Dystopian Novel Love or Addiction

tumblr_mfwt5sQVtb1qa5aw1o1_500

For the past 2 years, my love of dystopian novels have grown, a lot. It went from very little love to it’s my drug. I can’t go 2 weeks without reading one. I love them so much.

But what is an Dystopian Novel?  A dystopian novel is a genre of literature that explore social and political structures. Most of the time, people refer to them as books that deal with the government taking control over something.

One of the first known dystopian novels came out back in 1726 which is Gulliver’s Travels by: Jonathan Swift. This one book was the only published dystopian novel until 1835 when A Sojourn in the City of Amalgamation, in the Year of Our Lord, 19– by: Oliver Bolokitten. More and more books came out in the years, with it now being one of the most common read genres.

Favorite Genre and Why? Like before, I love dystopian novels. As long as it is good. If it is terrible, I will not even finish it. I think I am so drawn into this genre because Divergent, the book that got me into reading, was a dystopian and I fell in love with it. I thought it was amazing and fun to read. I started reading more and more, which also got me to read Science Fiction and Fantasy, some of my other favorites. I think it is one of my favorites because it really shows how one person can’t do it all. They are not impeccable. They can’t do more than one thing at the same time. They have their ups and downs like us. All the action involved within most of them just keeps me reading!

Recommendations: If I didn’t limit myself on this one I would be here til Christmas. Here are my top 10 favorite dystopian novels.

  1. Divergent trilogy by: Veronica Roth
  2. Delirium trilogy by: Lauren Oliver
  3. Uglies trilogy by: Scott Westerfeld
  4. The Maze Runner trilogy by: James Dashner
  5. The Selection trilogy by: Kiera Cass
  6. Shatter Me trilogy by: Tahereh Mafi
  7. Cinder trilogy by: Marissa Meyer
  8. The Hunger Games trilogy by: Suzanne Collins
  9. Legend trilogy by: Marie Lu
  10. The 5th Wave series by: Rick Yancey

Of course there are many more in this list. I only wanted to do the top 10 because you might get bored with reading book names. I enjoyed all of the 10 above and I can’t wait to continue some of these trilogies, or finish them.

Favorite Author? I honestly don’t have a favorite author for this genre. I love most of the authors and anyway, it changes every day. I know, I’m strange.

What is your favorite dystopian book? Do you like dystopian novels? Why? Let me know below and you might end up on my Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr page!

Til Next Time,

❤ Ann

Leave a Reply

