The Hunger Games by: Suzanne Collins

I can’t believe that it has ended. The love that started my reading. The Hunger Games has ended. The final movie came out and I will never be the same again.

I first heard about this book through my 5th grade English/History teacher when I needed to read a Science Fiction book. Back then, all I ever read was Contemporary and Realistic Fiction so I dreaded this genre. She told me about this series called The Hunger Games and told me to check it out. That night, I started the book and I was so excited to read it. I was really like the first person to read the book in the 5th grade and that’s when people found out about the movie. More and more people started to read it and love it. I could not get enough of it. It did take me a while to read them since I was reading other books for fun and for school so it took me about a year to read all three books.

My mom and dad are not fans of the theaters so I had to wait until The Hunger Games came out onto the TV. When I first saw the movie, I died. I died because I was so excited to see how amazing it became. I had this group of friends who I would talk about all three of the books and we would exchange things that we made for the series. My one friend who is really talented made these really cool bookmarks that she colored and drew. I have it somewhere but I just don’t know where. I have been looking for it for at least 3 years. Sorry Cristina, I wish I could find them!

Catching Fire had to be my favorite out of all three. Something about the way Peeta and Katniss was in the games AGAIN TOGETHER made me love it. The way Peeta tried everything to get Katniss from going into the games again was amazing. He tried everything but she still had too. Not only was the book my favorite, but the movie was my favorite too. I love that they had a little bigger paycheck for the shooting and just they looked so much happier and better in the movie.

Like before, I had to wait to see this movie. I was still hoping I would see at least one of them in theaters. I think I have seen this movie 30 times, unlike my one friend who has lost track after 100+. Yes she is a little crazy. Suzanne Collins just keep killing me over and over again. She knew how much I loved Peeta when I read Mockingjay.

Mockingjay had mixed emotions out of me. At times I loved it and sometimes I hated it. I loved the fact that Peeta and Katniss ended up together but I hated the fact that Peeta was trying to kill her. I loved the fact President Snow and Coin died but I hated the fact that Finnick had to die. I also hated the fact that Prim died, all because of Gale. For the longest time, I believed that Prim died because Gale blew up a coal mine because I thought for sure that she died the same way her dad died. Nope. My friend had to explain to me and make me read the chapter that Prim died because I have thought wrong since 6th grade. I’m in 9th now so I felt so stupid.

I finally got to go see one of the movies in theaters on November 21, 2015 which was Mockingjay Part 2. One thing I knew I would do was cry. I cried at least three times because of:

  • Prim’s death
  • Because of Pure Happiness
  • Because the series is finally over with, and I don’t want it to be

Mockingjay Part 1 was good but I loved Part 2 so much more. Yes, Mockingjay Part2 is the longest, I believe but it is worth it. It was one of the best days when I got to go. My birthday happened to be the 17th of November so I knew that I wanted to see it. It was one of my presents from my parents and I was so happy when I saw it. I knew I was going to it anyway because why else would we not do anything on a Saturday.

the-hunger-games-trilogy-1920x1200

It’s sad to see that my childhood is fading away. It’s great to know that there is more to see in life but The Hunger Games will always be part of me. it brought me my passion of science fiction/dystopian novels and showed me movie version of books can be good. At least I still have Divergent to watch…

“Let The Games Begin,”

❤ Ann

One thought on “The Hunger Games by: Suzanne Collins

Leave a Reply

