Author Talk: Morgan Matson

As I was sitting on the couch, with my laptop on my lap, watching The Ellen Show, I thought I would try something else. I talk about all these books and the authors only get one section of the whole entire thing. Author’s are just as important as the book so let’s turn the spotlight on them!

A Little About Morgan Matson: Morgan Matson

Morgan Catherine Matson, better known as Morgan Matson or Katie Finn, is a best-selling American novelist and recipient of the California Book Award. Morgan Matson was born in New York City on September 19, 1981 and grew up in both New York City and Greenwich, Connecticut. She has one brother, Jason Matson, who is a lawyer.

Her Books:
  • As Morgan Matson:
    • Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Published 2010
    • Second Chance Summer – Published 2012
    • Since You’ve Been Gone – Published 2014
    • The Unexpected Everything – Published 2016
  • As Katie Finn
    • Top 8 – Published 2008
    • What’s Your Status – Published 2010
    • Unfriended – Published 2011
    • Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend – Published 2014
    • Hallie Hath No Fury – Published 2015
    • Revenge, Ice Cream, and Other Things Best Served Cold – Published 2015
    • Hearts, Fingers, and Other Things Not to Cross – Published 2016
Interactions with Morgan Matson Herself:

Well I can’t say that I have meet her, I wish I could, but she has crossed my path three times (twice on Twitter and once on Instagram). When I saw her name come up in my notifications, I flipped out. I think it was because I did not expect that but also because I am a big Morgan Matson fan. Thank Morgan for so many heart attacks!

Thoughts On Her Books:

To be totally honest with you guys, I have only read the books she has under the name Morgan Matson. I really don’t know why but I want to get my hands on her other ones. But right now I am practically broke so I can’t get my hands on her books. But of the three I have read, here’s my thoughts on the books! Don’t worry, I won’t spoil you! Trust me, I know how it feels to be spoiled, in several ways (Instagram, Goodreads, Blogs, Friends…)

7664334

Title: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Released: May 4, 2010

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 

Pages: 344 (Hardback)

Synopsis: Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

Thoughts on The Book: I loved this book. I was planning on just copying and pasting my review for this book from Goodreads and then I realize how terrible it was. You can read it here if you really want to. But anyway, this was my third favorite book out of her books. It’s an amazing book, with amazing features and storyline, but I really liked her other ones better. The one thing I loved the most was the fact that she took the trip as herself with her mom, instead of just researching. And I love the fact that she has pictures of the restaurants and the food, with the receipts on the page as well. The one thing I didn’t like about the book was how fast I read it. I was so into the book that I read it in a day, like normal. The relationship/bond that Amy and Roger gained on this trip was amazing. Morgan was able to reach inside of my soul and knew that I was needing a book like this when I read it.

Could You See It As A Movie: Yes, yes I could. I could more than likely see this as a movie. Sarah-Hyland_-Daily-Mails-2016-Peoples-Choice-Awards-After-Party--02-662x888I was basically watching a movie the whole entire time while I was reading this. Now if I had to cast the whole thing, I could only cast one person: Amy. For Amy, I would have the amazing Sarah Hyland. I could more than likely see Sarah perfect Amy in a movie. For the other characters, I would have no idea. There are way too many actors who would fit the role of Roger. I just don’t know who would be perfect.

11071466

Title: Second Chance Summer  

Released: May 8, 2012

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing

Pages: 468 (Hardback)

Synopsis: From the Flying Start author of Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, a powerful novel about hope in the face of heartbreak. Taylor Edwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains. Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actually gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve. As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that they’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love. 

Thoughts of the Book: My all time favorite book by Morgan Matson. This was the first book I read by Morgan Matson and I cried for years. I borrowed it from our public library and I almost didn’t give it up because I loved it so much. I actually own it now and rereading it again. Like Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, this review sucked as well but you could read it here. When I went through the book and how much Taylor loved her dad even through his cancer was amazing. And then we has Taylor and that boy who will remain a mystery for all you people who haven’t read it… God, I love this book so much. But I have to say, this is my least favorite cover out of all of them.

Could You See It As A Movie: Honestly, no. I loved the book, it is one of my favorite books in the world and I still can’t see it as a movie. I feel like we have so many movies that are like this, and I would feel like I’m watching a Nicholas Sparks movie, for example The Last Song. If it was a movie, I would go and see theaters and buy the movie the day it came out but it would not be my favorite movie of all time.

18189606

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone

Released: May 6, 2014

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Pages: 449 (Hardback)

Synopsis: It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back? Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough. Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a stranger? Um… Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find? Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Thoughts of the Book: I loved this book. I think I loved this book so much because not only was it amazingly written and she also involved Taylor Swift in one of the soundtracks of the song. Like the other two, this one sucked on Goodreads. You can read it here, while I sit here and wonder about why I wrote so terrible reviews on Goodreads. After reading this book, which was December 2014, Morgan Matson became one the top 10 Favorite Author’s of mine. The list was one of the most amazing things that could have been thought of. I love all the details that Morgan had to go along with these list. The fact that Emily had to complete them all to find her friend Sloane, which the location is hilarious and shocking, was perfect. This book was perfect. Hailee-Steinfeld-Taylor-Swift

Could You See It As A Movie: Yes. I would love this movie. I would watch this movie so many times, that I would know all the words of the movie. It would be the most watched movie of all time. Now for the two main roles, Sloane and Emily, I would now exactly who to cast. They would have to be real life best friends like Taylor Swift and Hailee Steinfeld. I feel like Taylor Swift would be the best Sloane because she would be all spontaneous and outgoing like Sloane. Hailee Steinfeld is one of my favorite actresses and she just pictures Emily to me. Highly unlikely but you never know!

Upcoming Book Reads For Morgan Matson

Like I said, I haven’t read all of Morgan Matson’s books but one day I wish I would. So, I have started a TBR List of her books! The list includes:17838528

Title: The Unexpected Everything

Release Date: May 3, 2016

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Pages: 496 (Hardback)

Synopsis: Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks). But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing – if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

18525657

Title: Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend

Release Date: May 13, 2014

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 339 (Hardback)

Synopsis: Hot sun. Blue waves. New romances. Old secrets. Gemma had her summer all planned out, but it takes a sharp turn when she gets dumped and finds herself back in the Hamptons after a five-year absence. Being there puts her at risk of bumping into Hallie, her former best friends (that is, before Gemma ruined her life). But people don’t hold grudges forever. Do they? Gemma intends on making amends, but a small case of mistaken identity causes the people she knew years ago—including Hallie and her dreamy brother, Josh—to believe she’s someone else. As though the summer wasn’t complicated enough already. Filled with summer sun, boys, and friendships gone sour, Katie Finn’s first novel in the Broken Hearts and Revenge series sizzles and delights.

What is your guys favorite book by Morgan Matson? Do you even like Morgan Matson/Katie Finn? Let me know if you like this type of thing in the comments below and maybe I’ll continue on with this!

Happy Reading,

❤ Ann

Leave a Reply

