Boys Don’t Knit: Book Review (Spoilers)

I recently read Boys Don’t Knit (In Public) by: T.S. Easton and I absolutely loved it. I enjoyed it a lot and I decided to blog about it! Let me know in the comments below some books you would like to see me review and I’ll get back to you shortly.

9781250073549_p0_v1_s192x300

Title: Boys Don’t Knit (In Public)

Author: T.S. Eatson

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Released: March 24, 2015

Pages: 272 (Hardback)

Synopsis: Knitting is a man’s game. After an incident regarding a crossing guard and a bottle of Martini & Rossi (and his bonehead friends), 17-year-old worrier Ben Fletcher must develop his sense of social alignment, take up a hobby, and do some community service to avoid any further probation. He takes a knitting class (it was that or his father’s mechanic class) under the impression that it’s taught by the hot teacher all the boys like. Turns out, it’s not. Perfect. Regardless, he sticks with it and comes to find that he’s a natural knitter, maybe even great. It even helps ease his anxiety and worrying. The only challenge now is to keep it hidden from his friends, his crush, and his soccer-obsessed father. What a tangled web Ben has weaved . . . or knitted.

623c74_10d081b0bc08424e84c577c2f00fae6b

About the Author: I am an experienced author of fiction for all ages and have had more than thirty books published. I have written under a number of different pseudonyms in a variety of genres. Subjects include vampires, pirates, pandemics and teenage agony aunts (not all in the same book). I live in Surrey with my wife, three children and two cats. In my spare time I work as a Production Manager for a UK publisher. My latest book is An English Boy in New York, the sequel to Boys Don’t Knit, published by Hot Key Books.

Favorite Part: I loved the part when the Principal of the school Ben goes school stands in front of the school and exposes Ben’s secret to the whole school, which no one but like three people knew. I think that this was my favorite scene because Ben was so afraid of just telling his friends and his dad and know all the school, minus his dad knew he knits and sells his stuff on Etsy. Ben gets called all these names, making fun of Ben’s knitting passion, but Ben never let it get to his head. I loved how Ben didn’t let it get to his head and just let it go, for the most part.

Questions I Still Have: 

  • Does his mom actually make it to the championship to see Ben win?
  • Does Ben’s dad come back home?
  • Did Ben’s plan to get Jessica back together with her ex boyfriend?

I really wish that I could actually know if the last question happened. Ben had this plan all set out to get them back together and I’m pretty sure that they never state it in the book.

Rating: I gave this book a 5/5 stars on Goodreads but it was really a 4.8/5. There was some parts I really didn’t like: the part about the lady getting hit by a car in front of the car and how the book was written. I love the fact that T.S. Easton had it written like a diary but he skipped around days and he had different days with the same exact story. It was still really good though. I would love to read a sequel to this book, where there is, called An English Boy In New York which was release in 2014 (where I am confused how the first book was released a year after the second).

Could You See It As A Movie: No, I can’t. I loved the book and it was really good but I couldn’t see it as a movie. The whole thing seemed like a uphill battle which would not be very fun to watch as a movie. The movie would be very boring at the beginning until they got to the part when Ben’s dad finds out that he knits. From there on, it would be great. The movie would be very funny there.

Feelings While Reading: I had a few different thoughts while I was reading this book. I laughed and then I had sweet moments. The only sweet moment that actually happened in the book was when Megan and Ben actually get together, which didn’t happen until the last 20 pages. The whole book had me laughing so I can’t just pick one moment to pick out for my favorite.

The Sequel: 

20929530

Title: An English Boy In New York

Author: T.S. Easton

Released: August 7, 2014

Publisher: Hot Key Books

Pages: 304 (Paperback)

Synopsis: As part of his prize for winning the All-UK Knitting Championships, seventeen-year-old Ben Fletcher has won himself an all-expenses paid trip to New York… and to the US National KnitFair. Unfortunately his new girlfriend Megan is (somewhat suspiciously) unable to come with him, which means Ben has the dubious pleasure of being accompanied by his family and his third-choice-friend Gex. The other problem is, Ben’s not really sure he wants to be known as teenage knitting genius any more. His idea for a knit-able hoodie could make him millions… or turn him into a laughing stock forever. An existential knitting crisis turns out to be the least of Ben’s concerns though, as he quickly finds that his apparent magnetism for trouble has followed him across the pond. Join Ben for another hilarious misadventure, involving some overly-eager Knitting Expo representatives, suspicious men in dark suits, some potential trouble from the Mob, a mix-up of epic proportions with Megan… and still rather a lot of knitting.

Which book are reading right now? Is it any good? Have you read either one of these books? I am so excited to read the other one because I want answers so much!

789

Happy Reading,

❤ Ann

Leave a Reply

