Safe Haven Movie Review 

I finally watched my first Nicholas Sparks movie. I loved it so much. Safe Haven happened to be the one. 

I have only read three of his books and  I enjoyed them. Safe Haven happened to be my favorite so it was funny when I saw it on TV. I had popcorn, a Coke and a box of tissues next to me the whole time. I used about ten tissues during the whole movie, even though I knew what was going to happen in the movie. 

So the movie starts with ‘Katie’ or Erin running out of her house, going over to the neighbor’s house. She cuts her hair and goes to the bus station. She finds herself in North Carolina and loving the place they stopped. She decides to stay and it is the best choice in her life. Julianne Hough did an impeccable and infallible job with the role and making me cry. Alex, played by Iosh Duhamel, was different than I thought he would be like. He was a little more straight toward and not really that relaxed like I thought he would be like. He was still really lovable but not like I though he would be like. 

The location was the perfect place to shoot the movie. The water, the buildings the outdoors, perfect. The location could be a copy of the book’s description. Amazing. 

The only thing that I didn’t like about the movie, which made it different from the book, was the ending. Well, when ‘Katie’s’ husband came to the town and tried to make her come back home. The fire is the thing that starts all the drama since Alex isn’t home. Alex is supposed to come back home and wake up in the hospital later. In the movie, he finds her, they talk then he pours gasoline on the store. The fireworks start the fire and Lexi is the only one is the place. Alex comes to save and nothing happens to him. I just didn’t like how they ended it differently than the book. Don’t get me wrong, this ending was good too, but I preferred the books ending more. 

Jo was not like I thought she would be like either. The whole time I was reading, I saw her skittle heavier and very active with Katie. In the movie, she kind of scared me. She was straightforward and didn’t joke. She wasn’t funny like I thought she would be like. 

Overall, I give this movie a 4.4 out of 5. I highly recommend the book and movie so if you haven’t read it or seen it, go get your copy right now. 

Leave a Reply

