If you had to pick your favorite poem, which is it and why? Let me know in the comments below.

Happy Reading,

❤ Ann

Leave a Reply

